Meath U17s

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Yeah I was at it. Took a while for Meath to break down a defensive Carlow only scored 6 points in the first 26 but kept chipping away. Our backs were well on top and stopped their attacking threat. They did get the better of us at midfield so that was worrying. Morris, Walsh, McBride, Byrne and Courtney the stand outs"
only young but would you consider bringing walsh into the u20 squad for 2018? big lad for his age too!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2017 08:32:08    2015910

Replying To ziggy32001:  "only young but would you consider bringing walsh into the u20 squad for 2018? big lad for his age too!"
Absolutely I'd be starting Walsh and Morris next year for that team. Both were among the best on this years minor team and don't have minor next year. They would only be 2 ages up like Campion, Scully, Moriarity etc were this year. I think they'd be well able for the step up

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 13/07/2017 10:25:52    2015967

Who is managing the u17's ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/07/2017 11:17:45    2015996

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Absolutely I'd be starting Walsh and Morris next year for that team. Both were among the best on this years minor team and don't have minor next year. They would only be 2 ages up like Campion, Scully, Moriarity etc were this year. I think they'd be well able for the step up"
any others you would bring into the squad from the u17's? the beauty of the u20 is that some of our players will get 2/3 years playing with them.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2017 11:41:52    2016012

As predicted , Meath meet Kildare in U17 Semi-final next Tuesday night in Newbridge . Hopefully they will perform at a slightly higher level than against Carlow ( Who were very poor).Kildare as we know , will be big and strong with a number of very direct runners . Carlow were big but hadn't a clue where the goal posts were
Not looking past the Kildare game , but been aware that Dublin , if they get past Laois .... which in all likelihood they should , will be a totally different game to the opening round in which Meath gave them a lesson .
The substitutions which were brought on last night against a weak Carlow side were essentially the same substitutions made in the previous game. And as a lot of people will know there are some very talented players still to be played at this level . I have no doubt that this panel can capture this special U17 Leinster Competition , but I that as many players as possible should get trailed / played in this competition .
Morris was withdrawn last night after giving an exhibition , however it may have been more beneficial to trail some of the other lads on the bench that have not played yet . The panel is quite extensive .
A positive step on the underage ladder for these players. Lets hope they are allowed to progress .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 12:57:47    2016061

Guys , get a grip of yourselves ...... One of the reasons there's no Minor at under 18 next year is to relieve the pressure imposed by Exams , and College football . Your now proposing to negate the removal of the U18 Championship by getting these lads to play U19 instead ... will ye please cop on . Why did we remove the minor at all if that's the case .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 13:06:11    2016067

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Yeah I was at it. Took a while for Meath to break down a defensive Carlow only scored 6 points in the first 26 but kept chipping away. Our backs were well on top and stopped their attacking threat. They did get the better of us at midfield so that was worrying. Morris, Walsh, McBride, Byrne and Courtney the stand outs"
Well ( the midfield concern) that's understandable when you consider one of the best midfielders at this age group is played as a wide , wing half forward. Whose expected to flog himself to death and get back to cover when the MF breaks down ... Young Matthews from Meath Hill . he's been asked to play out of position , while less skilled Midfielders are been overcome. by very mediocre midfield players from Carlow et al .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 13:10:54    2016069

Replying To ziggy32001:  "any others you would bring into the squad from the u17's? the beauty of the u20 is that some of our players will get 2/3 years playing with them."
There is no difference from the old setup. Minor to U21 is the same step up as U17 to U 20......

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 13/07/2017 13:11:07    2016071

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Who is managing the u17's ?"
Very good team of Ronan Kearns St Pats, Martin OConnell St Michaels and Martin Blake St Brigids.

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 13/07/2017 14:17:43    2016100

kildare away now,think we need to beat these guys at underage.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2017 14:39:49    2016115

Replying To Analyst:  "There is no difference from the old setup. Minor to U21 is the same step up as U17 to U 20......"
yes but it happens a year earlier now so lads move up a little quicker.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/07/2017 14:40:42    2016116

Replying To ziggy32001:  "yes but it happens a year earlier now so lads move up a little quicker."
You'll find that lads reach U17 and U20 at the exact same time as they would have always

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 13/07/2017 15:11:27    2016133

Replying To ziggy32001:  "kildare away now,think we need to beat these guys at underage."
These guys have been able to beat Kildare anytime they needed to . from U13-U16 , though they do need to field their best team . And lead from the front , with a strong Midfield .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 15:15:14    2016136

Replying To Analyst:  "You'll find that lads reach U17 and U20 at the exact same time as they would have always"
What part of "cop on" is not understand , how can speeding up a players development help them in the long run .... where is the player centred approach that Croke Park has been on about for years . Do I dare use the dreaded "Burn out " phrase for you .
The Minor was seen as a level that added to the pressure on burn out of a young developing GAA player who was laying for his club, county , School , and possibly also a dual player , if not representative at various sports .Negate the benefit of getting rid of the Minor grade by taking the 3-5% of the players that were recognised as affected with burnout and ship them into the U19/U20 level as quickly as possible .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 15:38:44    2016145

Replying To ziggy32001:  "any others you would bring into the squad from the u17's? the beauty of the u20 is that some of our players will get 2/3 years playing with them."
Liam Byrne probably and possibly Sean Ryan. Apart from that probably not. McBride is very good but he is only under 16 so he'll be playing 17's next year

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 13/07/2017 15:53:45    2016150

Replying To Meath_True:  "What part of "cop on" is not understand , how can speeding up a players development help them in the long run .... where is the player centred approach that Croke Park has been on about for years . Do I dare use the dreaded "Burn out " phrase for you .
The Minor was seen as a level that added to the pressure on burn out of a young developing GAA player who was laying for his club, county , School , and possibly also a dual player , if not representative at various sports .Negate the benefit of getting rid of the Minor grade by taking the 3-5% of the players that were recognised as affected with burnout and ship them into the U19/U20 level as quickly as possible ."
All of that is BS, the reason Minor changed age was primarily to stop a clash between underage and adult football and thus would stop the burnout. These lads love their football, the best way for them to de stress from exams is to play football. If they want to take a break to study they can always refuse the call up. This year both lads were on the 17's and 18's Meath team. Next year they would only be on the 20's. How is the best thing for the lads to prevent them playing a sport they love for a team they are good enough in order to make them happy, doesn't really make sense ?,

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 13/07/2017 16:02:34    2016154

Replying To Brownepat:  "Very good team of Ronan Kearns St Pats, Martin OConnell St Michaels and Martin Blake St Brigids."
Dathi Whyte St Pats and Ger Robinson St Peters Dunboyne are also selectors. An excellent mix of young coaches and experienced coaches it seems.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 13/07/2017 16:03:38    2016155

Leitrim , as expected the most important word in your whole paragraph was team / teams/ , that's exactly not what been player centred is about .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 16:20:53    2016164

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Dathi Whyte St Pats and Ger Robinson St Peters Dunboyne are also selectors. An excellent mix of young coaches and experienced coaches it seems."
Joe Sheridan , Shane McArney ,Eamon Moyles and a host of others were also to be involved last year , did that not happen . Maybe ye should go see them train to really know who helps out here . but it matters not . Once they are successful it matters not who looks after them . Bringing a bit of pride back into the Royal is what its about.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2017 16:24:50    2016166

Replying To Meath_True:  "Leitrim , as expected the most important word in your whole paragraph was team / teams/ , that's exactly not what been player centred is about ."
I said these lads/them/they 5 times and mentioned they twice. What is wrong with asking lads to play for a team they are good enough to play for ? You are saying it is more player friendly to stop them playing rather than giving them the option. They don't have a minor next year and will be too old for 17's. So for the issue of burnout they would be playing far more football this year and seem happy to do so

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 13/07/2017 16:39:44    2016172