New A Football League format

I would love to know who it was that thought to have bottom 4 teams in league play off to see who gets relegated was a good idea, so in effect you could lose every game by 10 points plus but win one playoff and stay up.......conversely you could win 4 matches and go down, is there any logic to this, do county board delegates agree to these type of things blindly

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 31/03/2024 13:10:05    2534785

A fierce load of walkovers in the lower leagues already. See there was a walkover given by a second team in Division 4 this weekend on a day their first team wasn't playing. won't be too quick to judge but those are not the greaatest of signs.

49erroyal (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 31/03/2024 13:14:09    2534786

Replying To 49erroyal:  "A fierce load of walkovers in the lower leagues already. See there was a walkover given by a second team in Division 4 this weekend on a day their first team wasn't playing. won't be too quick to judge but those are not the greaatest of signs."
Maybe fixing a huge volume of games for Easter Saturday and Sunday wasn't a good idea. More games need to be played between Mondays and Fridays, especially on Bank Holiday weekends.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 31/03/2024 21:33:47    2534884

There are no doubt challenges for Meath Gaa/club football, however there are solutions contributing to games being conceded, postponed etc

Referee Shortages: We need to be proactive in trf recruitment, especially targeting former players. Let's offer appealing incentives and streamlined training to make refereeing attractive.

Limited Playable Surfaces: County Boards must partner with clubs for pitch upgrades, prioritising all-weather (sand based not astro) options to ensure games happen despite poor conditions.

Player Scarcity: We need to make Gaelic Football more accessible. This means flexible scheduling (avoiding holidays), and a focus inclusive environments to attract new players.

I think focusing on what works is the best plan

Pitch Partnership: County Boards should investigate co op approach including grant programs, fundraising guidance, and pitch improvement expertise to support club upgrades.

Referee Recruitment Drive: Promote the benefits of refereeing - staying connected to the game, fitness, and giving back to the sport. Offer streamlined training and flexible scheduling and hammer it home to former players.

Boosting Accessibility: Emphasise the social aspects of Gaelic Football, by being clever with scheduling or reduce games / competitions (scheduling is a mammoth task, absolutely frightening work)

I think lot of practical solutions can help, like are are cup competitions really needed and is a semi final/ final format really necessary for a league? That's at least 6-8 games off the schedule.

Again only suggestions. But I do think it's very fixable.

Meathooooo (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 01/04/2024 00:27:47    2534923

Not sure new format working particularly well. Huge amount of walk overs from 2nd teams up as high as div. 4 and no that is not as a result of a first team playing same day or day before etc. Some 2nd/3rd teams performing well but far from consistent. Unfortunately appears to be a huge drop off in players from large clubs after minor level and players not overly motivated unless playing first team football. I think so of the larger clubs perhaps need to up their game in this regard. Ratoath, Dunboyne, Colmcilles and NOM seem to be getting the balance fairly right.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 12/04/2024 16:57:47    2537563

Replying To winatallcost:  "Not sure new format working particularly well. Huge amount of walk overs from 2nd teams up as high as div. 4 and no that is not as a result of a first team playing same day or day before etc. Some 2nd/3rd teams performing well but far from consistent. Unfortunately appears to be a huge drop off in players from large clubs after minor level and players not overly motivated unless playing first team football. I think so of the larger clubs perhaps need to up their game in this regard. Ratoath, Dunboyne, Colmcilles and NOM seem to be getting the balance fairly right."
I think lads from the more populated clubs have lost a bit of interest since the change to 'premier' leagues! Second teams love beating first teams! So having the chance to win junior and compete at intermediate is a real incentive for lads on second team squads! Not sure winning a premier means the same thing!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 13/04/2024 23:14:17    2537708

Replying To Royalblufill:  "I think lads from the more populated clubs have lost a bit of interest since the change to 'premier' leagues! Second teams love beating first teams! So having the chance to win junior and compete at intermediate is a real incentive for lads on second team squads! Not sure winning a premier means the same thing!!"
The games and challenges against first teams still there in the leagues. Seems like a very lame excuse for not turning out for your club. Used to remember top class players who played for successful Meath teams still representing their club with pride in their twilight years in the B leagues while prospective young talents feeding off them. Football in Meath just doesn't seem to be cutting the mustard at the moment and the county teams suffering badly as a result.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 14/04/2024 20:48:41    2537828

So as Division 8 player I wanted to give my feedback - firstly, its absolutely great to play in a league like this and the idea is a very good one. HOWEVER, our first game was Mid March. Our second last night - one month later. Now get this - Round 3 is Thursday and Round 4 is Saturday. 3 games in 5 days. For Division 8. Now I know that weather has played a part but what genius came up with this idea? It smacks of nobody thinking, just get the games done. It is so disrespectful. I have listened to a winter of CO'R bemoaning Sigerson Cup, of the split season being too condensed and all that stuff and here I am, a social footballer (playing with a lot of young lads out of minor) and am treated like this. Its ok to have our County Manager giving out about load and here we are just pushing games out to get them down. Its downright disrespectful to young players trying to make a name for themselves, that we as an association are trying to keep and social players like me. Again, it smacks of get the games done. I ask, what is the rush? So what if the season runs on, sure isnt that good to keep us playing? Now a player who is away down the country at work, has a small injury or maybe took a small 1 week break (cant blame them with this weather) will miss 3 games - one third of the league. Come on lads, sort it out !! We talk here about getting our house in order to compete in Leinster. It starts at grass roots

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 17/04/2024 08:03:58    2538491

Replying To seasiderblues:  "So as Division 8 player I wanted to give my feedback - firstly, its absolutely great to play in a league like this and the idea is a very good one. HOWEVER, our first game was Mid March. Our second last night - one month later. Now get this - Round 3 is Thursday and Round 4 is Saturday. 3 games in 5 days. For Division 8. Now I know that weather has played a part but what genius came up with this idea? It smacks of nobody thinking, just get the games done. It is so disrespectful. I have listened to a winter of CO'R bemoaning Sigerson Cup, of the split season being too condensed and all that stuff and here I am, a social footballer (playing with a lot of young lads out of minor) and am treated like this. Its ok to have our County Manager giving out about load and here we are just pushing games out to get them down. Its downright disrespectful to young players trying to make a name for themselves, that we as an association are trying to keep and social players like me. Again, it smacks of get the games done. I ask, what is the rush? So what if the season runs on, sure isnt that good to keep us playing? Now a player who is away down the country at work, has a small injury or maybe took a small 1 week break (cant blame them with this weather) will miss 3 games - one third of the league. Come on lads, sort it out !! We talk here about getting our house in order to compete in Leinster. It starts at grass roots"
Absolutely spot on here. Obviously weather cancelling games does make it a bit difficult but 3 games in a week to try an d catch up is crazy and irresponsible as well, its a recipe for lads getting injured.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 17/04/2024 09:39:38    2538504

Replying To seasiderblues:  "So as Division 8 player I wanted to give my feedback - firstly, its absolutely great to play in a league like this and the idea is a very good one. HOWEVER, our first game was Mid March. Our second last night - one month later. Now get this - Round 3 is Thursday and Round 4 is Saturday. 3 games in 5 days. For Division 8. Now I know that weather has played a part but what genius came up with this idea? It smacks of nobody thinking, just get the games done. It is so disrespectful. I have listened to a winter of CO'R bemoaning Sigerson Cup, of the split season being too condensed and all that stuff and here I am, a social footballer (playing with a lot of young lads out of minor) and am treated like this. Its ok to have our County Manager giving out about load and here we are just pushing games out to get them down. Its downright disrespectful to young players trying to make a name for themselves, that we as an association are trying to keep and social players like me. Again, it smacks of get the games done. I ask, what is the rush? So what if the season runs on, sure isnt that good to keep us playing? Now a player who is away down the country at work, has a small injury or maybe took a small 1 week break (cant blame them with this weather) will miss 3 games - one third of the league. Come on lads, sort it out !! We talk here about getting our house in order to compete in Leinster. It starts at grass roots"
I could not agree more.

For many years now in Meath, lower grades/divisions are being given very little thought or fair play. The example you highlight is ridiculous carry on, but sadly doesn't surprise me one bit. Lower grades are clearly a nuisance to fixture makers. It doesn't seem to occur to anyone in authority that these grades are a platform for younger players at basecamp, starting their adult football journeys, or older players reaching the top of the mountain.

Is there nobody on the fixtures committee to say "hold on a minute: 3 fixtures in 5 days is not fair on the players"? Even with the extremely challenging weather conditions we've all endured, is there nobody with the gumption to say "STOP: give these clubs with backed-up fixtures a bit of fair play and spread their fixtures out."?

I posted last year about the absolute fiasco that was the Premier championships from Grade Premier 3 downwards. For a lot of footballers in these grades, their season was essentially over by June. And then people wonder at the lack of participation in our sport.

There was another poster talking recently about amalgamating clubs and essentially structuring things with a focus on development of elite-level players. It's hard to escape the feeling that the County Board are also of this opinion, and that lower grade players are second class citizens in all of this.

And if this attitude towards lower grades continues, participation levels will continue to drop.
What you say bears repeating: its starts at grass roots. We can't build anything without a foundation.

oceanofnoise (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 17/04/2024 09:52:13    2538508

Replying To oceanofnoise:  "I could not agree more.

For many years now in Meath, lower grades/divisions are being given very little thought or fair play. The example you highlight is ridiculous carry on, but sadly doesn't surprise me one bit. Lower grades are clearly a nuisance to fixture makers. It doesn't seem to occur to anyone in authority that these grades are a platform for younger players at basecamp, starting their adult football journeys, or older players reaching the top of the mountain.

Is there nobody on the fixtures committee to say "hold on a minute: 3 fixtures in 5 days is not fair on the players"? Even with the extremely challenging weather conditions we've all endured, is there nobody with the gumption to say "STOP: give these clubs with backed-up fixtures a bit of fair play and spread their fixtures out."?

I posted last year about the absolute fiasco that was the Premier championships from Grade Premier 3 downwards. For a lot of footballers in these grades, their season was essentially over by June. And then people wonder at the lack of participation in our sport.

There was another poster talking recently about amalgamating clubs and essentially structuring things with a focus on development of elite-level players. It's hard to escape the feeling that the County Board are also of this opinion, and that lower grade players are second class citizens in all of this.

And if this attitude towards lower grades continues, participation levels will continue to drop.
What you say bears repeating: its starts at grass roots. We can't build anything without a foundation."
If anything the way the competitions were organised last year was against the big clubs.

Every stop was pulled out to help smaller clubs field a "second" team in the Premier championships (e.g. wrapping up the championships by June so they wouldn't lose players to the first team, games being split over midweek and weekends, junior clubs only having to name 9 ineligible players etc.) but clubs trying to field a second team in the league (who tended to be the bigger clubs) were just told "tough" when they complained of being given the impossible task of fielding 2 teams on the same night.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 18/04/2024 21:38:43    2538929

Replying To CastleBravo:  "If anything the way the competitions were organised last year was against the big clubs.

Every stop was pulled out to help smaller clubs field a "second" team in the Premier championships (e.g. wrapping up the championships by June so they wouldn't lose players to the first team, games being split over midweek and weekends, junior clubs only having to name 9 ineligible players etc.) but clubs trying to field a second team in the league (who tended to be the bigger clubs) were just told "tough" when they complained of being given the impossible task of fielding 2 teams on the same night."
You are repeating excuses made for last year but what excuses have you this year for the likes of Dunshaughlin not fielding for Div. 4 games on a weekend while no clashes with first team games. I see Dunboyne handed our a walkover to Mary's last night too. Big clubs don't seem to Managing their own players the best. For info. Junior clubs must name 11 players that can only play first team football. Perhaps not all limited to big clubs. Did Cortown give a walkover to Slane?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 19/04/2024 08:24:21    2538951

Replying To CastleBravo:  "If anything the way the competitions were organised last year was against the big clubs.

Every stop was pulled out to help smaller clubs field a "second" team in the Premier championships (e.g. wrapping up the championships by June so they wouldn't lose players to the first team, games being split over midweek and weekends, junior clubs only having to name 9 ineligible players etc.) but clubs trying to field a second team in the league (who tended to be the bigger clubs) were just told "tough" when they complained of being given the impossible task of fielding 2 teams on the same night."
Yes. I expect it has got to do with votes. There are more smaller clubs so there you go.

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 19/04/2024 08:30:04    2538953

Thats not true.
The league is running at present and clubs can enter as many teams as they want and everyone in each division has the same problems if they have 2 teams or more.
The first team championship and second team championship is running concurrently later in the year too so i really dont understand your point re big clubs and small clubs.
Every club has the same challenges with the current format which is the only fair way??

LettuceBFrank (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 19/04/2024 09:35:33    2538962

Sorry, i just seen you mentioned last years format was against the big clubs. I can understand that but this years format must be seen as an improvement?

LettuceBFrank (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 19/04/2024 09:36:45    2538963

I guess my original post was approaching this from a player's perspective.

I think you'd be hard-pressed to find many players who are happy to be out training in the elements from January onwards, only to have their season over and done with by June. Maybe these players do exist, but I have yet to meet any.

oceanofnoise (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 19/04/2024 09:48:16    2538967

Replying To oceanofnoise:  "

I guess my original post was approaching this from a player's perspective.

I think you'd be hard-pressed to find many players who are happy to be out training in the elements from January onwards, only to have their season over and done with by June. Maybe these players do exist, but I have yet to meet any."
Back on my player perspective here. With the brighter evenings now here and back games generally caught up, I had assumed that we would be going back to the rhythm of Tuesday games and 2nd teams playing on a Thursday. Looking at the fixtures ahead for the future rounds, this does not appear to be the case and there is no consistency on days. As a player I have to say the "rhythm" of every Tuesday or Thursday worked. I enjoyed not having a game at the weekends to be honest. I believe most players did too. Why have we changed back to the chaos of a few years ago?

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 24/04/2024 13:38:29    2540406