New Players For 2021

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Players on the development squads do get some gear and as they progress through the age groups they do get a little more. I think Longwood Slashers point (maybe I am wrong!) is that the county spends lots of time working with these guys from 14-20 and if they haven't made it - they are more or less forgotten about. However, plenty of the forgotten lads if managed right could develop into real quality players given a little time!
Dean Rock was 25 when he eventually nailed down a starting spot on the Dublin team despite coming through their system and playing for the Dubs first in 2012."
Dean Rock was competing with two Brogans, Connolly, Paul Flynn and Paddy Andrews to name but a few. Don't think our lads are in that category bar Morris who may get there. And we are far from ageist, look at our goalkeeper. I have seen lads in the club who have been on development underage squads in my club and in some cases you would wonder what they done for four years or so. This is where the problem lies. Have seen improvement and the minor setup looks promising. Hopefully this will be the start of the conveyor belt.

Greensheen (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 07/12/2020 00:01:22    2319579

Its was a massive mistake almost a decade ago to part ways with Eamon O'Brien and whats more players of the caliber of Joe Sheridan, Cian Ward, C King, Peader Byrne, Chris O'Connor, Shane McAnerney were told they were surplus to requirements. The younger players came in and were not ready while the mentioned players had actually beaten Dublin in Croke Park. We are lack experienced players with quality at the moment with the exception of Keoghan. Our young players will have to learn for themselves.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 07/12/2020 10:01:41    2319640

We absolutely need a new keeper in 2021, but we need to be patient with him... it is the a very difficult position where the smallest mistake ends in disaster. What are the options? Pluck from the Bracks? very young but I have been really impressed with him. Patience is the key... remember it took Cluxton plenty of time to become the keeper he has. We have to allow for mistakes... kickouts going astray, but he has to be given time to grow into the role. Fair play to Brennan and all but he just doesnt cut it and at 36/37 he is unlikely to ever.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 07/12/2020 14:24:54    2319771

Replying To longroadback:  "We absolutely need a new keeper in 2021, but we need to be patient with him... it is the a very difficult position where the smallest mistake ends in disaster. What are the options? Pluck from the Bracks? very young but I have been really impressed with him. Patience is the key... remember it took Cluxton plenty of time to become the keeper he has. We have to allow for mistakes... kickouts going astray, but he has to be given time to grow into the role. Fair play to Brennan and all but he just doesnt cut it and at 36/37 he is unlikely to ever."
So you mean Andy shouldn't do what he did to Dominic Yorke above in Omagh in January ;)

Brennan should never be allowed pull on the jersey again. His lack of physicality for the second goal alone showed he's not up to intercounty standards. Heaven forbid he goes through the player and clears the ball rather than turn sideways and pull out of a challenge.

Colgan if he walked after being ignored for the championship couldn't be blamed. He's not a bad keeper just not an intercounty top end keeper.

Solutions to this problem. Andy tries keepers 12,13,14 and 15 before the league and we're back with David Gallagher or Big Joe during the league.

I'd imagine the Dunboyne keeper gets a call up (regardless of whether or not they're good enough) seeing as Andy doesn't seem to look passed Dunboyne players on his panel. That's not a knock on Dunboyne btw, more the blinkered vision Andy has towards that club.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 09/12/2020 12:32:36    2320615

Replying To brian:  "So you mean Andy shouldn't do what he did to Dominic Yorke above in Omagh in January ;)

Brennan should never be allowed pull on the jersey again. His lack of physicality for the second goal alone showed he's not up to intercounty standards. Heaven forbid he goes through the player and clears the ball rather than turn sideways and pull out of a challenge.

Colgan if he walked after being ignored for the championship couldn't be blamed. He's not a bad keeper just not an intercounty top end keeper.

Solutions to this problem. Andy tries keepers 12,13,14 and 15 before the league and we're back with David Gallagher or Big Joe during the league.

I'd imagine the Dunboyne keeper gets a call up (regardless of whether or not they're good enough) seeing as Andy doesn't seem to look passed Dunboyne players on his panel. That's not a knock on Dunboyne btw, more the blinkered vision Andy has towards that club."
Not trying to have a go at Andy but there are some things he is good at and some things he is not so good at.

Identifying and developing goalkeepers is one of the areas he is not so good at.

I have said it before here that he needs to delegate the identification and development of a goalkeeper for the team to someone. I suggested Brendan Murphy before but it does not have to be him. Maybe Gary Rogers - I wouldn't go for Marcus Brennan but cold be wrong there. Perhaps even David Gallagher. I suggested Murphy and Rogers as they have specialist goalkeeping expertise and experience.

This is not a slight on Andy and his team - look at Dublin - they have specialists helping them in loads of areas.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 09/12/2020 14:40:03    2320672

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Not trying to have a go at Andy but there are some things he is good at and some things he is not so good at.

Identifying and developing goalkeepers is one of the areas he is not so good at.

I have said it before here that he needs to delegate the identification and development of a goalkeeper for the team to someone. I suggested Brendan Murphy before but it does not have to be him. Maybe Gary Rogers - I wouldn't go for Marcus Brennan but cold be wrong there. Perhaps even David Gallagher. I suggested Murphy and Rogers as they have specialist goalkeeping expertise and experience.

This is not a slight on Andy and his team - look at Dublin - they have specialists helping them in loads of areas."
There must be a keeper out there 24 years of age upwards that has played club championship football for 4 or 5 years . Not too sure if the Meaht senior team need a young lad in goals as is not fair on them as learning their trade . Any Names out there ???

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 09/12/2020 17:03:13    2320755

Replying To longroadback:  "We absolutely need a new keeper in 2021, but we need to be patient with him... it is the a very difficult position where the smallest mistake ends in disaster. What are the options? Pluck from the Bracks? very young but I have been really impressed with him. Patience is the key... remember it took Cluxton plenty of time to become the keeper he has. We have to allow for mistakes... kickouts going astray, but he has to be given time to grow into the role. Fair play to Brennan and all but he just doesnt cut it and at 36/37 he is unlikely to ever."
If u need to be patient with a keeper why not yorke.??

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 09/12/2020 19:34:00    2320821

We obviously haven't a good footballing keeper. Why not try and transform an outfield player who is accurate with their feet. A keeper in the modern game will have about 4 shots to save whereas he will have about 15-20 knockouts. And its the kickouts that are killing us.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 09/12/2020 20:21:02    2320848

Replying To Foley91:  "We obviously haven't a good footballing keeper. Why not try and transform an outfield player who is accurate with their feet. A keeper in the modern game will have about 4 shots to save whereas he will have about 15-20 knockouts. And its the kickouts that are killing us."
We don't have an accurate free taker from beyond the 45 so i think that's out the window. Andy has tried Barry Dardis on multiple occassions but that hasn't worked either. And given how Barry has been treated i doubt he'd want to bring himself back in for more of the same.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 10/12/2020 09:45:47    2320967

Replying To Foley91:  "We obviously haven't a good footballing keeper. Why not try and transform an outfield player who is accurate with their feet. A keeper in the modern game will have about 4 shots to save whereas he will have about 15-20 knockouts. And its the kickouts that are killing us."
Yeah but those four shots could be crucial.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 10/12/2020 12:31:26    2321010

I see where you are coming from if we get the kickouts correct we will hammer the Dubs, not sure that we would get away with the the knockouts though!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/12/2020 21:10:07    2321191

Sean boylan helping out with down under 20,S, did we miss something here surely we could of gotten our greatest living legend a role somewhere in meath football.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 10/12/2020 21:25:18    2321197

Replying To browncows:  "I see where you are coming from if we get the kickouts correct we will hammer the Dubs, not sure that we would get away with the the knockouts though!!"
I never referenced Dublin in my comment so not sure where you pulled that from. Also if you are going to childishly nitpick at an obvious auto correct you would do well be check your own grammar i.e. the the.
My apologies if you have a stutter.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 11/12/2020 13:42:49    2321351

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Sean boylan helping out with down under 20,S, did we miss something here surely we could of gotten our greatest living legend a role somewhere in meath football."
Not sure if that is true... Anyway,of course Sean Boylan has earned the respect and proven his ability to play a key role in development of meath football. The broken record..again . Sean was mentioned as one of the 3 people to lead the county as directors of football a few years ago This trio was referred to on this forum as "the 3 wise men". What ever happened them? Surely that need to take charge in leading all areas to raise standards in coaching /management has never been more evident than now.
It looked like a great idea at the time,and i think it was initiated by the CB. I wonder when and how will the CB deal with our needs from here... Lets hope they show the required leadership now and not more of the same where it appears we just HOPE things will improve! without having to be proactive!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 14/12/2020 13:08:35    2322278

Replying To nobull456:  "Not sure if that is true... Anyway,of course Sean Boylan has earned the respect and proven his ability to play a key role in development of meath football. The broken record..again . Sean was mentioned as one of the 3 people to lead the county as directors of football a few years ago This trio was referred to on this forum as "the 3 wise men". What ever happened them? Surely that need to take charge in leading all areas to raise standards in coaching /management has never been more evident than now.
It looked like a great idea at the time,and i think it was initiated by the CB. I wonder when and how will the CB deal with our needs from here... Lets hope they show the required leadership now and not more of the same where it appears we just HOPE things will improve! without having to be proactive!!"
Have read on various media outlets that Sean will be part of Downs u20 backroom team. Like yourself would like to know what imput the three lads had, did they submit any reports or suggest changes?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 14/12/2020 14:09:15    2322300

I would almost be certain at the this stage that Gary Rodgers will be meath's number one goalkeeper next season. An interesting interview by him in the Independent where at the end he didn't rule out talking to Andy about next year and will be playing outfield for St Ultans next season. If he is willing to go in it will happen.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 14/12/2020 22:51:35    2322491

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I would almost be certain at the this stage that Gary Rodgers will be meath's number one goalkeeper next season. An interesting interview by him in the Independent where at the end he didn't rule out talking to Andy about next year and will be playing outfield for St Ultans next season. If he is willing to go in it will happen."
You're joking aren't you.

Gary Rodgers is 38/39 years old. Are we genuinely that desperate that we have to rely on a guy of that age to come in and be our number one. Is there a better way for Andy to alienate every other keeper in the county?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/12/2020 11:09:31    2322552

Replying To brian:  "You're joking aren't you.

Gary Rodgers is 38/39 years old. Are we genuinely that desperate that we have to rely on a guy of that age to come in and be our number one. Is there a better way for Andy to alienate every other keeper in the county?"
What alternatives are there in Meath? The two goalkeepers in the All Ireland Final this weekend Cluxton (age 39) and David Clarke (age 37). Condition is more important than age.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 15/12/2020 11:51:36    2322566

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What alternatives are there in Meath? The two goalkeepers in the All Ireland Final this weekend Cluxton (age 39) and David Clarke (age 37). Condition is more important than age."
And they've been with their teams for 15 years. Rogers has played soccer since he left school. What his GAA goalkeeping conditioning like. Not as if he's regularly played in goals for St Ultans in recent years. Gary has a poor kick out and isn't a long term solution to the problem.

Andy lost Burlingham and Hannigan as he brought in a 35 year old David Gallagher and Joe Sheridan. He destroyed Dominic Yorke with what he did to him in Omagh. Andy Colgan should rightly walk away after how he was treated after recovering from an ACL to sit behind a guy who was clearly not good enough for intercounty football.

Dominic Yorke, Dean Pluck, Harry Hogan, Adam McDermott, Andrew Beakey, Johnny Lynch and possibly Jimmy Corcoran. All under 25 years of age. Is Andy going to keep ignoring guys and playing lads who've been part of his backroom team (Rogers and Brennan both served as GK coach). There's seven names for you.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/12/2020 12:28:28    2322579

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What alternatives are there in Meath? The two goalkeepers in the All Ireland Final this weekend Cluxton (age 39) and David Clarke (age 37). Condition is more important than age."
Jaysus Christ we need to get someone in longterm ! God no

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 15/12/2020 12:33:58    2322582