Under-21 hurlers unlucky in Leinster bid

November 27, 2011
Following the exploits of Meath Under-21 hurlers in 2010, when they reached the All-Ireland 'A' final only to be beaten by Kerry in the decider, there were high hopes that the Royals could go one step further this year.

However, they came up against a strong Westmeath side in the Leinster final, and despite a brave performance by Meath; they were edged out after extra time. For this year's edition of the Royal County Yearbook, we review their campaign and speak to manager Mick Cole about the year in general.

Cole was appointed to position of under-21 manager in late March and his backroom team included Neil Hackett, Noel Keating and Tom Kirwin. The Rathmolyon clubman has been around the clubs scene for some time now and two years ago helped train the under-21 county hurlers as part of Kevin Dowd's management team.
And he admits that he had a good start in knowing many of the players that were eligible to play for the side. "I knew most of the players involved which was a big helped, having either played against them in recent years or my time before with the under-21s," admitted Mick.

Senior players such as Kiltale's Willie Mahady, Kilmessan's Eoin Marsh and Kildalkey's Derek Doran brought great experience to the side, while the likes of Longwood duo Eoin Lynch and Anthony Healy added steel to the side.
"We had around ten of last year's panel to choose from, so that was also a big bonus. The only problem with the under-21's is that you're not sure who will be around come the summer as many decide to travel for those few months.
"So when we first met with the lads that was one of the first questions they were asked and the majority said they would be around for the summer. This competition is usually played earlier in the year, but with exams and that it was very hard to get full teams out, so they decided to play it a bit later in the year, which I personally think is a good thing."

Mick revealed that with club commitments, work and exams, it was difficult to get the players together as much as he would have liked, but stressed that when they players were available, they gave it their all.
"In fairness to the lads, they did put in a great effort, it was just that with the club championship up and running and exams, it was difficult to get them all together and it was hard to organize challenge matches for them.
"Indeed the best challenge we had was against Buffer's Alley of Wexford who we went down to play. This was only a week before the first round of the Leinster which was not ideal, but it was a well worth outing for us."

The draw for the Leinster under-21 'A' championship saw Meath face Louth in the opening match and the Royals went into this game as strong favourites to advance to the semi-final of this competition. Louth hurling has been making strides in recent years. Played in Darver, the home of Louth GAA, it was the visitors that took control from early on and the game was more or less over by half time as Meath lead by 2-11 to 1-02 at the interval. Cole's charges added on a further 1-7 in the second half to run out convincing winners on a scoreline of 3-18 to 2-04.
The current county senior star knew that his players would have to step up a level when they faced Kildare in the semi final, but he was pleased to get the campaign up and running at the same time.

"We knew we were strong favourites for the game against Louth, but I was still impressed by our performance; we took some fine scores and our work rate was very good. However, I told the lads that it would be a different story against Kildare and that's how it turned out."

Trim was the venue for the semi-final in July and while all the Meath players will be very familiar with the ground it didn't inspire them against the Lilywhites. In fact if the boys in white hadn't displayed a frailty that appears to be part of the county's DNA - namely firing bad wides - Meath could have found themselves in real difficulties. Derek Doran's efficiency in front of goals was another big factor. Kildare registered 15 wides, most of them coming in the second-half when they were shooting into a strong sun that may have discommoded their radar systems.
"I knew it was going to be fairly intense in the first-half and it turned out that way with two or three players chasing every ball, chasing every man. It took 15 minutes of the second-half before it opened up and the likes of 'Duxie' Doran could start to express himself."

It took some very solid defensive work from players such as Shane McGann and Willie Mahady to keep the lively Kildare forwards under wraps as they held on to win by 1-10 to 0-10.
This set up a meeting with old rivals and neighbours Westmeath in the final and Trim was once again the venue for the decider. The fact that Meath had played two games in the championship and Westmeath were yet to play after Wicklow gave them a walkover in the semi-final, gave the Royals a slight advantage over their opponents.
The outcome of the match was unknown right up until the final whistle as both sides gave a committed performance through and indeed a draw would have been the fairest outcome on the night, but it was the Lake County who finished strongest.

The visitors scored 1-3 without reply in the last eight minutes to deny the Royals victory. Cormac Boyle was Westmeath's match-winner, accounting for 1-1 of that tally. A goal from Barry O'Meara had handed Westmeath the early initiative before Meath fought back to go into the break on level terms, 0-9 to 1-6. The Lake County regained the lead in the second half, only for Meath's top scorer Keith Keoghan to send the game to extra-time with an injury-time free (1-13 to 0-16).
When full forward Anthony Healy netted to give the Royals the lead for the first time at the end of the first period Westmeath looked to be in trouble, but Cormac Boyle's heroics ensured them of victory as he scored 1-1 of 1-3 that the Lake County registered without reply to give them a 2-17 to 1-18 victory.

"It was disappointing to lose the final, especially as we had played so well throughout the game. We got a bad start and that didn't help, but fair play to the lads, they came back very strong and I think we were the better side for long periods. "

There has been a lot of talk about player burnout and dropping the under-21 grade altogether, but Mick feels that it has its part to play in the GAA. "I think the under-21 grade is an important level for young lads coming through. Many lads that come out of minor take time to settle at senior level and are still a bit young, but they can make more of an impression at under-21. It gives lads something to aim for and I believe it should be retained."

So what for the future of Meath hurling? Mick feels that the necessary work is being done at county level to help improve the small ball game in the county. When you look at the under-21s last year and the minors this year, you see that there is strides being made. We are still along way behind some counties, but if we can bring these lads through consistently then there is no reason why there can't be an improvement."

For the record the Meath team that played Westmeath in the Leinster 'A' hurling final was: S McGann; G Murphy, E Lynch, R Hatton; S Brennan, W Mahedy, C O'Shea; F Doran, E Marsh; C Fitzsimons, G Kelly, K Keoghan; D Doran, A Healy, D Maguire. Subs: T Raleigh for F Doran (35), M Doyle for Fitzsimons (37).

Most Read Stories