Awards: Minor County Footballer of the Year

December 21, 2017

Meath pause for the National Anthem before the Leinster MFC qualifier against Laois at Pairc Tailteann.

The minor team showed great promise early in the season and at half time in the first round of the Leinster championship were ten-points better than Dublin.

Manager Colm Coyle assembled a very talented group of players to represent the county in what was to be the last year of the Under 18 level. The young Royals reached the Leinster league decider (that game against Cork never took place) but made a tame exit in the Leinster championship at the hands of Laois in the qualifiers. Meath played their best football in the opening half in round 1 of the Leinster championship against Dublin racing in to a 1-10 to 0-3 interval lead. Dublin fought back and claimed victory in extra time at Parnell Park.

Jordan Morris, Adam Murphy, Sean Martin, Robbie Clarke, Daniel Devine and Liam Byrne all enjoyed memorable moments in the Green and Gold but our Minor County Footballer of the Year award goes to Shane Walsh.

The Na Fianna star has a big future ahead of him. An ideal target man with a keen eye for a score from play or frees. Hit 0-6 against Dublin and 0-4 against Laois and also enjoyed a very good Leinster MFL campaign.

Well done Shane

Most Read Stories