Roche Emmets club notes

November 28, 2017

Following on from a successful AGM last night below is a list of elected officers for the coming year. 
Thank you to our elected officers & committee members from 2017, you have achieved wonderful things for the club. We look forward to more of the same for 2018.

Elected Officers for 2018

Chairman - Aidan McArdle
Vice-Chairman - Brian McGuinness
Secretary - Gerry Stewart
Assistant Secretary - Deirdre McDonnell
Treasurer - Brian McArdle
Assistant Treasure - Brian Grant
PRO - Aine Rice
Registrar - Liam Carthy
Health & Wellbeing Officer - Alan O'Connell
Coaching & Games Development Officer - Fergus Byrne
Irish Language Officer - Conor Carthy
County Board Rep - David McGurk
Minor Board Rep - Brendan McArdle
Insurance Officer - Aidan McCoy
CSE Liaison Officer - Brendan Quigley

Committee - Brian McConnon, Francis McConnon, Malachy Quigley, James Quigley, Aidan Reilly, Ellen O'Hanlon, Paddy McArdle, Martin McCourt, Marie McCourt

We welcome new members & next year we will be actively seeking new people to help out with fresh ideas to continue to drive our club forward on all fronts.


Roche Emmets Presentation Night

Our 2017 U16's Captain Sean Dawe was presented with the Division 2A League Cup & our U14's Captain Niall Lennon was presented with the U14 2B League Cup by a member of their coaching team, Brendan McArdle & Martin McCourt respectively. 
Each team member was presented with their county medals. 

Both teams have shown great team work, grit & determination this year, the future looks bright for Roche Emmets with players & teams of this calibre coming through the ranks.

Our Club President Owen Joe Woods was honoured last night at the U14 & U16 Presentation Night.

Roche Emmets GAA Club Chairman Aidan McArdle made a presentation of an award in recognition of Owen Joe's services & contribution to the club down through the years.

Thank you for your years of service Owen Joe, we look forward to your leadership & guidance long into the future.

Club Lotto

Our lotto jackpot was not won on the final draw of the year with 4 players coming close all matching 3 numbers many thanks to all who supported the draw in 2017 and to all promoters, thank you. The jackpot sits at €3,200 when the draw returns early 2018.  

Scor na Nóg

For the second year running we as a club, entered acts into the Scor Na Nóg competition. This year we entered four acts. Over the coming years we hope to expand on this & have acts entered in all categories. 

The children worked hard under the watchful eye of Annmarie Douglas & Carol McCourt. 

Ballad Group: Mollie Kirk, Martina Kirk, Evanna Corcoran, Sophie Corcoran & Claire McCourt.

Solo singer : Rhiannon Dolan

Recitation : Cara McCourt.

Instrumental group : Kelly Murray,  Nicole Murray, Emer Douglas, Carrie Craig-Hay.

We are delighted to have been successful in three of the four categories  entrered & Roche Emmets will be representing LouthGAA in the Leinster semi finals of Scor na Nog 2017.


Succesful Acts: 

Rhiannon Dolan - Solo singing

Cara McCourt - recitation/ scéalaíocht

Ballad group:
Martina Kirk
Mollie Kirk 
Evanna Corcoran 
Sophie Corcoran  
Claire McCourt

Thank you to our superb instrumental group, Carrie,Emer, Kelly & Nicole who were pipped at the post by another fantastic group from St Fechins.

Congratulations to the other acts from the different clubs all going forward along with us to represent Louth. Semi finals are in two weeks time in Wexford.


Most Read Stories