Loughnane Interview

I wasn't around in 1998 when the Clare team were at there peak. I was intrigued about the incident Loughnane spoke about in his interview with Newstalk about Anthony Daly and a Waterford player. Does anyone know what the incident was? What was said? and who was it?

It was a great interview of Loughnane overall I thought.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 31/01/2017 13:27:42    1950541

The Waterford player in question must have some Tyrone/Nordie roots, they invented sledging after all.

Seriously though, I wasn't aware of this at the time either.

Great interview with Loughnane. Highly recommend it. Big fan of Clare hurling.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 31/01/2017 14:12:38    1950563

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "I wasn't around in 1998 when the Clare team were at there peak. I was intrigued about the incident Loughnane spoke about in his interview with Newstalk about Anthony Daly and a Waterford player. Does anyone know what the incident was? What was said? and who was it?

It was a great interview of Loughnane overall I thought."
When was that interview on?He's a brilliant hurling pundit.Probably the best for me anyway.But a bit like Joe Brolly in football,sometimes he cannot help ruffling a few feathers and can be be very cutting and personnel which is uncalled for.But,overall,the positives far outweigh the negatives.A great hurling brain.

I remember an incident before the ball was thrown in in that game where Daly knocked Dan Shanahan to the ground before big Dan returned the favour!And Loughnane mad for battle on the sideline ready to go to war with Gerald McCarthy!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/01/2017 14:14:48    1950566

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "I wasn't around in 1998 when the Clare team were at there peak. I was intrigued about the incident Loughnane spoke about in his interview with Newstalk about Anthony Daly and a Waterford player. Does anyone know what the incident was? What was said? and who was it?

It was a great interview of Loughnane overall I thought."
http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/177034/Ger_Loughnane_Legends_interview

I heard bits of it about hunting and teaching but they broke up the interview for ads and I missed a lot. Is had no real interest in hurling until '95 other than watching a few semis. But Loughnane changed that. A stubborn man but he was so passionate about Clare hurling I just loved listening to him get fired up and he had a great team. A few of them went on to be intercounty managers, literally learning from the master.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 31/01/2017 14:37:30    1950571

Great interview with Ger Loughnane on Newstalk Sunday afternoon. I was driving and it really shortened my journey.
There were great characters on that Clare team too. They were hard done by in 1998 too as I think they would have won the All Ireland were it not for the referee blew up early.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 31/01/2017 15:44:47    1950602

Going off topic a bit lads... about the incident Loughnane spoke of... about Anthony Daly and a Waterford player. Does anyone know what the incident was? What was said? and who was it? In the interview on Sunday they said id was so bad that they couldnt speak of it now... It must have been about his family or something?? Any knowledgeable Gaa people here??

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 31/01/2017 16:35:07    1950620

Was there an incident around that time between a Clare back and Sean Ó hAilpín which did not reflect well on the Clare player?

ballagoballa (UK) - Posts: 49 - 31/01/2017 18:10:45    1950654

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Going off topic a bit lads... about the incident Loughnane spoke of... about Anthony Daly and a Waterford player. Does anyone know what the incident was? What was said? and who was it? In the interview on Sunday they said id was so bad that they couldnt speak of it now... It must have been about his family or something?? Any knowledgeable Gaa people here??"
I tried to post what happened but the admin blocked it - I kind of guessed that would happen (and respect it) as its a sensitive topic

From reading Loughnane's book (great read) Waterford went fairly low the day of the drawn game - hence the backlash 7 days later.

That was some Clare team - no history, growing up looking at their County getting taking apart in any big Munster Championship game but yet had the mindset to go somewhere special. The Lohan's, Seanie, Baker, Doyle, Daly, Jamsie, Lynch, Davy, The Sparrow, Fingers O'Connell - some men.

There was some great teams around them at the time also - Offaly, Tipp, Wexford, Limerick, Kilkenny, Cork. I think its commonly known as the Golden era of Hurling - Guinness were all over it also as the main sponsor. It was such a pity that Limerick team didn't win Liam!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 31/01/2017 18:25:28    1950659

Replying To ballagoballa:  "Was there an incident around that time between a Clare back and Sean Ó hAilpín which did not reflect well on the Clare player?"
yes there was. Sean Og used to get the most desperate sledging back in the day. Within Cork as well it has to be said.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 31/01/2017 22:33:13    1950740

It was such a pity that Limerick team didn't win Liam!
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts:646 - 31/01/2017 18:25:28 1950659

who ya tellin! 4th september 1994 is a date that still haunts me 22 years on, can still remember the feeling of horror when pat oconnors goal hit the net

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 01/02/2017 09:27:28    1950787

Great interview. Really enjoyed it.

I was a young fella when that Clare team broke through in the mid 90s and I seriously revered that group of hurlers.

I remember they played the Dubs in Parnell Pk and Dublin hurled them off the park in the first half, it was probably around the end of their era, I think round 99. Loughnane stayed in the dug out for all of half time with his selectors. The wouldn't go into the dressing room at all at half time! Low and behold the Bannerman came out in the second half and came right back at Dublin and salvaged a draw with a last minute Fingers O'Connell goal.

They were a wonderful team of characters.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/02/2017 10:19:20    1950804

It seems sledging is widespread in the Munster Hurling Championship.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 01/02/2017 10:31:28    1950808

Replying To Ban:  "I tried to post what happened but the admin blocked it - I kind of guessed that would happen (and respect it) as its a sensitive topic

From reading Loughnane's book (great read) Waterford went fairly low the day of the drawn game - hence the backlash 7 days later.

That was some Clare team - no history, growing up looking at their County getting taking apart in any big Munster Championship game but yet had the mindset to go somewhere special. The Lohan's, Seanie, Baker, Doyle, Daly, Jamsie, Lynch, Davy, The Sparrow, Fingers O'Connell - some men.

There was some great teams around them at the time also - Offaly, Tipp, Wexford, Limerick, Kilkenny, Cork. I think its commonly known as the Golden era of Hurling - Guinness were all over it also as the main sponsor. It was such a pity that Limerick team didn't win Liam!"
I think it would only known as a golden period of hurling because there were teams in the finals who are not usually there.It was certainly not known for its high-quality of hurling, it was physical and attritional but very average in terms of pure quality.
There is a a simple rule in the media for this : "Tipp/Cork/KK" win = bad for hurling, anyone else win = "great for hurling" "golden period" etc.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 01/02/2017 11:02:11    1950821

Replying To MesAmis:  "Great interview. Really enjoyed it.

I was a young fella when that Clare team broke through in the mid 90s and I seriously revered that group of hurlers.

I remember they played the Dubs in Parnell Pk and Dublin hurled them off the park in the first half, it was probably around the end of their era, I think round 99. Loughnane stayed in the dug out for all of half time with his selectors. The wouldn't go into the dressing room at all at half time! Low and behold the Bannerman came out in the second half and came right back at Dublin and salvaged a draw with a last minute Fingers O'Connell goal.

They were a wonderful team of characters."
Apart from Jamesie,the forward unit was not the greatest.In fact,for me anyway,it was probably the weakest front six that i've ever seen to win the All Ireland.And they did it twice!

In contrast,it was one of the greatest backlines with two giants in the pivotal full-back and centre-back positions ; B Lohan and S McMahon.Davy Fitz was a fantastic keeper and Ollie Baker and Lynch were a powerful midfield that just wore the opposition down.

Niall Gilligan was a powerhouse corner forward.Himself and Tipp's Shelley had a few battles in '97.Fingers,Tuoghy,Sparrow were all decent hurlers but by no means freescoring forwards.S McMahon always chipped in with a few points from long range frees,Daly and Doyle could score from wing back,too.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2017 11:11:57    1950823

Replying To PremierGold:  "I think it would only known as a golden period of hurling because there were teams in the finals who are not usually there.It was certainly not known for its high-quality of hurling, it was physical and attritional but very average in terms of pure quality.
There is a a simple rule in the media for this : "Tipp/Cork/KK" win = bad for hurling, anyone else win = "great for hurling" "golden period" etc."
Well if the cap fits, wear it :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 01/02/2017 12:15:06    1950843

Replying To MesAmis:  "Great interview. Really enjoyed it.

They were a wonderful team of characters."
Haha I can just imagine Loughnane at half time; "they got themselves into this mess they can get themselves out of it!"

He was and still is one of a kind.

I mentioned on here before seeing a documentary on that team and them describing the pain they were going trough after 3 laps of the famous Crusheen. Only for Loughnane to roar "what's wrong with ye lads? Ye have another 27 laps to go!"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/02/2017 12:41:02    1950850

There is a a simple rule in the media for this : "Tipp/Cork/KK" win = bad for hurling, anyone else win = "great for hurling" "golden period" etc.

Tipp/Cork/KK werent too happy (still arent by the sounds of it) back then

Sure wasn't the back door invented to curb the dominance of the lesser Counties. There was also special treatment dished out to the like of Clare at the time when it seemed that it was the only way to reduce them as a force ('98) Players receiving bans after matches for incidents which were not recorded in the referee's report - At the time you could only act retrospectively on matters recorded in the referee's report.

All's good now though - top table kind of happy, Frank's is probably cranky but they'll come again

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 01/02/2017 13:31:05    1950871

Listened to the full podcast - any GAA fan should listen its fantastic. He's a pure Irishman through and through - he talks about his punditry and how he says what he thinks rather than sugarcoating. I'd also love to know what happened between the Waterford player and Daly - can't find a trace of it online.

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 01/02/2017 14:08:23    1950882

Replying To PremierGold:  "I think it would only known as a golden period of hurling because there were teams in the finals who are not usually there.It was certainly not known for its high-quality of hurling, it was physical and attritional but very average in terms of pure quality.
There is a a simple rule in the media for this : "Tipp/Cork/KK" win = bad for hurling, anyone else win = "great for hurling" "golden period" etc."
Well that is true, but if the game only survives in three counties that is no good either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/02/2017 21:00:59    1951058

Ger Loughnane is, like that Clare team, a force of nature.

As a young kid watching on from across the Shannon Estuary, that Clare team were idols of mine. I think they are the reason I feel in love with hurling and esp the Munster Championship.

Maybe they weren't the best hurlers but by God had they steel, passion, ferocity and a never say die spirit. And what a bunch of characters and personalities to have all come at the one time. Davy, Dalo, Jamsie, Lohan etc etc. What men!!

In this day and age of say nothing and take your time doing it, can you imagine an inter-county manager looking into a TV Camera before the thrown in for the second half of an All-Ireland final (that there behind in!) 'and uttering the immortal words' We're Going to Do It'! Can you imagine a team captain receiving the cup and saying 'We're no longer the whipping boys of Munster'. God good what have to hear nowadays, 'See you Coppers', 'Cody's Winning Matches' - Christ!!

In fairness though it was a golden age, just for the sheer novelty of it all. Funny like it was said in the interview, my abiding memory is also of roasting hot summers. I mean the Offaly team of the time too were brilliant too, again a team full of charisma and devilment and well able to puck a ball.

RTE did a great radio documentary a few years back called Remember 98, or Who Fears to Speak of 98 or something like that. I was out for a walk on an Easter Sunday 3-4 years ago and stumbled upon a repeat of it on. It's really brilliant. If you liked Ger's interview this goes into the whole 98 season and all the controversy etc. Jesus - Clare were seriously hard done by. It's a mark of that team that while they could easily have kicked up sh*ite over the 98 semi-final, they went ahead and agreed to play Offaly in the replay.

Yes they were some team, and to this day I'd support Clare in the hurling.

More than anything they gave all us small ball underdogs the hope that maybe, just maybe they'll be a fella in a Kerry jersey lifting the Munster Cup in Thurles someday.

As a final point, fair play to Off the Ball for facilitating for an hour plus interview with someone like Ger. These days, anytime sports people are on, they seem to be shoehorned into 15 mins. It was great that they gave the time to cover so many topics, expand upon his life outside of the game and generally just allow the magic that naturally comes from talking to a very extraordinary guy for a good chunk of time.

I'd wish they'd do more such interviews. If only Paidi was still alive, I'd have loved to have heard someone sit down with him for a good hour or two and record it!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 11:29:20    1951182