Resentment of the greats - Dublin Only?

The Kilkenny hurling team are lauded and praised to the hilt by the GAA community.

When the Ulster football teams had the great run in the 90s it was viewed as a "breath of fresh air".

When Kerry and Tyrone had their recent period of prolonged success they were viewed as tenacious, marvellous footballing teams .The word tenacious would have been used in spades with tyrone.

When Galway won their two recent football all-irelands they were viewed as "swashbuckling, flair team".

When Meath had their period of success they were viewed as "never day die never give up, tough as anything"

When Cork won back to back AI in the football and were successful in hurling when that period is spoken of Teddy McCarthy is called the last great dual player in Gaelic Games.

The great Kerry team of the 70s and 80s who could have won 8 in a row only for Seamus Darby! They are now lauded in hushed tones and misty eyes as the greatest football team in the history of the GAA.

Dublin have a period of success comparable to the Kerry team of the last decade. The response? THEY BOUGHT IT

My question is why is this Dublin team the only great team who is resented?

If they are the begrudger's choice, they must surely get the title of the most resented team in the history of the GAA?

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/10/2016 14:24:22    1923287

The great Kerry team of the 70s and 80s who could have won 8 in a row only for Seamus Darby! They are now lauded in hushed tones and misty eyes as the greatest football team in the history of the GAA.

Dubs 83?
As for the rest - can't agree the Dubs are the only team resented for winning, happens all the time

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 06/10/2016 14:51:32    1923306

I wouldn't base the country's appreciation of Dublin's success based on some comments on an internet message board gormdubh. But I do think Dublin supporters shouldn't put too much stock in what other counties think of them.
Come on lads, what were you expecting, Kerry, Tyrone and Killkenny had enough begrudgery during their successful terms.
You don't need other people telling you how good you are, the titles won speak for themselves regardless of what spin some might want to put on them

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 14:52:44    1923308

Not really no disputes that this isn't a great Dublin team, it's just given all the advantages Dublin have the scale of the accomplishment isn't as great in the eyes of neutrals

Just like neutrals won't give Guardiola + Man City the same level of acclaim that Ranieri and Leicester for winning the Premier League even though in theory it's the same competition they won.

HurlingWarrior (Limerick) - Posts: 61 - 06/10/2016 14:59:59    1923314

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "The Kilkenny hurling team are lauded and praised to the hilt by the GAA community.

When the Ulster football teams had the great run in the 90s it was viewed as a "breath of fresh air".

When Kerry and Tyrone had their recent period of prolonged success they were viewed as tenacious, marvellous footballing teams .The word tenacious would have been used in spades with tyrone.

When Galway won their two recent football all-irelands they were viewed as "swashbuckling, flair team".

When Meath had their period of success they were viewed as "never day die never give up, tough as anything"

When Cork won back to back AI in the football and were successful in hurling when that period is spoken of Teddy McCarthy is called the last great dual player in Gaelic Games.

Dublin have a period of success comparable to the Kerry team of the last decade. The response? THEY BOUGHT IT

If they are the begrudger's choice, they must surely get the title of the most resented team in the history of the GAA?"
Cripes, ye are in a bad way for reassurance.
This Dublin team is one of the most liked teams to win the All Ireland

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 06/10/2016 15:00:39    1923316

I honestly don't give a flying f**k what anybody inside or outside the county think. It is what it is lads.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/10/2016 15:03:36    1923321

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "Not really no disputes that this isn't a great Dublin team, it's just given all the advantages Dublin have the scale of the accomplishment isn't as great in the eyes of neutrals

Just like neutrals won't give Guardiola + Man City the same level of acclaim that Ranieri and Leicester for winning the Premier League even though in theory it's the same competition they won."
Fair point, but the way some make out, Kerry are the Leicester City of the GAA world

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 15:04:29    1923322

Dublin's predictable win makes GAA the big loser

Ewan MacKenna
Gaelic football commentary

It was in 2014 that Joachim Löw sat in a press room beneath the Maracana, the Germany football coach's face and his words hiding just what he and his nation had achieved in Brazil. With Germany just proclaimed world champions, it was a title that should have allowed the mask to slip, letting us into the very soul of victory. Only he saw it differently.

"We started this project ten years ago, so this is the result of many years' work," he said matter-of-factly, as if talking about erecting a garden fence. "We've continued that work and our strength has been our constant progress. We'd not made this ultimate step before."

After the colour and chaos of the World Cup that was a beautiful representation of the nation that hosted it, that seemed the wrong ending. Yet, it was a moment that came to mind in the aftermath of this All-Ireland final replay. The game itself may have been brutally brilliant with Mayo showing that the well is deeper than we could ever have imagined and Dublin digging far beyond the frontline to get over the finish, but this too seemed cold and mistaken. Money had bypassed passion.

There are many similarities between Dublin and Germany, the most obvious being a perfect use of endless resources to get to the top, but there are many key differences as well. For instance, some countries can get near to Germany's financial wealth, some countries can match their playing and coaching numbers, and crucially for all Fifa's flaws it never favoured any one nation to the detriment of the game it rules. Consider that for a moment. In the role of director-general since 2008, Paraic Duffy is often heralded and given an easy ride as a productive sports administrator, but think too about the years he's been in the job and the fact he's overseen the biggest case of doping in modern Irish sport. The financial doping that destroyed Leinster and is now destroying our greatest tournament.

By now we know the figures. Last year after a long and similar trend the GAA handed over €1,460,400 to the capital in a games development grant, more than any province combined with only one other county getting even six figures. That is before the €1 million a year special grant given over via the taxpayer and the Irish Sports Council. That is before we get to the fact that their population not only means a player base that dwarfs all others, but it also means a market that allows its sponsorship to dwarf all others. You can be sure that unlike in many places Bernard Brogan and Stephen Cluxton will not be on O'Connell Bridge in the coming months with a bucket asking for loose change to fund their efforts to be the best.

Of course none of this is Dublin's fault, they hAve merely excelled off the field as they hAve excelled on it. But it is the GAA's fault, for shame.

Therefore, strip away the emotion and fascination of Saturday and what essentially happened was a professional team in almost every way won a trophy contested by amateur opposition. We do not get excited when Manchester City brush past lower-league opposition in the cup, we do not get excited when a Mercedes whizzes past a Force India, so why is this different? When the Simpsons drew Homer in the ring with Drederick Tatum it was comedy yet what we have here is tragedy.

Dublin's players and management are not in the business of entertaining us, they are in the business of winning and they are exceptional at it. Yet, in the aftermath of this latest victory, there was something representative in their dull and carefully dusted words. Brogan could well have been speaking after an O'Byrne Cup game; Dean Rock used more clichés than the points he had kicked in a defining performance; Cluxton ticked the corporate boxes on the steps as he received the trophy. It was a representation of the machine they have become, overtaking the sport they play.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/10/2016 15:08:23    1923324

contd...

Deep down Dublin fans know this but have long had safeguards. They mention Kilkenny and Kerry when there is no numerical comparison. They mention how close Mayo got, when they have not been beaten in 29 games, most of which are akin to the Harlem Globetrotters humiliating the Washington Generals. They mention how this is a special generation and while it is, so is the next one and the one after that - indeed this final was telling as it was not the special generation that won it, it was instead the next generation with the likes of Rock and substitute Cormac Costello proving decisive. If you find the facts negative or bitter, then you problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

This is not difficult stuff. In fact after that 2014 World Cup final, sitting on a beach with soccer journalists, they asked about football. From a sphere of monopolisation and big bucks, they laughed at what the GAA had done and what they had made Dublin. But no one who truly cares about and loves the game is laughing now. Sadly, it is fitting that in these years of boom for the minority and bust for the majority in Ireland, the national game has been subjected to the same sort of ultra-capitalism in a ruthless form. The governing body jumped straight into bed with its cash cow and closed the door. All we can now see is the result of what went on.

Still the GAA expect us to lap up relatively tiny projects here and there, such as their €125,000 a year offered to Kildare, Meath, Louth and Wicklow to help with coaching. But smaller counties than Dublin actually need much more money than Dublin to balance out demographic disparity. This is merely loose change being flung at a homeless man to lighten the wallet and change perception. Do not buy that for a minute for they have long since chosen their partner. Aogan O Fearghail may have physically given Cluxton the trophy at the weekend, but his organisation long ago gave it to them.

In 1989 economist Francis Fukayama wrote an essay titled The End of History in which he described the collapse of communism and the triumph of capitalism as the end of mankind's ideological evolution. Across the 2000s though we saw the triumph of capitalism in what is supposed to be an amateur sport, and the result is the end of football's history. Dublin may have predictably won, but the game is the huge loser in all of this.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/10/2016 15:08:45    1923325

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "The Kilkenny hurling team are lauded and praised to the hilt by the GAA community.

If they are the begrudger's choice, they must surely get the title of the most resented team in the history of the GAA?"
Ah now, this is pushing it. There is huge resentment if any Ulster team wins the AI. This is undeniable.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 06/10/2016 15:08:48    1923326

Why this craving for more praise? You have a good team who have had a lot of success so why not be happy with that. There has been a paper thin margin between Dublin and Mayo over the past few years but you have won three All Ireland whilst Mayo still have to win one. Appreciate what you have and stop whining.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/10/2016 15:11:57    1923328

Replying To HurlingWarrior:  "Not really no disputes that this isn't a great Dublin team, it's just given all the advantages Dublin have the scale of the accomplishment isn't as great in the eyes of neutrals

Just like neutrals won't give Guardiola + Man City the same level of acclaim that Ranieri and Leicester for winning the Premier League even though in theory it's the same competition they won."
What have Guardiola and Man City won?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 06/10/2016 15:25:28    1923340

No All-Ireland has been resented more than Tyrone 03. Sure a sour kerryman resented it so much the phrase puke football was invented to undermine it and years later the likes of clondalkin etc still use it such is the resentment of Ulster teams, successful or otherwise.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 06/10/2016 15:28:28    1923345

I think you'll find that there has been plenty of begrudgery shown to the Tyrone team of the noughties,and the other teams you mention. I've exhausted myself on this forum alone over the years defending that Tyrone team from all sorts of negative attacks. It goes with the territory......enjoy it while it lasts.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/10/2016 15:29:51    1923346

I'd say there's just a lot more resentment around the GAA these days.

Just read Jim McGuinness' book, it's a bit uncomfortable to read as a Tyrone fan. You would think when we won Sam we were parading it around Donegal rubbing their noses in it.
All this talk about how we looked down on them, I don't think much was audibly spoken about Donegal during the 2000's, they beat us surely but they weren't in the top tier.

I don't know why he expected outward respect for Donegal from Tyrone when they were drinking away their championship every single year.

As Jim proved though resentment is a serious weapon if you can employ it right

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 06/10/2016 15:31:15    1923347

I don't fully agree with that statement, sure enough Dublin do get the lions share of the funding. that cannot be disputed. here is the link https://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-investment-in-dublin/348120
I'm not sure if you have a chip on your shoulder over some comments or what but there is a lot of people including myself that look at this Dublin team and hold them in the highest regard. The only time I've ever seen them live was at the league final this year and they were breath taking. For the month of April to be playing at such a high level was admirable and they kept it up and beat anything that came in there way to rightfully put their claim in as one of the best teams of the last 50 years or more......
the likes of Kilkenny, Connolly, Cooper, Brogan ( I could go on) only come about once in a while. Regardless of what funds they have these players are supremely talented. Money is only part of the equation.
However the disparity of money spent per head on players from Dublin and Mayo for example is mind boggling. Can anyone explain that?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 06/10/2016 15:32:33    1923350

I wouldn't be too worried about what others think re tainted success. They are a great team no mater what. If you actually stood back and looked at who is calling foul on funding it invariably is the same handful of posters. This gives the impression that it is global criticism when it is not.

The public thinks it much more of an achievement when a team like Galway of the early 00s, donegal, armagh etc win it due to the relative resources available to them. This might come across to some as sour grapes, but the public likes an underdog no mater what.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/10/2016 15:40:59    1923355

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "contd...

Deep down Dublin fans know this but have long had safeguards. They mention Kilkenny and Kerry when there is no numerical comparison. They mention how close Mayo got, when they have not been beaten in 29 games, most of which are akin to the Harlem Globetrotters humiliating the Washington Generals. They mention how this is a special generation and while it is, so is the next one and the one after that - indeed this final was telling as it was not the special generation that won it, it was instead the next generation with the likes of Rock and substitute Cormac Costello proving decisive. If you find the facts negative or bitter, then you problem is with the facts and with reality and if you do not money makes a telling difference, you really don't understand modern sport.

This is not difficult stuff. In fact after that 2014 World Cup final, sitting on a beach with soccer journalists, they asked about football. From a sphere of monopolisation and big bucks, they laughed at what the GAA had done and what they had made Dublin. But no one who truly cares about and loves the game is laughing now. Sadly, it is fitting that in these years of boom for the minority and bust for the majority in Ireland, the national game has been subjected to the same sort of ultra-capitalism in a ruthless form. The governing body jumped straight into bed with its cash cow and closed the door. All we can now see is the result of what went on.

Still the GAA expect us to lap up relatively tiny projects here and there, such as their €125,000 a year offered to Kildare, Meath, Louth and Wicklow to help with coaching. But smaller counties than Dublin actually need much more money than Dublin to balance out demographic disparity. This is merely loose change being flung at a homeless man to lighten the wallet and change perception. Do not buy that for a minute for they have long since chosen their partner. Aogan O Fearghail may have physically given Cluxton the trophy at the weekend, but his organisation long ago gave it to them.

In 1989 economist Francis Fukayama wrote an essay titled The End of History in which he described the collapse of communism and the triumph of capitalism as the end of mankind's ideological evolution. Across the 2000s though we saw the triumph of capitalism in what is supposed to be an amateur sport, and the result is the end of football's history. Dublin may have predictably won, but the game is the huge loser in all of this."
Could you expand on that and go over it again. I dozed off there for a bit.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 15:43:02    1923359

I honestly disagree gorm. As a dub abroad in limk, this Dubs team is fiercely respected and as popular as ever a Dublon team can be. We have been heaped with praise. I disagree with your point buddy. I think we get plenty respect. But i will say one thing, the wiay the 2 days after the final were reported was pretty ridiculous. You would have thought 20 Mayo men took to the field and beat themselves to death with ash plants with no sign of an opposition. It was all about poor mayo

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/10/2016 15:49:45    1923360

Thanks for posting that Offside_Rule

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/10/2016 15:53:54    1923364