FAO Mayo Fans

Lads, we have been where ye are. 1991 1992 1993 1994. Thought it would never happen. Cried tears for 4 years. Gave up every year. But, we stuck at it and we got there. Ye will too. Ye will. Without question ye are the closest to Dublin. Not Kerry not Tyrone. Ye have savage footballers and great great fans. If we are to exit next year I personally will roar ye on. Its a tough one now lads but ye WILL get there. Heads up. Special nod to Yew Tree btw, I genuinely feel for u buddy. Head up, chest out.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/10/2016 11:03:40    1921404

Fair play to you Liam, very gracious. I'll admit to being extremely sore after the game yesterday, as though Dublin deserved to edge it, I felt that a couple of key mistakes cost us the game.

We are not far off Dublin, but the main difference between the sides is the respective quality of attacking: time after time Mayo went down the narrow channel rather than attacking space.

I stayed after the game to salute the Dublin and Mayo players who have given so much entertainment over the past five years. We are Mayo and we will be back.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 02/10/2016 12:14:42    1921438

Replying To Gleebo:  "Fair play to you Liam, very gracious. I'll admit to being extremely sore after the game yesterday, as though Dublin deserved to edge it, I felt that a couple of key mistakes cost us the game.

We are not far off Dublin, but the main difference between the sides is the respective quality of attacking: time after time Mayo went down the narrow channel rather than attacking space.

I stayed after the game to salute the Dublin and Mayo players who have given so much entertainment over the past five years. We are Mayo and we will be back."
No glee I. You are wrong. Why don't mayo supporters stand up and say stop. Feehan bottled it completely. In the me lee before half time Connolly should have got a black card he blocked vaughans run. Small should have got a Red card. He threw a punch at oconnor. Red for attempted strike. McMahon should have got a red card punched parsons right in front of coldrick. McMahon then fouled Oshawa in the penalty area. Finally no penalty for Dublin. He nelly got a touch on the ball. Pathetic performance by Feehan. Let's call it for what it is

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 02/10/2016 12:42:49    1921450

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "No glee I. You are wrong. Why don't mayo supporters stand up and say stop. Feehan bottled it completely. In the me lee before half time Connolly should have got a black card he blocked vaughans run. Small should have got a Red card. He threw a punch at oconnor. Red for attempted strike. McMahon should have got a red card punched parsons right in front of coldrick. McMahon then fouled Oshawa in the penalty area. Finally no penalty for Dublin. He nelly got a touch on the ball. Pathetic performance by Feehan. Let's call it for what it is"
I'm sick to death of people who just watch a match looking for refereeing errors. And then claim the result was down to those errors...pathetic. all points here are wrong BTW making a few errors yourself!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 02/10/2016 13:14:32    1921459

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "No glee I. You are wrong. Why don't mayo supporters stand up and say stop. Feehan bottled it completely. In the me lee before half time Connolly should have got a black card he blocked vaughans run. Small should have got a Red card. He threw a punch at oconnor. Red for attempted strike. McMahon should have got a red card punched parsons right in front of coldrick. McMahon then fouled Oshawa in the penalty area. Finally no penalty for Dublin. He nelly got a touch on the ball. Pathetic performance by Feehan. Let's call it for what it is"
Who's Feehan.Deegan was the referee.An idiotic post.The referee made mistakes on both sides but certainly wasn't the deciding factor in the outcome of the match.Feel sorry for Mayo and their wonderful supporters but Dublin have more quality up front.This Mayo team would have won a couple All-Irelands if they had a Gooch Cooper up front but they don't have unfortunately.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2182 - 02/10/2016 13:26:56    1921465

I was at the game, lets call a spade a spade Deegan was awful. He gave the major decisions against Mayo. Your heart has to go out to Mayo. Dublin butchered loads of attacks yesterday and should have beaten out the gate if they were more clinical, the example was the blocked shot by Brogan at the end that eventually led to the free that O'Connor missed, The ball should never been given to Brogan.
But back to the main facts the pulling and dragging by the Dublin backs off the ball went unpunished. Small was a clear Black Card in the first 15 Minutes he missed with the deliberate pull down and then hand tripped him. Deegan Bottled that call, Hurson the linesman should have told him as could his umpires that it was black. Cooper got black that just a natural instinct its unlucky but was a black. Keegan no way was it a black its a bad attempt at a tackle not a pull down, yellow card should have been the decision. The penalty for me was harsh in the ultra slow mo replay he does catch the legs of Andrews but he clearly played the ball first. The grab of the player is a natural coming together after playing the ball. McMenamin goes through on goal was more of a penalty than the first one. The ones in the middle of the field just before half time i cant comment as i didn't see it.But surely the only thing Aidan O'Shea was missing was a saddle when Cian O'Sullivan and co continuously fouled for at least 5 seconds.

Look fair play to Dublin for winning they have been brilliant over the last 5 years. Going the thought the whole League and Championship without losing is a sign of greatness, but you need to ride your luck at times and take whatever breaks that come your way. Wasn't a vintage year in terms of performance by Dublin but its a results business and Jim Gavin and co won't care how they win as long as the win.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 02/10/2016 13:54:13    1921473

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Lads, we have been where ye are. 1991 1992 1993 1994. Thought it would never happen. Cried tears for 4 years. Gave up every year. But, we stuck at it and we got there. Ye will too. Ye will. Without question ye are the closest to Dublin. Not Kerry not Tyrone. Ye have savage footballers and great great fans. If we are to exit next year I personally will roar ye on. Its a tough one now lads but ye WILL get there. Heads up. Special nod to Yew Tree btw, I genuinely feel for u buddy. Head up, chest out."
I live in hope liamo! We just lack that little bit of extra killer instinct in the forwards just sometimes make the wrong decisions near the goal. Look at the dublins forwards made space for themselves and took their scores. At the end we seemed to well covered by dublins defence. Hopefully going forward we find that little bit extra to get over the line but with this Dublin team around it will be tough.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/10/2016 14:11:34    1921483

Lol, is this guy Oshwa a Japanese import. Try Deegan instead of Feehan, Maurice Deegan missed many things some you are correct on, others you are not. For balance you forgot Jason Dohertys strike on Cooper directly after the goal & off the ball.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 02/10/2016 14:21:42    1921485

I agree Deegan was bad, what do you expect? He is a bad ref in my opinion.
I am on record as stating a Leinster man should not have been the ref yesterday.
All that said the ref didn't cost Mayo the game.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 02/10/2016 14:37:10    1921491

Have to say that I feel for the Mayo fans
And hard luck to you
Hope the next few days aren't too rough
Arguably you could have won the first game, so lots to build on
Here's to seeing you again next year
All the very best

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/10/2016 14:57:06    1921498

Grande so should have been reduced to 12 players and just are a fluke? Will you catch yourself on and bottle that prejudice.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 02/10/2016 15:01:03    1921499

Delighted with the win, I know you don't want my pity but I felt for the Mayo supporters grown men n women in tears beside me my heart went out to them, and afterwards I'd some craic with Mayo people absolute class acts. I know your hurting you've been put through more than any county has had to go through but your day will come very soon.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/10/2016 15:38:27    1921510

If you can't post objectively then you can't be taken seriously. I'll give you the unbiased breakdown,
Small leg pull early on;100% black card bad call. Mayos goal cooper gets nailed from the side when the ball isn't even in play;black card, bad call. Coopers black card harsh but it is the rules, good call. Connolly nudges Vaughan with a shoulder from behind; black card if you must but really it's turning into a pansy game if that's a black card. Vaughan in turn kicks Connolly. Red for Vaughan black for Connolly, he gives yellow for both bad call. Keegan pulls down Connolly while he's running to gain possession;black card although a yellow might have been fine as he was also looking to win the ball. Small and CoC incident; same as earlier. If you want to give Connolly a black then CoC gets one too for impeding Smalls run,bad call. Small red card for attempted strike. Henelly bad call he tried to play the ball; in fairness the ref did him a favor, should have been subbed off.
You can complain about Deegan all day, if he had made the above calls according to the rules he would have destroyed the game and then you would do some serious complaining.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 02/10/2016 16:11:54    1921519

Replying To shaggylegend:  "I was at the game, lets call a spade a spade Deegan was awful. He gave the major decisions against Mayo. Your heart has to go out to Mayo. Dublin butchered loads of attacks yesterday and should have beaten out the gate if they were more clinical, the example was the blocked shot by Brogan at the end that eventually led to the free that O'Connor missed, The ball should never been given to Brogan.
But back to the main facts the pulling and dragging by the Dublin backs off the ball went unpunished. Small was a clear Black Card in the first 15 Minutes he missed with the deliberate pull down and then hand tripped him. Deegan Bottled that call, Hurson the linesman should have told him as could his umpires that it was black. Cooper got black that just a natural instinct its unlucky but was a black. Keegan no way was it a black its a bad attempt at a tackle not a pull down, yellow card should have been the decision. The penalty for me was harsh in the ultra slow mo replay he does catch the legs of Andrews but he clearly played the ball first. The grab of the player is a natural coming together after playing the ball. McMenamin goes through on goal was more of a penalty than the first one. The ones in the middle of the field just before half time i cant comment as i didn't see it.But surely the only thing Aidan O'Shea was missing was a saddle when Cian O'Sullivan and co continuously fouled for at least 5 seconds.

Look fair play to Dublin for winning they have been brilliant over the last 5 years. Going the thought the whole League and Championship without losing is a sign of greatness, but you need to ride your luck at times and take whatever breaks that come your way. Wasn't a vintage year in terms of performance by Dublin but its a results business and Jim Gavin and co won't care how they win as long as the win."
Dublin should have had a second penalty.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 02/10/2016 17:10:32    1921534

Ah will ye all shut up with the sh*te ffs

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/10/2016 17:46:47    1921546

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ah will ye all shut up with the sh*te ffs"
You said it Liam...

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 02/10/2016 18:13:23    1921554

Replying To dubdec99:  "You said it Liam..."
Too funny Liam :)

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/10/2016 18:29:19    1921558

Replying To shaggylegend:  "I was at the game, lets call a spade a spade Deegan was awful. He gave the major decisions against Mayo. Your heart has to go out to Mayo. Dublin butchered loads of attacks yesterday and should have beaten out the gate if they were more clinical, the example was the blocked shot by Brogan at the end that eventually led to the free that O'Connor missed, The ball should never been given to Brogan.

Look fair play to Dublin for winning they have been brilliant over the last 5 years. Going the thought the whole League and Championship without losing is a sign of greatness, but you need to ride your luck at times and take whatever breaks that come your way. Wasn't a vintage year in terms of performance by Dublin but its a results business and Jim Gavin and co won't care how they win as long as the win."
I got a good laugh out of that post. McLoughlin black card, no? Vaughan black card for foot trip, no? Mayo red for decking of keeper after Keegan's goal, no? Yeah Deegan gave Dublin everything. That's why our trophy cabinet is overflowing. Referees are always giving us decisions. Oh it's posts like this that make these wins so, so sweet. Up the Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/10/2016 18:48:12    1921563

Yes many of us were at the game and most of us have watched it back on tv as well. We can be here all day talking about decisions. A few black cards missed and believe it or not , some we missed black cards for Mayo players. Personally glad the game had no more cards than was already dished out. Mayo scored at least one free that was never a free or as the TV folk called it "a soft free". No doubt Dublin got decisions too but this nonsense of focussing primarily on decisions that Dublin get has got to stop. Mayo gave it a great shot over two games and am glad that all fans I spoke to never tried to hint at the ref/decisions being against them. Dublin won a deserved, if a very hard fought, All Ireland.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 02/10/2016 19:02:05    1921568

Big shout out to the Mayo fans, if will and hunger won all irelands, Sam wouldn't be a stranger in Mayo.

Have to say all the Mayo fans at the games were fantastic, really enjoyed the two games, the colour, craic and passion, you represented your county proudly.

In our many battles over the years that was the toughest, serious outfit under Rochford and if you can build on this year you won't be far away, Kerry next year if both Mayo and .kery win their provincals, should be fascinating.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2016 19:59:38    1921601