Player Power comes up trumps again

So it appears player power will reign supreme again and cost davy fitz his job, dont get me wrong i know my own county has done it and our neighbours from cork, and i dont agree with it. In Davys case he prob should take some time out to take care of his health now, always a passionate man and i for one was disappointed at the time to see him leaving us. Is it fair the players have this pulling power to get management dismissed?

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 20/09/2016 20:18:26    1917118

Replying To juniorjudge:  "So it appears player power will reign supreme again and cost davy fitz his job, dont get me wrong i know my own county has done it and our neighbours from cork, and i dont agree with it. In Davys case he prob should take some time out to take care of his health now, always a passionate man and i for one was disappointed at the time to see him leaving us. Is it fair the players have this pulling power to get management dismissed?"
It's tough on all managers who end terms as a result of it.

Personally i do feel Clare need a change of manager. Not the best of circumstances though.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 20:38:03    1917129

Despite winning the 2013 All-Ireland,Clare have underachieved under Davy Fitzgerald and the players know that well.Imagine what Cody would have done with the talent that's been coming through from underage in Clare.Absolutely outstanding U21 teams.Davy should have gone last year.If the right management comes in, Clare will be a serious force in championship 2017 because they do have the players.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 20/09/2016 20:41:44    1917137

Replying To endgame:  "Despite winning the 2013 All-Ireland,Clare have underachieved under Davy Fitzgerald and the players know that well.Imagine what Cody would have done with the talent that's been coming through from underage in Clare.Absolutely outstanding U21 teams.Davy should have gone last year.If the right management comes in, Clare will be a serious force in championship 2017 because they do have the players."
Win an all ireland in your tenure and still underachieve?? Who would you think that could progress that current team?

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 20/09/2016 21:18:02    1917167

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Win an all ireland in your tenure and still underachieve?? Who would you think that could progress that current team?"
I absolutely think Clare have underachieved under Davy Fitzgerald having regard to the talent at his disposal.However,far more important than anything I think,the players themselves would appear to feel the same.I think Anthony Daly would be a good appointment and I'm sure Managers of the successful underage teams will be looked at.Clare have won 4 of the last 8 U21 All-Ireland hurling titles including a 3 in a row.With the right Manager,Clare will be a serious challenge to Tipp and Kilkenny over the next few years and the days of struggling to win a match in Munster much less a Munster title will be put firmly behind them.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 20/09/2016 22:11:29    1917200

Clare people love hurling when its played with fire and passion. Some of the crap we have endured over his tenure has almost put me off watching hurling. Even in 2013 some of the hurling earlier in the c'ship beggared belief. We won a handy AI and were lucky to win it. We may not win another for years to come but at least with some hope we may now have a team managed to win their own ball, play with confidence, believe in themselves and leave everything on the field.
Im surprised he didn't go earlier. Nothing short of an AI win would have kept him in the job past next year and that was highly unlikely in that time span without some major surgery in his game plan.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 20/09/2016 22:15:14    1917203

Replying To juniorjudge:  "So it appears player power will reign supreme again and cost davy fitz his job, dont get me wrong i know my own county has done it and our neighbours from cork, and i dont agree with it. In Davys case he prob should take some time out to take care of his health now, always a passionate man and i for one was disappointed at the time to see him leaving us. Is it fair the players have this pulling power to get management dismissed?"
It's not nice to see a guy lose a job.

I'd say though that it is fair that players have that sort of power.

They're putting in so much time and effort (I know the managers do too but there's 30 or so players) they need to have a say in who's in charge.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 20/09/2016 22:32:01    1917213

Yes if he hadn't the brains to walk away. Shouldn't have been there this year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 20/09/2016 22:35:48    1917217

What's wrong with "player power"?
Why is that become such a dirty word. Surely the ones with the most power are the ones who actually play the game. Managers are there to serve the players not the other way around. In business it is the opposite but for hobbies and pastimes it is the participants who should have the power

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 20/09/2016 23:45:09    1917233

Not nice to see any manager lose their job under these circumstances but the reality is Clare need a change of direction badly,same appiles to the hurler of our county

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 21/09/2016 02:01:12    1917253

What are the players supposed to do, sit by and see the talent being wasted with stupid tactics?

I would have lost respect for them if they didn't move now. If you look at Clare's championship results since 2013 they are brutal. With the talent in our team we deserve a lot more. Davy was also very happy to deflect blame on the players "their hooking and blocking stats are down on 2013" and also on referees. Never once did he accept responsibility for his own decisions, like deploying Kelly in the half back line against Wford in Munster. He was also very happy to tell everyone how he made the call for Tony Kelly to take the free to level scores in the league final replay.

That is one of the biggest frustations with Davy is he would never acknowledge an error by himself but was always happy to praise himself.

Davy was in a unique position in Clare whereby his father is directly involved in his appointment and the term he would remain in charge. As a result, if Davy wanted it, it was a role for life. The only way a change was going to happen is if Davy decided to go and the only way that Davy would go is if the players voiced their opinion.

This needed to happen for the sake of Clare hurling and I for one am very glad the players have spoke out and Davy has respected their wishes.

Notwithstanding all this, the man needs to be praised for his contribution for Clare. Directly involved in three All Irelands. 2013 was just majestic.

Thank you Davy. You have made the right decision and we are grateful for that and all you have done for Clare hurling.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 21/09/2016 06:34:01    1917255

I dont get why player power is looked on as a bad thing!

Who else should have the power? Theyre the ones doing the training, theyre the ones doing the miles and miles in the muck and slop, theyre the ones sacrificing their social lives, their family lives and in some cases their professional lives with scant reward in most cases, theyre the ones being singled out in the stand by cretins or abused by so called analysts in the media, theyre the ones who arent even allowed stand in a pub these days never mind have a drink, theyre the ones getting in their beds past midnight after a 4+ hour round trip yo train in said muck and slop only to get up the next day to do a days work etc etc

Im puzzled as to why people think players shouldnt have power, that they should just be subservient to all those above them.

Who should have the power? the manager? the county board?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 21/09/2016 07:56:53    1917263

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "What are the players supposed to do, sit by and see the talent being wasted with stupid tactics?

I would have lost respect for them if they didn't move now. If you look at Clare's championship results since 2013 they are brutal. With the talent in our team we deserve a lot more. Davy was also very happy to deflect blame on the players "their hooking and blocking stats are down on 2013" and also on referees. Never once did he accept responsibility for his own decisions, like deploying Kelly in the half back line against Wford in Munster. He was also very happy to tell everyone how he made the call for Tony Kelly to take the free to level scores in the league final replay.

That is one of the biggest frustations with Davy is he would never acknowledge an error by himself but was always happy to praise himself.

Davy was in a unique position in Clare whereby his father is directly involved in his appointment and the term he would remain in charge. As a result, if Davy wanted it, it was a role for life. The only way a change was going to happen is if Davy decided to go and the only way that Davy would go is if the players voiced their opinion.

This needed to happen for the sake of Clare hurling and I for one am very glad the players have spoke out and Davy has respected their wishes.

Notwithstanding all this, the man needs to be praised for his contribution for Clare. Directly involved in three All Irelands. 2013 was just majestic.

Thank you Davy. You have made the right decision and we are grateful for that and all you have done for Clare hurling."
Looking on from the outside this seems to have hit the nail on the head,the style wasn't good too watch for neturals but what is more damning is that I don't think it suited the players in the clare team ye have brilliant forwards, winning in 2013 was a great achievement no all ireland is lucky there all hard earned but only beating Laois,offaly and limerick in 3 championship campaigns is unforgivable with the talent at your disposal.

Who you reckon will get the job?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 21/09/2016 13:02:48    1917421

Replying To wexico15:  "Looking on from the outside this seems to have hit the nail on the head,the style wasn't good too watch for neturals but what is more damning is that I don't think it suited the players in the clare team ye have brilliant forwards, winning in 2013 was a great achievement no all ireland is lucky there all hard earned but only beating Laois,offaly and limerick in 3 championship campaigns is unforgivable with the talent at your disposal.

Who you reckon will get the job?"
Endgame threw up a great nomination in anthony daly, a proud clare man with intercounty managerial experience.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 21/09/2016 13:12:51    1917426

Replying To tearintom:  "I dont get why player power is looked on as a bad thing!

Who else should have the power? Theyre the ones doing the training, theyre the ones doing the miles and miles in the muck and slop, theyre the ones sacrificing their social lives, their family lives and in some cases their professional lives with scant reward in most cases, theyre the ones being singled out in the stand by cretins or abused by so called analysts in the media, theyre the ones who arent even allowed stand in a pub these days never mind have a drink, theyre the ones getting in their beds past midnight after a 4+ hour round trip yo train in said muck and slop only to get up the next day to do a days work etc etc

Im puzzled as to why people think players shouldnt have power, that they should just be subservient to all those above them.

Who should have the power? the manager? the county board?"
I.M.O the county board recruit the manager so the county board should be responsible for change. You raise valid points re: milage, training, socialising, crowd abuse etc but sure to be fair the manager does all that too. I remember davy driving daily to waterford or dungarvan from clare for training...i recall many many times at waterford games or watching clare playing seeing davy get hurled abuse for the crowds.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 21/09/2016 13:20:07    1917428

personally i feel the constant sideshow and pantomine villian turned a lot of people off what was and still is a very talented clare team.
i also was turned off by the attitude davy showed to 2 players,i cant remember their names but leaving lads to train on their own,isolating them from the group,etc was wrong and in a society where mental health issues amongst inter county players is constantly to the fore,and a manager who was bullied himself and has said so very publicly,was wrong.
but having said that,davy fitz has given his life for clare hurling and deserves to be ackowledged for it.he might not be my cup of tea but the passion and commitment he shows is undeniable.
surely dalo will fancy a shot at that job now?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 21/09/2016 13:59:51    1917455

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Endgame threw up a great nomination in anthony daly, a proud clare man with intercounty managerial experience."
Yeah I was thinking daly or the management team over there 3 u21 all ireland winning teams,only thing that could be a stumbling block with daly is his role with the limerick county board

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 21/09/2016 14:31:09    1917466

Replying To 890202:  "What's wrong with "player power"?
Why is that become such a dirty word. Surely the ones with the most power are the ones who actually play the game. Managers are there to serve the players not the other way around. In business it is the opposite but for hobbies and pastimes it is the participants who should have the power"
Very good post.

It became a dirty word because of the Cork situation. This situation has happened over and over again now. In Cork and Limerick, the county boards dug their heals in. Everywhere else common sense prevailed.

It will be hard to see where Davy goes next? will he take a break? Galway at some point? Kerry? or club hurling? He is extremely passionate and he will not want to walk away from the game.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/09/2016 14:37:58    1917467

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "What are the players supposed to do, sit by and see the talent being wasted with stupid tactics?

Thank you Davy. You have made the right decision and we are grateful for that and all you have done for Clare hurling."
Very good post Lohan.

fair play to Davy indeed for his achievements and being pig headed and hanging in there. If the players don't want you, there is no pouint in sticking around.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/09/2016 14:41:34    1917472

Would love to see Anthony Daly get a crack at managing Clare's golden generation. He kept them competitive through some lean years and obviously coupled with his playing days I doubt anyone deserves the job more.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 21/09/2016 16:22:17    1917537