Congrats to Dublin

Great to get back into the game before halftime. Half our team are old lads. The juggernaut will probably have the legs on them in the second half. Ciarraí abú! :)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts:5034 - 28/08/2016 16:18:43

Congrats to the capital on making the final. It was a good contest.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7844 - 28/08/2016 17:18:31    1906962

real good game dublin showed why they are champions football at its best dont think mayo will trouble the dubs but heres hoping

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 28/08/2016 17:36:15    1906978

The only gripe with your post is "it was a good contest" it was a great contest Kerry were fantatsic in phases they have young great players and maybe the older ones that need to be replaced. But a great game none the less hard luck to kerry they gave it everything.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/08/2016 17:36:19    1906979

Replying To arock:  "The only gripe with your post is "it was a good contest" it was a great contest Kerry were fantatsic in phases they have young great players and maybe the older ones that need to be replaced. But a great game none the less hard luck to kerry they gave it everything."
Its going to be tough for Mayo .
No doubt about it.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 28/08/2016 17:55:06    1906997

Replying To legendzxix:  "Great to get back into the game before halftime. Half our team are old lads. The juggernaut will probably have the legs on them in the second half. Ciarraí abú! :)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts:5034 - 28/08/2016 16:18:43

Congrats to the capital on making the final. It was a good contest."
Winter well, my friend. :)

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 28/08/2016 18:23:00    1907025

I think, on balance, the better team won. They didn't play as well as they can, and talk of their having no weaknesses should be parked for a while... but... they did enough when they had to.

As for my crowd, the ref was a bit of an eejit but we lost simply because Croke Park in August is no paddock for old warriors. The slow arsed attempts to work it forward were awful. The future though offers hope, at long last.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 28/08/2016 18:31:57    1907033

Great game, really happy with the way Dublin dealt with the two f**k ups. Hard luck to Kerry who were excellent today.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 28/08/2016 18:32:35    1907036

The only gripe with your post...
arock (Dublin)

Hmmmm?!

Jaden (Dublin)

It'll be back to our county championship. Enjoy the buildup to the final. We'll winter well please God.

As for my crowd, the ref was a bit of an eejit but we lost simply because Croke Park in August is no paddock for old warriors. The slow arsed attempts to work it forward were awful. The future though offers hope, at long last.

plike (Kerry)

They know the currency on which they are judged. We're realistic enough at the same time of where we are. It was a brave effort by old warriors to try and make a third final on the trot.

Great game, really happy with the way Dublin dealt with the two f**k ups. Hard luck to Kerry who were excellent today.

realdub (Dublin)

Disappointing goals from ye're point of view. A bit like our goal against Donegal two years ago it was a result of applying pressure as well. Ye regrouped well at half time. Ye're response after halftime laid the ground work for later on in the contest.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7844 - 28/08/2016 19:04:18    1907064

Delighted with that result. It'll stand to us in 3 weeks time. Did get a bit nervy but the one thing our lads have is fight. Showed it last year when we went behind against Mayo and showed it again today. Hard luck Kerry. We'll see you again next year no doubt.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2016 19:07:09    1907066

Replying To legendzxix:  "The only gripe with your post...
arock (Dublin)

Hmmmm?!

Jaden (Dublin)

It'll be back to our county championship. Enjoy the buildup to the final. We'll winter well please God.

plike (Kerry)

They know the currency on which they are judged. We're realistic enough at the same time of where we are. It was a brave effort by old warriors to try and make a third final on the trot.

realdub (Dublin)

Disappointing goals from ye're point of view. A bit like our goal against Donegal two years ago it was a result of applying pressure as well. Ye regrouped well at half time. Ye're response after halftime laid the ground work for later on in the contest."
Sound man legendzxix

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 28/08/2016 19:19:24    1907076

Played well and would have been comfortable only for a few minutes of madness from Cluxton. He had a mare today.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 28/08/2016 19:24:26    1907082

Think in years to come this could be the game that confirms this Dublin side as a great team. To be a great team you have to win back-to-back All-Irelands and show resilience when really tested. Today Kerry threw everything they had at them and Dublin still found a way to win, that says a huge amount about their quality. If only we had more battles like that in the championship.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 28/08/2016 19:34:25    1907089

Great game.

Well done Dublin.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 28/08/2016 19:44:48    1907098

Hard luck Kerry. We'll see you again next year no doubt.

CroiGorm (Dublin)

Realistically we're looking at a year like 2012. If we do happen to meet ye'll continue the Indian sign over us. Over to Mayo and Tyrone for challengers. Enjoy the buildup!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7844 - 28/08/2016 20:06:25    1907108

Great result for Dublin. many teams would have folded after that nightmare last ten minutes of first half, but showed what a class outfit they are.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 28/08/2016 20:44:20    1907132

Super game today and well done Dublin indeed.No disgrace for Kerry in loosing to a super outfit.Cometh the hour , cometh the men!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/08/2016 21:19:38    1907167

That 4th region was the difference in the end

But we were up against a Kingdom so it balances out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/08/2016 23:42:19    1907236

Well done to Dublin, the showed great metal to recover in the second half, didn't think Kerrys second goal should have been allowed but anyway the best team won, I thought the Gooch played very well at times, he can fairly pass a ball and take a score,hope it's not the last we see of him.
Connolly kicked some fantastic points despite not having one of his better games,God help Mayo the next day if he is on top form, looking forward to the final but it's the Dubs for me, wouldn't surprise me if they canter home by 7 or 8 points..
Thought the ref was just ok, but he must have forgot the black card rule, the Tipp players must be sick looking at that when they had a good man black carded for next to nothing early in their game,
still though the best team won,hard luck to Kerry,great effort.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 28/08/2016 23:50:16    1907239

Indeed, well done to Dublin and best of luck for the final. Hugely entertaining game of football, although I couldn't enjoy it due to nerves. I'd take issue with anybody saying Kerry were gifted anything. Cluxton is a liability at this stage and it was clearly part of the gameplan to pressure him. Our poor discipline cost us dearly at the other end. You can't give away that many scorable frees and expect to get away with it. Dublin showed real character to get back into it and you'd expect them to carry that into the final and retain the title. Nobody will argue that they don't deserve it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/08/2016 02:30:34    1907263

Replying To Soma:  "Think in years to come this could be the game that confirms this Dublin side as a great team. To be a great team you have to win back-to-back All-Irelands and show resilience when really tested. Today Kerry threw everything they had at them and Dublin still found a way to win, that says a huge amount about their quality. If only we had more battles like that in the championship."
I didnt realize they had won back to back all irelands already? #greatteam

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 29/08/2016 07:48:50    1907280