7 in a row for Dublin!!!!!

Was just doing some research there and our clash with `Kerry will make it 7 consecutive appearances in All-Ireland semi-finals since 2010....Is that a record???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 09:23:14    1902582

I doubt it, but it depends if you're referring only to Dublin's AI record or wider ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 18/08/2016 10:08:22    1902607

Replying To avonali:  "Was just doing some research there and our clash with `Kerry will make it 7 consecutive appearances in All-Ireland semi-finals since 2010....Is that a record???"
Yes, it was pointed out after your quarter final that it's a Dublin record.

Kerry have done more I believe. Think they were in at least a semi final from 2000-2009 so that's 10 on the trot.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/08/2016 10:10:02    1902608

Replying To Knoxboya:  "I doubt it, but it depends if you're referring only to Dublin's AI record or wider ?"
Wider...I don't think any other team has done that...I stand corrected...who has a longer run than 7?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 10:10:59    1902609

Replying To avonali:  "Wider...I don't think any other team has done that...I stand corrected...who has a longer run than 7?"
Kerry, who else ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2016 10:19:51    1902615

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yes, it was pointed out after your quarter final that it's a Dublin record.

Kerry have done more I believe. Think they were in at least a semi final from 2000-2009 so that's 10 on the trot."
Must check that out. Thanks anyway.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/08/2016 10:22:49    1902618

Replying To avonali:  "Must check that out. Thanks anyway."
What's to check?

2000 Champions
2001 Lost semi final to Meath
2002 Lost final to Armagh
2003 Lost semi final to Tyrone
2004 Champions
2005 Lost final to Tyrone
2006 Champions
2007 Champions
2008 Lost final to Tyrone
2009 Champions

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/08/2016 10:51:01    1902637

Was just doing some research there and our clash with `Kerry will make it 7 consecutive appearances in All-Ireland semi-finals since 2010....Is that a record???
avonali (Dublin) - Posts:318 - 18/08/2016 09:23:14

Win many of those back to back?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/08/2016 10:59:54    1902642

A quick glance at Google confirms Kerry have twice won 8 Munsters in a row, and that's before the qualifiers.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 18/08/2016 14:28:54    1902782

Can I just say the back to back and all that craic can be a bit of bs imo, like the draw can be very kind to you, after we bet Donegal we could easily be playing Tipp now in the semi instead of Kerry but as usual we get the hard draws. But don't tell me we wouldn't be in another final if we'd to play Tipp. No disrespect to Tipp by the way but you's all know we'd hammer them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2016 15:43:28    1902832

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Can I just say the back to back and all that craic can be a bit of bs imo, like the draw can be very kind to you, after we bet Donegal we could easily be playing Tipp now in the semi instead of Kerry but as usual we get the hard draws. But don't tell me we wouldn't be in another final if we'd to play Tipp. No disrespect to Tipp by the way but you's all know we'd hammer them."
But ye will be in the Final anyway so what difference does it make - apart from the fact it's a 3 week break which is preferable to a 4 week break

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/08/2016 16:34:35    1902865

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Can I just say the back to back and all that craic can be a bit of bs imo, like the draw can be very kind to you, after we bet Donegal we could easily be playing Tipp now in the semi instead of Kerry but as usual we get the hard draws. But don't tell me we wouldn't be in another final if we'd to play Tipp. No disrespect to Tipp by the way but you's all know we'd hammer them."
The cudda, shudda, wuddas....just like 2014
Ye still haven't gotten over that one :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/08/2016 16:57:34    1902885

Replying To Superglue:  "The cudda, shudda, wuddas....just like 2014
Ye still haven't gotten over that one :-)"
I have. This year saw to that thanks be to josephine!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/08/2016 18:16:10    1902945

Replying To cavanman47:  "What's to check?

2000 Champions
2001 Lost semi final to Meath
2002 Lost final to Armagh
2003 Lost semi final to Tyrone
2004 Champions
2005 Lost final to Tyrone
2006 Champions
2007 Champions
2008 Lost final to Tyrone
2009 Champions"
Think I'm right in saying that Dublin's runs in each year to the semi were all unbeaten. Kerry lost about 3 Munster championship games during there run in the 00s I think. So Dublin have probably created a record in that there runs to semis were without defeat. That's just a guess but is that correct?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2016 22:12:30    1903019

Who wants to tell Dublin that the GAA was founded in 1884 and not 2010?

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 19/08/2016 08:30:25    1903074

Replying To Joxer:  "Think I'm right in saying that Dublin's runs in each year to the semi were all unbeaten. Kerry lost about 3 Munster championship games during there run in the 00s I think. So Dublin have probably created a record in that there runs to semis were without defeat. That's just a guess but is that correct?"
Prior to the qualifiers Kerry twice won Munster on 8 consecutive occasions: from both 1936 & 1958, and would therefore have appeared in AI semi finals on an unbeaten run.

Dublin's 7 in a row semi final run is therefore a provincial rather than AI record.

Through gritted teeth I must also acknowledge that in the 30s & 40s Cavan twice won 7 Ulsters in a row. (Some of us still in therapy as a consequence).

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 19/08/2016 09:19:17    1903083

Replying To Joxer:  "Think I'm right in saying that Dublin's runs in each year to the semi were all unbeaten. Kerry lost about 3 Munster championship games during there run in the 00s I think. So Dublin have probably created a record in that there runs to semis were without defeat. That's just a guess but is that correct?"
Didn't Meath win the 2010 championship?

OP is miles wrong anyway, it's been done 8 in a row by Kerry a couple times, Cavan did 2 7 in a rows as well in Ulster over a period of 15 years.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 19/08/2016 09:27:32    1903086

Replying To Jackeen:  "I have. This year saw to that thanks be to josephine!"
Ye haven't won this semi final yet for you to get over it :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 19/08/2016 10:24:28    1903105

Fairly meaningless considering Dublin may as well have a bye to the QF at this stage, and will have for the foreseeable future.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/08/2016 10:38:34    1903111

Replying To Superglue:  "Ye haven't won this semi final yet for you to get over it :-)"
No matter....beating donegal was chicken soup for the soul after 2014. Beating Kerry...well whilst always nice....doesn't quite hit the spot these days ;p

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/08/2016 10:46:16    1903117