Dubs to win Back to Back.. I just don't see it!

Hopefully this thread will be seen for what it is. An honest opinion.

The back to back: It's hard enough thing to do with a full squad available to you... as per Dublin 2014

Dublin had little or no injuries, all players available but still couldn't do it.

For me and I have stated this previously, Dublin have only been a couple of players better off compared to the chasing pack over the last number of seasons.

You can't just lose the likes of Rory and Jack, and for me that will show during the business end of things

Now you throw in the injury to James McCarthy (arguably Dublin's best player of 2016) and another vital cog to Dublin's defence is gone, there's no guarantees that he'll be available for the quarter final.

It's so bloody hard doing back to backs anyway, but just think about the calibre of player currently out for Dublin. All in the one vital area.

Again we haven't been that far ahead - take out Rory, Jack and now James... well enough said.

Unfortunately I just don't see it this year for Dublin

Not with that calibre of player unavailable

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/07/2016 14:07:16    1885524

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hopefully this thread will be seen for what it is. An honest opinion.

The back to back: It's hard enough thing to do with a full squad available to you... as per Dublin 2014

Dublin had little or no injuries, all players available but still couldn't do it.

For me and I have stated this previously, Dublin have only been a couple of players better off compared to the chasing pack over the last number of seasons.

You can't just lose the likes of Rory and Jack, and for me that will show during the business end of things

Now you throw in the injury to James McCarthy (arguably Dublin's best player of 2016) and another vital cog to Dublin's defence is gone, there's no guarantees that he'll be available for the quarter final.

It's so bloody hard doing back to backs anyway, but just think about the calibre of player currently out for Dublin. All in the one vital area.

Again we haven't been that far ahead - take out Rory, Jack and now James... well enough said.

Not with that calibre of player unavailable"
We'll just have to wait and see!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/07/2016 14:13:12    1885528

100% jumbo. It's Tyrones to lose at this point............what? :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 14:15:53    1885537

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hopefully this thread will be seen for what it is. An honest opinion.

I've said this previously and although I hope I'm wrong I havn't seen anything to suggest otherwise yet.
We are very unlikely to do back to backs as you cannot loose those two from your squad and expect to pick up the slack.
It's fine until you get to the business end and then the loss becomes more evident. No, don't see it happening .

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/07/2016 14:23:32    1885551

So if not Dublin Jimbob, Who do you think?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 18/07/2016 14:30:54    1885558

Can't wait to see KYTitletown's response to this thread! :)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/07/2016 14:34:04    1885562

It'll be either Kerry or Tyrone

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/07/2016 14:43:40    1885577

Totally agree, did you see the subs bench yesterday? It only had two defenders on it, Mick Fitzsimons and Darren Daly. Without ROC, McCaffrey and McCarthy we're threadbare at the back. Westmeath won every high ball into the Dublin area on Sunday and Cooper loses his man too often, he's no full-back. Michael Murphy or AOS will cause havok in there this year. Maybe even Star would too.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 18/07/2016 14:48:09    1885585

I think you're a bit harsh on the quality of your panel and whilst I agree losing the players you mention is tough I think there's more than enough cover on the bench. However back to backs is difficult and complacency and lack of tough matches in Leinster is your biggest problem.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/07/2016 14:49:22    1885587

So you're missing players and have to work with what you've got.

Do you not still think you have a much better 22/23 man team than Kerry, Tyrone, et al?

I agree that Dublin aren't as good as they were last year, but would argue that only Tyrone and Galway are better than they were last year and are still well behind Dublin. (Obv Clare, Tipp have improved but will not be in the mix).

The ONLY way I can possibly foresee Dublin not winning Sam is if they are beaten in the final by Tyrone in a game with a few "levellers" thrown in.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5020 - 18/07/2016 15:09:47    1885612

Look, there is no point in panicking. james mc will be back for the quarter final and if not we will just have to deal with it. We have a forward line that will take stopping with the first 6 backed up by another 3-4 quality players on the bench. Midfield is fine with a mix of fenton, mccauley and bastick. yes defence might not be as good as last year but we have to deal with this and hope that we have enough to get us through. It is not like the other teams don't have problems. We are the champions, are on an unreal winning sequence, have the know how in big games and we can mix it up so whilst there is no guarantee that we will out back to back, we have a damn good chance.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/07/2016 15:39:06    1885650

Having players out for various reasons happens to every team. We have lost Tom Cunniffe, Ger Caff and Jason Gibbons for the year. Chris Barrett has been unavailable so far and even if he does come back his fitness levels will be low. Tom Parsons missed the last two matches and now Kev Keane is injured. Only difference Dublin have a better squad than everyone else and can absorb these kind of losses. Still Dublins to lose.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 18/07/2016 16:04:19    1885677

Have to agree with you mate. I cant see an ALL Ireland with this back line. To vulnerable to the high ball and while we defend well in packs, i think we can be got at.

Better quality yesterday from West Meath and they could have racked up a score and had a couple of goals.

Also our path to meet Kerry in the Semi has a Bananna skin of a quaterfinal in the way, both Mayo and Donegal could easily do a job on us.

Kerry are roaring hot favourates for me this year, with the way the draw has panned out, its theirs to loose.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/07/2016 16:23:20    1885698

Cute hoorism at its worst.
Tyrone are not near dubs, Donegal are about to apply for their pensions, Kerry are terrified of dubs, mayo are falling further behind, the only county that may pose a problem is surprisingly Galway, who with their experience of winning and beating dubs at underage may stand to them.
But its dubs to loose unfortunately.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2016 16:35:01    1885713

Every county has their problems. We have no midfield at the moment with fitzy opting for Donaghy and Sheehan which must be the slowest in the country. Our two marquee forwards in O Donoghue and Gooch have injury problems. Our key players over the last few years are moving ever closer to pension age every summer that passes. We still cant decide on a keeper and if we get past our quarter final draw more then likely will go into the semi final facing Dublin with all these problems.

Dublin missing two backs when they have quality players ready to step in is nothing compared to the mammoth problems we have down here in the south west.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/07/2016 18:23:53    1885781

Firstly, Jim Gavin said James Mc will be back for the next game

Other teams dont have the luxury of having all star players in every position of the field and there is certainly no ROC on any other team or Jack Mc on nearly all other teams.

Furthermore, the replacements are hardly gonna be John Doe's they'd get on virtually any other team. Also it's not like ye are the only team with injuries. We have a lot of them including our best forward of the last 20 years and our one current superstar forward in JOD still recovering from a string of shoulder issues and we certainly don't have anywhere the same level of backup to fill in

If we look at the current betting markets , Dublin are priced at 5/6 with the rest of the field 9/2 or longer, which says it all really. Maybe if ye lose 4/5 of those superstar forwards ye'd be in sight but that is unlikely and nobody roots for an injury

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/07/2016 22:00:15    1885917

Replying To TheUsername:  "Have to agree with you mate. I cant see an ALL Ireland with this back line. To vulnerable to the high ball and while we defend well in packs, i think we can be got at.

Better quality yesterday from West Meath and they could have racked up a score and had a couple of goals.

Also our path to meet Kerry in the Semi has a Bananna skin of a quaterfinal in the way, both Mayo and Donegal could easily do a job on us.

Kerry are roaring hot favourates for me this year, with the way the draw has panned out, its theirs to loose."
Lads, lads , lads will ye stop with cute hoorism for Jaysus' sake!!!! It's unbecoming for us Dubs to indulge in that short of sh*t*. We are favourites and rightly so. Jamesy Mc will be alright. WE have the players and the ability to win the double. We have one of the best set of forwatds the game has ever seen. I am supremely confident we will do back to backs. Tyrone, Cork Kerry mayo.....I don't care who we get or when we get 'em...we will beat them...and beat them well.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/07/2016 22:27:07    1885934

Replying To royaldunne:  "Cute hoorism at its worst.
Tyrone are not near dubs, Donegal are about to apply for their pensions, Kerry are terrified of dubs, mayo are falling further behind, the only county that may pose a problem is surprisingly Galway, who with their experience of winning and beating dubs at underage may stand to them.
But its dubs to loose unfortunately."
Well said RD.

The Dubs will have us feeling sorry for them soon!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 18/07/2016 22:37:06    1885939

the amount of cute hoor squirming going on here on this thread is ridiculous. maybe the admin could create a separate page for you lads if this is your thing.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 18/07/2016 22:57:01    1885945

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Firstly, Jim Gavin said James Mc will be back for the next game

Other teams dont have the luxury of having all star players in every position of the field and there is certainly no ROC on any other team or Jack Mc on nearly all other teams.

Furthermore, the replacements are hardly gonna be John Doe's they'd get on virtually any other team. Also it's not like ye are the only team with injuries. We have a lot of them including our best forward of the last 20 years and our one current superstar forward in JOD still recovering from a string of shoulder issues and we certainly don't have anywhere the same level of backup to fill in

If we look at the current betting markets , Dublin are priced at 5/6 with the rest of the field 9/2 or longer, which says it all really. Maybe if ye lose 4/5 of those superstar forwards ye'd be in sight but that is unlikely and nobody roots for an injury"
Dublin do not band bottle anymore so the harder side of the draw will only make them stronger. I predict Dublin V Galway final

alidemora (Dublin) - Posts: 5 - 18/07/2016 23:14:04    1885955