Diarmuid O'Connor - What a brilliant young talent

Not only was Diarmuid on fire yesterday evening, he was absolutely blazing.
It was a privilege to watch such skill from a truly talented and humble young player. We thoroughly enjoyed each of his magnificent displays.
Diarmuid is an excellent example of the very best of Gaelic football.
He is quickly progressing to the stage where he can hold his own with that other great forward named Diarmuid (Connolly).
Well done Diarmuid and all of the Mayo lads. Ye were super last night.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 17/07/2016 15:45:56    1884712

Diarmuid O' Connor is an exceptional talent and is quickly becoming one of the best footballers in the country. Have followed his progress with the Mayo U 21s this year and he was phenomenal. He has a super engine too and is a game changer. Shoe in for YPOTY

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 17/07/2016 16:51:54    1884755

Superb player. In running for both player and young player of year.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 17/07/2016 17:38:06    1884792

He is an unbelievable talent. Both going forward and defending. It almost seems like he is jogging past players sometimes. Seeing how much better then players his pwn age at U-21s this year its frightening to think how good he could be.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 17/07/2016 19:04:52    1884889

Excellent player

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 17/07/2016 20:18:52    1884979

No doubt about it this guy is a class act, he's the main man now for Mayo his pace is frightening and as I've said before if his brother had the same pace as him Mayo would have won Sam by now. Going off topic but Cillian with frees out of his hands from the 50 yard line is unbelievable every time he gets it and he makes it look easy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/07/2016 21:08:51    1885031

Replying To clondalkindub:  "No doubt about it this guy is a class act, he's the main man now for Mayo his pace is frightening and as I've said before if his brother had the same pace as him Mayo would have won Sam by now. Going off topic but Cillian with frees out of his hands from the 50 yard line is unbelievable every time he gets it and he makes it look easy."
I often think that the lack of pace argument is overdone in Cilian's case. Ok, he doesn't have a blinding turn of speed, but neither does he often get beaten to the ball, due to his fine reading of the game. Diarmuid is a special talent whom we should be nurturing.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/07/2016 23:26:16    1885109

Moran must take a lot of credit bringing him into the game.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/07/2016 23:31:35    1885117

Great player, love watching him. Probably playing as well as anyone in the country at the moment.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 17/07/2016 23:38:37    1885134

It's crazy the improvement he's made over the winter. He's passed out Higgins, Keegan, 2 O'Sheas and Cillian in terms of importance to the team.

Someone told me he clocked 16.8 km in one of our league games. Sick.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 17/07/2016 23:45:48    1885139

An absolute joy to watch.

Himself and his brother are as good as it gets imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/07/2016 23:45:51    1885140

Replying To MesAmis:  "An absolute joy to watch.

Himself and his brother are as good as it gets imo."
They're a great football family- played against their two other brothers who are superb footballers at club level in Mayo as well.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/07/2016 00:12:34    1885159

Yeh.....great player and id say much more to come too if you could imagine that!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 00:39:46    1885168

Footballer of the Year material. One of the best young talents I've seen and will be absolutely crucial if Mayo are to win an All-Ireland. Steadily growing into Mayo's most important player.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 18/07/2016 08:49:44    1885214

Replying To GormlaighG:  "Not only was Diarmuid on fire yesterday evening, he was absolutely blazing.
It was a privilege to watch such skill from a truly talented and humble young player. We thoroughly enjoyed each of his magnificent displays.
Diarmuid is an excellent example of the very best of Gaelic football.
He is quickly progressing to the stage where he can hold his own with that other great forward named Diarmuid (Connolly).
Well done Diarmuid and all of the Mayo lads. Ye were super last night."
Totally agree - saw the highlights of Kildare game and I believe he is the most influential Mayo player at the moment and All Star/YPOTY cert if he continues playing the way he has. Great to see young talent like this coming through from all counties. Really impressed with some of the young Clare footballers also.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/07/2016 15:21:38    1885627

with players like this chap coming through, mayo will be competitive team , no doubt.
The promised land might not happen this year but our footballing structure will give us many more shots at it

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 18/07/2016 19:44:04    1885828

he is only in his second full year at senior
he stood out during league too
mayo have allways produced good footballers
no more than my own county galway too
im hoping that the strong underage talent in galway and mayo
will keep us firing for few years yet

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 18/07/2016 20:17:47    1885846

What a player and still u21. Carried the u21's to an All Ireland.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 19/07/2016 11:39:30    1886133

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "What a player and still u21. Carried the u21's to an All Ireland."
Was actually average in the u21 championship. They just have an excellent team

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/07/2016 12:15:53    1886160

Replying To TheMaster:  "Was actually average in the u21 championship. They just have an excellent team"
They did well to win an AI but I'm not expecting too many of that group to make the step up.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 19/07/2016 12:17:38    1886163