Great win for Wexford

Congratulations to Wexford....brilliant win and fully deserved! It would have been a travesty had Cork sneaked a late goal. Hope ye will go a long way.

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 09/07/2016 18:37:42    1879176

Fair play Wexford. delighted for ye.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 18:52:38    1879204

Yes. I agree. Congratulations to guys like Pinkie, Extranjero, Perfect 10 and other lads that post here. Wexford won because they were the better team on the day. We were at full strength. Confidence was high enough after winning last week. We just met a team that played better than us. We will regroup and try again next year.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/07/2016 18:54:11    1879206

Immense from Wexford. Delighted for them.

Commiserations to Cork.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/07/2016 18:56:32    1879210

Replying To bennybunny:  "Yes. I agree. Congratulations to guys like Pinkie, Extranjero, Perfect 10 and other lads that post here. Wexford won because they were the better team on the day. We were at full strength. Confidence was high enough after winning last week. We just met a team that played better than us. We will regroup and try again next year."
Beeny my friend there will be nothing tried from cork hurlers next year...there gone shocking bad...agreed and echoed upon by many of my cork friends and colleagues.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 09/07/2016 18:58:23    1879215

Brilliant for Wexford hurling.they were always a team I loved to watch

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1056 - 09/07/2016 19:29:21    1879252

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Beeny my friend there will be nothing tried from cork hurlers next year...there gone shocking bad...agreed and echoed upon by many of my cork friends and colleagues."
We are at a low level. No question. But to paraphrase Roy Keane, we are not going backpacking to Mexico. We will be enter the All Ireland championship and will try to win it. Best of luck to Waterford. There is no point in you worrying about Cork. Go and win an All Ireland for yourselves.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/07/2016 19:42:35    1879275

Replying To bennybunny:  "We are at a low level. No question. But to paraphrase Roy Keane, we are not going backpacking to Mexico. We will be enter the All Ireland championship and will try to win it. Best of luck to Waterford. There is no point in you worrying about Cork. Go and win an All Ireland for yourselves."
Never mind in a few years Cork will gradually work their way back. Meanwhile congrats Wexford, fine win. If we had one forward like Chin we might have beaten Clare

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 09/07/2016 22:34:47    1879618

I take absolutely nothing from this win for Wexford . They just went from being terrible to being poor and Cork went from being poor to being terrible. Having to wait 60 years to beat Cork in the championship for the first time since the 1956 A.I Final in the days of Ring and Rackards and to come away with this game with "whatever" instead of euphoria is a bit deflating.

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 10/07/2016 00:06:16    1879725

Replying To murrax:  "I take absolutely nothing from this win for Wexford . They just went from being terrible to being poor and Cork went from being poor to being terrible. Having to wait 60 years to beat Cork in the championship for the first time since the 1956 A.I Final in the days of Ring and Rackards and to come away with this game with "whatever" instead of euphoria is a bit deflating."
Very negative attitude to have. Were you happier last year when they were hammered by Cork or this year when they were hammered by Dublin? A win is a win and should always be celebrated and I am particularly pleased for the manager who has been subject to some awful abuse and unfair criticism

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 10/07/2016 09:01:54    1879784

Brilliant win for Wexford.I was at the game mysfelf and although the crowd wasn't great the Wexford folk were jumping for joy in finally putting Cork to the sword.50 years is a long time to beat one of your rivals.Fantastic victory.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/07/2016 09:30:07    1879797

fair play lads,i have great auld banter with the cork boys on here,bennybunny,etc.
i love when a big wexford win comes in front of only our most ardent supporters because while everybody else is at home watching on tv,those who care enough to sit in a car for 2.5 hours enjoy the drive home!

i got ate alive on another board for suggesting a full strength wexford team would beat cork but a half-strength team would not.thankfully i was wrong.
sometimes,injuries and lads away drinking pints bring out new leaders and that was the case in the past 2 games with this wexford team.paudie foley,david dunne,jack o connor i thought these lads really stood up.1 from an intermediate club(crossabeg-ballymurn),one from a junior club(davidstown),who says small clubs cant produce good hurlers! the other the son of an all-ireland medal winner in 1996(john o connor).and all 3 are 20-21-22.
these lads,along with chin,mcdonald and Liam Og who were immense took the game to cork.we are not the most stylish team but just like wexford teams of the 90's made up for it with effort and spirit.
we have a very young team,lots of inexperience and we made some poor mistakes which a better side would punish.but we stuck to the job at hand.i thought we were composed in the last 5 minutes.
i cant see us winning the quarter final but it gives us great hope for next year.progress in the right direction overall.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/07/2016 09:41:12    1879807

Replying To perfect10:  "fair play lads,i have great auld banter with the cork boys on here,bennybunny,etc.
i love when a big wexford win comes in front of only our most ardent supporters because while everybody else is at home watching on tv,those who care enough to sit in a car for 2.5 hours enjoy the drive home!

i got ate alive on another board for suggesting a full strength wexford team would beat cork but a half-strength team would not.thankfully i was wrong.
sometimes,injuries and lads away drinking pints bring out new leaders and that was the case in the past 2 games with this wexford team.paudie foley,david dunne,jack o connor i thought these lads really stood up.1 from an intermediate club(crossabeg-ballymurn),one from a junior club(davidstown),who says small clubs cant produce good hurlers! the other the son of an all-ireland medal winner in 1996(john o connor).and all 3 are 20-21-22.
these lads,along with chin,mcdonald and Liam Og who were immense took the game to cork.we are not the most stylish team but just like wexford teams of the 90's made up for it with effort and spirit.
we have a very young team,lots of inexperience and we made some poor mistakes which a better side would punish.but we stuck to the job at hand.i thought we were composed in the last 5 minutes.
i cant see us winning the quarter final but it gives us great hope for next year.progress in the right direction overall."
Sound lad,congrats on a great win.It made the trip worthwhile for me to see the Wexford celebrations at the final whistle.Delighted for Liam Dunne,also.The amount of criticism the man has had to take.Yesterday and the win over Offaly has given Wexford hurling a nice boost.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/07/2016 10:56:42    1879870

Well done Wexford! Delighted for ye.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 10/07/2016 11:10:21    1879880

Wexford were deserving winners and I am delighted for them. Great hurling people & in the numerous games I met up with them over the years, great sportspeople.
I honestly can't remember attending a game where Wexford beat us but I'm sure I must have but over the years enjoyed many a pint & great chat with Wexford fans and now that they have beaten us I send them my heartiest congratulations and best wishes for the quarter final.

As an earlier poster alluded Cork are indeed shocking and the chickens have well & truly come home to roost after decades of mismanagement & arrogance from a dictatorial out of touch County Board .

However that is for another day, the standard of hurling & intensity yesterday looked light years away from what, Kilkenny, Tipp & Waterford are producing and yes Wexford will be outsiders for the Quarter Final. Having said that you can only beat what's in front of you, Wexford did that yesterday and a win is a win, let the next day take care of itself.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 10/07/2016 14:40:40    1880036

Well done to Wexford yesterday on their powerful win yesterday against it must be said a ponderous and poor Cork outfit who did not seem to believe in themselves at all. Wexford fully deserved their win and were the better team all through except for about 6 minutes coming up to half time when Cork definitely put themselves back in the frame with a good spell.

Liam Dunne has had a very difficult few years but yesterday made up for the many disappointments when his team believed fully in their ability and went for the win start.
Cork hurling has not shown the ingredients that are required to win at the top table in recent years and I suppose it shows that JBM did get the most out of the players he had at that time.
But it is on to better things for Wexford, Great to have them back in the latter stages again. They have been too long away.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 10/07/2016 15:08:39    1880048

Well done to Wexford, Cork like a lot of hurling counties really have to rejuvenate their game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 10/07/2016 15:50:26    1880086

Replying To murrax:  "I take absolutely nothing from this win for Wexford . They just went from being terrible to being poor and Cork went from being poor to being terrible. Having to wait 60 years to beat Cork in the championship for the first time since the 1956 A.I Final in the days of Ring and Rackards and to come away with this game with "whatever" instead of euphoria is a bit deflating."
Good to see you getting behind Wexford... a deserved win and they are stil
getting in the neck from one of our own.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 10/07/2016 19:23:35    1880302

Replying To perfect10:  "fair play lads,i have great auld banter with the cork boys on here,bennybunny,etc.

i cant see us winning the quarter final but it gives us great hope for next year.progress in the right direction overall."
Congrats to Wexford on a great win. I was in limerick at MF today and it would not surprise me if they beat Waterford having seen the two teams at close quarters.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 10/07/2016 20:46:53    1880399

Replying To Jedobi:  "Good to see you getting behind Wexford... a deserved win and they are stil
getting in the neck from one of our own."
A good stinging criticism is sometimes in order to help a team improve, a good supporter will do it out of concern for their team . A lot of Wexford hurling struggles are systemic issues.

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 10/07/2016 21:50:44    1880459