AI Football Quarter-finals

With my own county through to the AI quarter-finals, I have been looking ahead. It's mad that there is only one Round 2 game played so far.

All-Ireland Quarter-finals:
Kerry v Galway/Roscommon/3A winner
Galway/Roscommon v Tipperary/3A winner
3A possibilities: Sligo, Clare/Laois, Derry/Meath or Cavan/Carlow.

Donegal/Tyrone v Dublin/Westmeath/3B winner
Dublin/Westmeath v Donegal/Tyrone/3B winner
3B possibilities: Mayo/Fermanagh, Monaghan/Longford, Kildare/Offaly, Limerick/Cork

All-Ireland Semi-finals:
Ulster Champions/Qualifier v Connaught Champions/Qualifier
Leinster Champions/Qualifier v Kerry/Qualifier

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 05/07/2016 21:56:36    1877035

Yeah not every team can play two division 3 sides and get into the last 8.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/07/2016 07:25:00    1877101

Fantastic road there for Galway or Roscommon to make a semi final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/07/2016 09:39:56    1877131

Replying To Wally:  "Yeah not every team can play two division 3 sides and get into the last 8."
Oh poo, Cork got themselves knocked out of Munster.

Who have Dublin ever played to win Leinster in the past decade?

The system is the system, so could you Ulster boys stop convincing yourself you'd have 30 All-Ireland if only you were somewhere else because you wouldn't!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2016 09:56:34    1877142

Replying To Wally:  "Yeah not every team can play two division 3 sides and get into the last 8."
Yawn!

Same old discussion. Congress is there for any motions of change. Ulster counties complaining when they are satisfied with Ulster finalists possibly being drawn in the preliminary round in the following year.

The qualifiers should see Ulster having 4 quarter-finalists. Competitive games are great ahead of the All-Ireland series. I would see Ulster counties having an advantage in that regard.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 06/07/2016 10:53:50    1877183

All depends on the draw, but I fancy ourselves to make a quarter final.
I think the loser of the Connaught final will make it also. (if we play them it'll be 50/50).

That would see us play the Connaught winner and Kerry play the Connaught runner-up.

I fancy Tyrone and Dublin to win their finals and be joined by Donegal and Monaghan/Mayo.

As I said, it all depends on the draw
The B side of the qualifiers will see at least 2 from Tyrone/Donegal/Cork/Mayo/Monaghan knocked out before the quarter finals

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 06/07/2016 11:04:03    1877193

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh poo, Cork got themselves knocked out of Munster.

The system is the system, so could you Ulster boys stop convincing yourself you'd have 30 All-Ireland if only you were somewhere else because you wouldn't!"
You should take a read of Dara O'Se's latest Irish Times column where he discusses how having a "handy route" is a major advantage that Kerry has over Ulster teams, it may enlighten you.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 06/07/2016 11:08:09    1877200

Replying To legendzxix:  "Yawn!

Same old discussion. Congress is there for any motions of change. Ulster counties complaining when they are satisfied with Ulster finalists possibly being drawn in the preliminary round in the following year.

The qualifiers should see Ulster having 4 quarter-finalists. Competitive games are great ahead of the All-Ireland series. I would see Ulster counties having an advantage in that regard."
"That's the major advantage Kerry have always had over the Ulster teams. I've often had people ask me would I not have preferred a few good, hard games early in the summer to prepare us for Croke Park. I'd sometimes nod along and agree that it was a good point they were making but in all honesty, I was usually trying very hard to keep a straight face through it all.
You want the truth? We couldn't have cared less how we got to Croke Park. The handier the route, the better. The system has always been stacked against the Ulster teams but you would never find us crying too many tears for them."

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 06/07/2016 11:22:40    1877207

The system is the system, so could you Ulster boys stop convincing yourself you'd have 30 All-Ireland if only you were somewhere else because you wouldn't!"
Not sure if my other reply was posted .

Hermit - who has suggested Donegal or Tyrone would have 30 All-Ireland's.

Do you's need to be told you's are the greatest all the time ?

Kerry would have walked through Ulstsr for the most part of our history but not anymore .

Tomas O Se doubted would his side have won back to backs up north .

Of course they wouldn't have as Tyrone didn't come close and Kerry couldn't beat Tyrone .

Dara has often said an easier route helps .
The Ulster final takes played two weeks after the Munster final - the losers are basically out as there is zero time to get prepared for like 3 games in 4 weeks .

Look Hermit - Kerry are not to blame for the 100th time .

Kerry would no doubt adapt to playing in a tough province but the current set up of playing D2 and D3 sides to get to the last 8 is a farce.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/07/2016 11:30:39    1877215

No we probably wouldn't but we would definitely feature in a lot more quarter finals/semi finals.

Ask yourself honestly though, do you think it is fair that one county has to play 2 games to reach the quarter finals (regardless of the quality of the opposition) and another team will have to play 4 games minimum to get to exactly the same place.

You can try to convince yourself all you want that 'it is what it is' but that does not change the fact that it is grossly unfair.

Now I know that this is not Kerry's fault or anyone within Munster for that matter but the GAA has to seriously look at this issue.

How can our premier competition be so flawed and uneven when more and more time, money and commitment is being pumped into the game.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/07/2016 11:38:30    1877221

Are Westmeath in the A or B side of the draw or is it an open draw if they lose v dublin?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/07/2016 11:46:35    1877228

Lads stop using Kerry as the stick to beat around about this.

It isn't our fault. As Legend said, Ulster county's have a chance every year at Congress to do something about it and you don't.

You also persist with a stupid unseeded system that means the current Ulster champions might be drawn in a preliminary round.

Ulster just so happens to have more counties that are around the same level as each other, that's why its tough for some of ye to get through it. Most of those counties would not be at the level of the Kerry's, the Dublin's etc so if Derry or Down were in Munster or Leinster they would be getting well beat.

Leave off the propaganda. I get really sick of all this guff about Ulster football.

Bar one or two matches a year its pretty poor stuff and ye know it is.

Give me Kerry v Cork any day!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2016 11:51:35    1877234

Replying To TheHermit:  "Lads stop using Kerry as the stick to beat around about this.

It isn't our fault. As Legend said, Ulster county's have a chance every year at Congress to do something about it and you don't.

You also persist with a stupid unseeded system that means the current Ulster champions might be drawn in a preliminary round.

Ulster just so happens to have more counties that are around the same level as each other, that's why its tough for some of ye to get through it. Most of those counties would not be at the level of the Kerry's, the Dublin's etc so if Derry or Down were in Munster or Leinster they would be getting well beat.

Leave off the propaganda. I get really sick of all this guff about Ulster football.

Give me Kerry v Cork any day!"
It's rather disappointing that you won't engage in a proper discussion .

Read my post again please and tell me where I have slated Kerry ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/07/2016 11:57:20    1877236

Replying To TheHermit:  "Lads stop using Kerry as the stick to beat around about this.

Give me Kerry v Cork any day!"
How long will you persist with this straw man nonsense? No one has said it's Kerry's fault, in fact multiple users have made sure to state they they don't think that Kerry are to blame for this.

Why do certain supporters find it so difficult to accept what is clear as day for everyone else. It's very strange really.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 06/07/2016 12:02:44    1877240

Jaysus hermit, the way the QFs are loaded we might not get to play ye at all this year.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 06/07/2016 12:04:10    1877242

Replying To Wally:  "No we probably wouldn't but we would definitely feature in a lot more quarter finals/semi finals.

Ask yourself honestly though, do you think it is fair that one county has to play 2 games to reach the quarter finals (regardless of the quality of the opposition) and another team will have to play 4 games minimum to get to exactly the same place.

You can try to convince yourself all you want that 'it is what it is' but that does not change the fact that it is grossly unfair.

Now I know that this is not Kerry's fault or anyone within Munster for that matter but the GAA has to seriously look at this issue.

How can our premier competition be so flawed and uneven when more and more time, money and commitment is being pumped into the game."
No team has to play "4 games minimum" to get to the quarter finals (with the exception, I think, of New York, unlikely as that may be to happen in the near future). It may work out that way depending on the draw, whether a team wins their province and whether there are replays etc. but it's not guaranteed.

Similarly, no team is guaranteed to only have to play 2 games to reach the quarters. This also depends on the draw and historical results.

I don't disagree that the draw is currently lopsided and not ideal but a bit of objectivity is required. I mean you could also make the argument that even in the "easier" provinces, the draw can be similarly as kind. For example, both Dublin and Tyrone have reached provincial finals by beating two division 2 sides (I appreciate that Dublin will face a division 3 side in the final while Tyrone will face a division 1 side). Roscommon, similarly, have reached their provincial final by beating a team who aren't in the league, a division 4 side and a division 3 side and are due to meet a division 2 side in the decider. I don't subscribe to this argument but cherry picking examples like this to suit an argument benefits no one when it comes to arguing a case for the best way forward.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/07/2016 12:18:51    1877249

Lads every week there's a topic about the Championship and its structure on here.

Why do some of you persist in saying the same old stuff, nothing is going to change until you get at your clubs and County Boards to start putting pressure for change.

The Championship is currently based on 4 provinces with an unequal amount of counties in each. That's just geography, Leinster and Ulster counties have to play more games in this system.

The Ulster Council does nothing to offer solutions, moreover it persists with an unseeded draw which is grossly unfair on those counties which have done well in your provincial Championship.

Legend and myself are making a simple point, if you think the system is unfair then the Ulster council has it in its own power to do a bit to ameliorate that by making sure that the provincial finalists from one year are given a bye, just as happens in Munster and Leinster.

The other point I was making is that whatever system you put in, the Kerry's of this world will more often than not come out on top.

To suggest there is some magic formula that will make the Waterford's, the Wicklow's the Antrim's and Leitrim's serious contenders is ludicrous.

In times past there would have been 3-4 Leinster teams in Division 1, these days Ulster happens to have more Division one teams. Its cyclical by its very nature.

Not too long ago Armagh played in 8 finals in 10 years, Donegal are in their sixth in a row, how competitive is Ulster really? As I said, if you lifted away all the guff and propaganda Ulster Championship football is a pretty poor product.

Ye have shaky ground to be standing on having a pop at the quality of the Munster championship IMO.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2016 12:24:00    1877253

Replying To realdub:  "Jaysus hermit, the way the QFs are loaded we might not get to play ye at all this year."
Big fish swimming around all right, and with the way Kerry are going at the moment I'd not be confident they'd jump the Q-final hurdle!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2016 12:25:14    1877254

What division where Derry & Cavan ?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 06/07/2016 12:36:03    1877259

Replying To westkerry:  "What division where Derry & Cavan ?"
Derry are division 2

Cavan have just been promoted to division 1

We will play Donegal in the final who are also divison 1

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/07/2016 12:49:14    1877262