The main thing that needs to change ? Mentality

Every day its something new in the media (Whether it be social media or publications) from fans, experts, pundits, journalists, players, or ex players regarding the state of gaelic football today. Its not competitive enough, Attendances are down, County X gets too much money compared to county B, County X has ruined the game because of how they play the game, Referee X made a howler the game should be replayed, Two, three, four, five, six tier championships, Seed these teams, unseed these teams. Its a constant circle of nonsense. Absolute nonsense.

Only in gaelic football can a team develop a different way of playing the sport, be successful for a few years, and suddenly every man, woman, child, cat, dog and bleedin goldfish wants rules brought in to stop a team playing this way because "boohoo we don't like It". Its pathetic.

I'm bored of reading the excuses from people about advantages and disadvantages. Gaelic football is in no way different to every other team sport, namely soccer. There will be teams in every sport who will go through periods of dominance in their history but instead of begrudging (typical trait of irishness I suppose) why don't people look up to them and try and emulate them.

We hear of all of these radical proposals to try and save the game, how about instead of thinking outside the box, We at least start by looking inside the box and change the whole mentality within the GAA. We have already seen Tipperary and Galway put in fantastic performances in their respective provincial campaigns so far, Cavan too. That's a start, You know what those 3 counties have in common ? They didn't go into the games beaten before they even turned up. There was a determination among the group of players. No fear. No trepidation. Just went for it and got their just rewards. And I don't think they've better players man for man than their opponents (Mayo, Tyrone and Cork). Sometimes it just takes a bit of bottle, heart and passion. That doesn't cost anything

Look at the Euros going on at the minute, And when you see teams like Iceland, with no professional teams, A population the same as Cork, beating a huge nation like England in a knockout European game, What excuse do say, Meath have for just giving in against the Dubs so easily with the minimum of fuss.. Or when you look at Wales, Northern Ireland and the republic of Ireland at least putting in big displays against better teams because they have mentality that they wont go out with a wimper. Japan when they beat South Africa in the 2015 RWC. We are miles too quick to look for excuses for our counties short-comings, Maybe if teams start focusin on the mindset of their players and people involved in football in the county instead of crying wolf about the other counties, they might start to rebuilding their houses that where blown down from all the huffing and puffing about the top 3 or 4 teams.

Donegal are the perfect example for a team who need to get over their wallowing in self pity. They came from rock bottom in 2010 to an all Ireland semi final in 2011, then a final and final victory in 2012. Mayo, despite their constant heart breaking defeats bounce back. It can be done. But this whole feeling sorry for youself that is stopping teams becoming more competitive at least. And sure once you become competitive, bums go back on seats, Players wanna play, renewed hope in a county etc. Meath hurlers are giving hurling in the county a timely boost.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/06/2016 21:59:02    1874047

Best post I've read here for a long time. Just compare our attitude to sportsmanship and fair play to the southern hemisphere Aussie Rules/Rugby etc.. The BS with Connolly and the DRA would be laughed out of town. If you are not good enough, work harder and if you are wrong, take your punishment. We need to stop moaning and looking for excuses outside your own environment until you have exhausted all avenues internally. From being great character building sports (football and hurling) providing great grounding for kids we are moving rapidly towards the soccer mentality, diving, mouthing off (all the time), cynicism, disrespect. Some great work being done in some counties, more need to buy in.

jimbo66 (UK) - Posts: 22 - 30/06/2016 09:17:11    1874113

Replying To waynoI:  "Every day its something new in the media (Whether it be social media or publications) from fans, experts, pundits, journalists, players, or ex players regarding the state of gaelic football today. Its not competitive enough, Attendances are down, County X gets too much money compared to county B, County X has ruined the game because of how they play the game, Referee X made a howler the game should be replayed, Two, three, four, five, six tier championships, Seed these teams, unseed these teams. Its a constant circle of nonsense. Absolute nonsense.

Only in gaelic football can a team develop a different way of playing the sport, be successful for a few years, and suddenly every man, woman, child, cat, dog and bleedin goldfish wants rules brought in to stop a team playing this way because "boohoo we don't like It". Its pathetic.

I'm bored of reading the excuses from people about advantages and disadvantages. Gaelic football is in no way different to every other team sport, namely soccer. There will be teams in every sport who will go through periods of dominance in their history but instead of begrudging (typical trait of irishness I suppose) why don't people look up to them and try and emulate them.

We hear of all of these radical proposals to try and save the game, how about instead of thinking outside the box, We at least start by looking inside the box and change the whole mentality within the GAA. We have already seen Tipperary and Galway put in fantastic performances in their respective provincial campaigns so far, Cavan too. That's a start, You know what those 3 counties have in common ? They didn't go into the games beaten before they even turned up. There was a determination among the group of players. No fear. No trepidation. Just went for it and got their just rewards. And I don't think they've better players man for man than their opponents (Mayo, Tyrone and Cork). Sometimes it just takes a bit of bottle, heart and passion. That doesn't cost anything

Look at the Euros going on at the minute, And when you see teams like Iceland, with no professional teams, A population the same as Cork, beating a huge nation like England in a knockout European game, What excuse do say, Meath have for just giving in against the Dubs so easily with the minimum of fuss.. Or when you look at Wales, Northern Ireland and the republic of Ireland at least putting in big displays against better teams because they have mentality that they wont go out with a wimper. Japan when they beat South Africa in the 2015 RWC. We are miles too quick to look for excuses for our counties short-comings, Maybe if teams start focusin on the mindset of their players and people involved in football in the county instead of crying wolf about the other counties, they might start to rebuilding their houses that where blown down from all the huffing and puffing about the top 3 or 4 teams.

Donegal are the perfect example for a team who need to get over their wallowing in self pity. They came from rock bottom in 2010 to an all Ireland semi final in 2011, then a final and final victory in 2012. Mayo, despite their constant heart breaking defeats bounce back. It can be done. But this whole feeling sorry for youself that is stopping teams becoming more competitive at least. And sure once you become competitive, bums go back on seats, Players wanna play, renewed hope in a county etc. Meath hurlers are giving hurling in the county a timely boost."
"Donegal are the perfect example for a team who need to get over their wallowing in self pity"-

Think u need to explain what exactly u mean by this????

Also with all due respect it is extremely easy for u to dismiss the fact that advantages in sport are not a genuine reason for not competing - when you come from a world where there is a complete un-balanced and un-fair advantage tilted towards Dublin.......

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/06/2016 09:42:35    1874122

Meath don't have an excuse for giving up in the second half against Dublin, but you could hardly say it's a surprise, it's been a very common trait under O'Dowd's management.

But of course to pin the blame solely on him would be ridiculous of course, the problems with Meath football are long standing and run far deeper. We've been running a poor club champsionship (against the advice of Boylan, who passionately opposed it over a decade ago) for years now, neglected underage, got rid of O'Brien who was a good manager, reappointed a poor manager in O'Dowd without a club vote, we're only talking about hiring a full time strength and conditioning coach this year etc etc etc

Is it any wonder football is knackered in this county, we're actually probably overachieving by staying in Division 2 given the appalling mismanagement of the last 15+ years!

But I take the points being made in your post wayno, you do need to put in the work to be able to compete and excuses aren't the way forward. Money and population can be a huge help if utilised correctly though, there's no denying that!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/06/2016 10:21:53    1874138

There is no point in going on about mentality when you should be talking about inequality.

The clear inequality of the championship structure is the main issue. The numbers of counties in each province is lopsided. The standards in each province vary widely.

Also soccer and the GAA are not comparable it is extremely difficult to grind out a result as Donegal proved. Even they could not win a game 0-2 0-1 or 0-0. So that comparison is miles off for a start.

There also is a further inequality that there is no home and away fixtures in league and championship. It is ridiculous that there are no reverse fixtures until the following year in the league.

It is not the players mentality that has to change, but the GAAs mentality of unwillingness to change.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 30/06/2016 15:11:59    1874309

Your wasting your time wayno
As you can see from the first few responses it's the typical modern day irish mentality. We are small it's unfair it's great to see the underdog win bla bla bla.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/06/2016 15:38:59    1874322

Eunans4ever he was giving Donegal credit coming from no hopers to believing they were good enough and succeeding.
people on here always get so defensive without reading something properly

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/06/2016 15:41:06    1874324

Laois beat Dublin in 2003 and that was at a time when Dublin only won one Leinster in nine years. As I keep posting (most posts blocked), the Dubs were heavily funded from 2004 onwards. Look at the improvement in hurling and football since then. The way Dubs fans talk, you did it all on your own, but the simple fact is you've had millions more to spend on your one team, that the rest of the country had on 31 teams.

Anyway, I digress somewhat.

Despite their size and tradition, Dublin had to be broken and remoulded, as Clare in 95 and Wexford in 96 were. They were losers on the bigger stage, but Gilroy changed that. I'd love to know what he did, but it certainly worked. You'd wonder though, if Dublin hadn't fluked the win in 2011, as they did, would we be talking about them at all?

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 30/06/2016 16:18:56    1874346

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Eunans4ever he was giving Donegal credit coming from no hopers to believing they were good enough and succeeding.
people on here always get so defensive without reading something properly"
how is calling us no hopers giving us credit??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/06/2016 16:39:00    1874358

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "There is no point in going on about mentality when you should be talking about inequality.

The clear inequality of the championship structure is the main issue. The numbers of counties in each province is lopsided. The standards in each province vary widely.

Also soccer and the GAA are not comparable it is extremely difficult to grind out a result as Donegal proved. Even they could not win a game 0-2 0-1 or 0-0. So that comparison is miles off for a start.

There also is a further inequality that there is no home and away fixtures in league and championship. It is ridiculous that there are no reverse fixtures until the following year in the league.

It is not the players mentality that has to change, but the GAAs mentality of unwillingness to change."
Sly dig- i watched the jacks play 14 men behind the ball in both league games against us this year in croker...

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/06/2016 16:40:07    1874361

Replying To Cully:  "Laois beat Dublin in 2003 and that was at a time when Dublin only won one Leinster in nine years. As I keep posting (most posts blocked), the Dubs were heavily funded from 2004 onwards. Look at the improvement in hurling and football since then. The way Dubs fans talk, you did it all on your own, but the simple fact is you've had millions more to spend on your one team, that the rest of the country had on 31 teams.

Anyway, I digress somewhat.

Despite their size and tradition, Dublin had to be broken and remoulded, as Clare in 95 and Wexford in 96 were. They were losers on the bigger stage, but Gilroy changed that. I'd love to know what he did, but it certainly worked. You'd wonder though, if Dublin hadn't fluked the win in 2011, as they did, would we be talking about them at all?"
It was inevitable Cully

I was furious after that game in 2011 and it still rankles but the truth is the investment which began in 2005 allied to the huge population was designed to create waves of great young players coming through.

The only problem is the project has been too successful, the GAA didn't foresee the Juggernaut the Dublin footballers would and have become and the problem now is what to do. Do you break Dublin up into 3/4 teams or do you somehow put huge investment into the other teams? Or bring in expenditure caps?

There is no easy and obvious solution as each of those actions would have massive consequences, what I do know is doing nothing about the situation will be terminal to the long term future of the Football Championship as players are walking away at an alarming rate and attendances are falling rapidly as we speak

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 30/06/2016 16:59:39    1874384

I don't think any player goes out with excuses or not wanting to win.

I think managers aren't necessarily the same. Probably worried about the reputational damage a heavy defeat can cause.

I love the game. When I discuss problems I do it thinking that I'd like the game to continue to improve and grow. I'm not coming on these forums looking to give out excuses or to knock others achievements. I think it's healthy though to be critical of yourself so as not to get complacent.

There are definitely problems in the association that need addressed.

The most important thing though is the games and I look forward to some hard battles on the horizon.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 30/06/2016 17:04:59    1874388

Replying To eunans4ever:  "how is calling us no hopers giving us credit??"
Eunan I'm reading JMcGs book at the minute,
The man himself agrees with Hillman.

Constantly refers back to where he'd brought them from in losing to Longford in 2010

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 30/06/2016 17:31:44    1874400

The only attitude that matters is the players, no one else's really counts a jot least of all bloody fans. Iceland know their shortcomings and use it as a strenght, but I wouldn't dismiss their ability either. England were p1ss poor, Iceland just showed them no respect but equating that with Louth et all is a real stretch. Can I see counties like Fermanagh/Leitrim et all doing this? Yes if they have the belief but they have to have the players - but if the players are on J1's or don't want to play these counties are really screwed. It is not negativity if it is the reality and sticking your head up your rear end is no answer either.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 30/06/2016 18:53:40    1874427

Replying To eunans4ever:  "how is calling us no hopers giving us credit??"
Because jim mcguinness changed the attitude of the players from being no hopers to believing in themselves he said that himself that was the first thing needed when he took over the job was to change the culture within the county set up.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/06/2016 21:27:58    1874466

Excellent post wayno.

I have made the same points here on many occasions but I'm afraid it will go over the heads of many who would see the reasons for their own failure everywhere except with themselves.

Now, I'm not saying for one minute that everything is perfect in the GAA garden, it isn't. There are certainly things that could be done in a more equitable manner in the area of funding for example, but as the examples you have shown demonstrate, a lot of control lies n your own hands.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/06/2016 21:52:48    1874475

Maybe the reason every is giving out every day of the week is because we're in the middle of our premier competition and there's hardly a decent game to show for it!

Its a depressing situation - Personally, I'm just looking forward to the semi finals. Thank God for the Euro's

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/06/2016 21:55:42    1874476

Ban the euros have been dire
another woeful game tonight that needed penalties to liven it.
nobody put a the boot into it though

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/06/2016 22:59:20    1874487

Replying To eunans4ever:  ""Donegal are the perfect example for a team who need to get over their wallowing in self pity"-

Think u need to explain what exactly u mean by this????

Also with all due respect it is extremely easy for u to dismiss the fact that advantages in sport are not a genuine reason for not competing - when you come from a world where there is a complete un-balanced and un-fair advantage tilted towards Dublin......."
My god I cant believe this needs explaining.

In 2010, They lost to Down in the Ulster QF, and were knocked out of the qualifiers in R1 after being smashed by Armagh.

At that point Donegal where miles from dining at the top table. But only 12 months later with Jim McGuinness and a proper mentality, Donegal as a team got to the all Ireland semi final and almost got over Dublin.

The following year they won the all Ireland.

My point being, in 2 years a team went from getting knocked out of the championships in R1 of the qualifiers, to winning the all Ireland. Therefore turning a county of no hopers going nowhere, into champions and the best team in the country

If you cant see I'm complimenting you then god love you and your insecurities.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2016 08:13:37    1874511

Wayno.

If I may add to your excellent post...

Life in general is full of people who waste energy in complaining - take nearly any political discussion for example. "All politicians are corrupt" / "typical Ireland" etc. Chances are, the people complaining the loudest are those who don't get involved in their communities and don't believe they can contribute to positive change.

The GAA is no different.

The starting point for real discussion should be an acknowledgement that it is arguably the most phenomenal sporting and community organisation in the world! Facilities and involvement in urban and rural communities in every corner of the country, 140 years of developing our indigenous games that are wonderful sports to play in and watch. And all of this without any international outlet. The GAA is on a par with any UNESCO world heritage award recipient!

There are countless areas for improvement within the GAA, evolving rules, club player isolation, inequality in structures etc. But work on these from a starting point of being proud of what your organisation, and indeed country, has achieved and what it stands for.

Most keyboard warriors see their glass as being half empty, thank God for those who stay positive! (Is that catchphrase offending anyone living in a secular country?!).

Good man Wayno, keep her lit.

1914 (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 01/07/2016 09:39:43    1874534