Dublin's fitness

We keep hearing about Dublin being so fit. And they are super fit men.

Yesterday Meath struggled to keep up with them. Other teams have struggled in the past too.

But Why ?

What are Dublin doing that others aren't ? Or what are the others failing to do that Dublin have perfected.

I'm sure a lot of teams have dietitians and nutrionists on board. And for those that don't, Surely its not as simple as Dublin having them and others not having them that has the gulf in fitness so big ?

I read on the Meath forum in the build up to the Dublin or Louth game not sure which, that Meath where ferocious in their training. Is it over-training at this time of year ? Surely it should be light enough and the heavy work should be done in the winter and spring in preparation for the summer.

Whats the deal

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 12:39:29    1872697

Replying To waynoI:  "We keep hearing about Dublin being so fit. And they are super fit men.

Yesterday Meath struggled to keep up with them. Other teams have struggled in the past too.

But Why ?

What are Dublin doing that others aren't ? Or what are the others failing to do that Dublin have perfected.

I'm sure a lot of teams have dietitians and nutrionists on board. And for those that don't, Surely its not as simple as Dublin having them and others not having them that has the gulf in fitness so big ?

I read on the Meath forum in the build up to the Dublin or Louth game not sure which, that Meath where ferocious in their training. Is it over-training at this time of year ? Surely it should be light enough and the heavy work should be done in the winter and spring in preparation for the summer.

Whats the deal"
Mayo always keep pace with them but don't quite have the same quality. I would say Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone and Monaghan are right up there as well. Meath looked way off the pace alright. Dublin have brilliant movement and runners coming at the perfect time which can also make the gaps in fitness look even bigger. That along with average teams dropping their heads when the game is up can also make gaps appear bigger. Very little in fitness difference between the top 4 or 5.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 27/06/2016 12:49:15    1872708

To be honest, it could be any number of things.

I don't necessarily think Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone, Cavan, Kerry, Mayo, Roscommon, and a few more are any less fit than Dublin.

That's not to say they won't tire in the last 10-15mins of a game against Dublin and the reason for that is more down to the fact that they will have had less possession and spent more time chasing shadows due to Dublin's ability to keep possession for long periods (Brolly mentioned Dublin keeping possession in the middle third yesterday for over 2 minutes without a tackle coming in - you can be sure Meath weren't standing still and were covering ground and second guessing Dublin runs which over 70mins is energy sapping).

Right now, Dublin have the best man-for-man team (and by team, I mean 20 players) in the country. That will see them dominate possession against 90% of teams and pull away in the closing stages. It's 100 times easier to make the effort to run with the ball than without it!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 27/06/2016 12:56:21    1872713

Replying To cavanman47:  "To be honest, it could be any number of things.

I don't necessarily think Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone, Cavan, Kerry, Mayo, Roscommon, and a few more are any less fit than Dublin.

That's not to say they won't tire in the last 10-15mins of a game against Dublin and the reason for that is more down to the fact that they will have had less possession and spent more time chasing shadows due to Dublin's ability to keep possession for long periods (Brolly mentioned Dublin keeping possession in the middle third yesterday for over 2 minutes without a tackle coming in - you can be sure Meath weren't standing still and were covering ground and second guessing Dublin runs which over 70mins is energy sapping).

Right now, Dublin have the best man-for-man team (and by team, I mean 20 players) in the country. That will see them dominate possession against 90% of teams and pull away in the closing stages. It's 100 times easier to make the effort to run with the ball than without it!"
Decent post that :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 13:19:57    1872742

One advantage i believe Dublin have is nutrition. I believe they use a company that delivers the players their meals every day. A lot of athletes do this. They get the exact portions containing exactly the right blend of whatever they are meant to get. And, as it is done by proper chefs it is probably tasty! The former UFC fighter Cathal Pendrent said previously that when the service became available in Dublin it changed his career.

This is not just after training meals, it is everything.

This is obviously expensive, but no bother to Dublin county board.

I'd say this is a huge advantage. Apart from the nutritional side it saves players time every day.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 27/06/2016 13:22:21    1872745

Replying To waynoI:  "We keep hearing about Dublin being so fit. And they are super fit men.

But Why ?

Whats the deal"
Meath are not fit,I have seen this over the last 4 years.They struggle often for fitness against teams that are of a lesser quality than Meath.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 13:33:57    1872751

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Meath are not fit,I have seen this over the last 4 years.They struggle often for fitness against teams that are of a lesser quality than Meath."
Why though?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 13:48:02    1872758

more time spent on flexibility and mobility and less time on doing weights
it also helps that they have some very good footballers

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 27/06/2016 14:08:58    1872772

Replying To waynoI:  "Why though?"
I really don't know,but it is surely not good enough.Perhaps they are training too hard.Whatever the reason if you cannot get a team fit enough to go the distance what is the point?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 14:23:41    1872785

Meath unfit: Westmeath last year and Tyrone ran out of steam. Cavan in league this year also Galway game plus yesterday.

I think the diet side is huge, dublin have that advantage with meals being supplied.

222 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 27/06/2016 14:27:18    1872788

Replying To 222:  "Meath unfit: Westmeath last year and Tyrone ran out of steam. Cavan in league this year also Galway game plus yesterday.

I think the diet side is huge, dublin have that advantage with meals being supplied."
year before we ran out of steam in a lot of games too..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 14:40:46    1872793

even Louth looked a fitter team than us this year too..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 14:42:19    1872794

Good diet is definitely one factor. I didn't realise that the players got looked after so well - fair play if you can afford it. So while most Counties are like your car driver up in and around the border filling up with the local diesel (your car will drive, you'll get miles out of it but the performance of the engine isn't the same and you are likely to need to replace your car a lot quicker) the Dubs are filling up with with yer premium High Octane fuel. Time to split Dublin in 5 and force them to use Honest Slabs Dietary Supplies - all your nutritional needs looked after in one tasty bar.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/06/2016 14:48:00    1872800

I think with Dublin maybe its a couple of things:

a. spread of workload when you have such a good team and panel. You can work in bursts as someone will take up the workload. So its not the same guys running all the time. Looking a Johnny Cooper running everywhere yesterday, whilst Phily stayed back. Next day its reversed.

b. the fitness training's are more tailored to the individually rather than 30 guys doing laps.

c. it is easier to run when you are having fun playing attacking football. I get the feeling this Dublin team enjoy themselves hence they make things look easier and will track back more willingly as they know they have free licence to attack when they have the ball.

d. lastly its mental. They believe in what they are doing, that they can beat anyone and this is a huge help when it comes to putting in the 'effort' on the pitch

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 27/06/2016 14:56:57    1872804

Replying To Mayonman:  "One advantage i believe Dublin have is nutrition. I believe they use a company that delivers the players their meals every day. A lot of athletes do this. They get the exact portions containing exactly the right blend of whatever they are meant to get. And, as it is done by proper chefs it is probably tasty! The former UFC fighter Cathal Pendrent said previously that when the service became available in Dublin it changed his career.

I'd say this is a huge advantage. Apart from the nutritional side it saves players time every day."
Do you have a link to that article about Dublin players getting meals delivered? Or did you hear that story down the pub??

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 27/06/2016 15:13:47    1872817

Replying To Gael85:  "Do you have a link to that article about Dublin players getting meals delivered? Or did you hear that story down the pub??"
down the pub of course!

can't remember to be honest where i heard it. it's not a criticism! i have to say i love watching this dublin team. apart from the skill set they have some athletic ability.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 27/06/2016 15:50:15    1872860

Wayno

Just a stat about Meaths last 8 championship games..

Now this covers the last 3 seasons and Mick O'Dowd is now in his 4th.

Meath have been outscored in all of their last 8 championship games in the second half.

Dublin(twice),Tyrone,Armagh,Wicklow,Kildare,Westmeath and Louth.

Now 5 of those teams are either on Meaths level or below.

As I said before the least he could do is get the team fecking fit!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 16:21:55    1872886

Replying To Mayonman:  "One advantage i believe Dublin have is nutrition. I believe they use a company that delivers the players their meals every day. A lot of athletes do this. They get the exact portions containing exactly the right blend of whatever they are meant to get. And, as it is done by proper chefs it is probably tasty! The former UFC fighter Cathal Pendrent said previously that when the service became available in Dublin it changed his career.

I'd say this is a huge advantage. Apart from the nutritional side it saves players time every day."
The recepie for this post is one dollop of bullshi7 two spoonfuls of garbage .
My son at matches , and when down the country gets this gourmet grub your taking about , guess what it's a wrap , it's a bottle of water and some fruit , have you seen the company delivering the food ? if you did you'd realise how far away from Michelin Star cuisine it actually is , my own son prefers to bring his own packed lunch.
Oh and yes I've seen other squads get fed on my travels .
On food my son was given a booklet on nutrition, about 10 pages long , we read it and after that it was up to him to follow it , it was up to me and his mother to pay for it. It's basic and could be gotten easily off the internet eats nuts not biscuits , et etc
People are reaching as there has to be a reason the dubs are doing so well , could it be feille winning teams at under 14 beating teams all over the place none of which have a gym programme none of which have a nutrition programme , just good players .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/06/2016 16:22:30    1872887

One advantage i believe Dublin have is nutrition. I believe they use a company that delivers the players their meals every day. A lot of athletes do this. They get the exact portions containing exactly the right blend of whatever they are meant to get. And, as it is done by proper chefs it is probably tasty! The former UFC fighter Cathal Pendrent said previously that when the service became available in Dublin it changed his career.

I'd say this is a huge advantage. Apart from the nutritional side it saves players time every day.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts:109 - 27/06/2016 13:22:21 1

I think Mayo had something similar under James Horan.
Think they spoke about it on off the ball one evening.
Each player had a specific meal plan as you'd expect but that changed depending on situation.
If say a player was 30 mins late for training, then their post training meal was altered to factor in this.
All these scenarios were taken into account....or maybe they got the dinner taken off them if they were late

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/06/2016 16:34:52    1872897

The average senior club player in Dublin is very fit , Dublin have been very competitive at club level come 17 March etc over the last few years , when there is that environment at both club level and county your going to have fit lads , truth is we are good at holding the ball that allows us to pull teams side to side which eventually takes its toll , from an early age your are allways thought it's an easier game to play with the ball than chasing the ball.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/06/2016 16:35:38    1872898