Are Dublin's titles as noteworthy?

With the well documented list of advantages Dublin have over everyone else, do people place as much value their recent domination of football as say Kerry of the 80s or 00s? Or Kilkenny? etc etc

I have to admit, I don't. Fair play to them, they are winning games and titles and whatever else is put in front of them, but for me anyway, because of the laughable advantages they have over everyone else, their achievements simply don't measure up to those I have mentioned above, or indeed galway in the 60s, etc etc. In fact, short of winning ten times what others have won, I don't think they ever can measure up, which is probably tough on the actual players involved, many of which are exceptional talents, but then Id argue, far less tough than what the raft of exceptional talents up and down the country who don't get everything loaded in their favour all the time, have to face into.

That is just the way I feel on it, and I think it is justified. Im curious as to what others think on the topic, and not really bothered about the raft of guys who will undoubtedly peddle this waffle that I think this way because I don't like the county itself. Hopefully the genuine point of the thread wont be lowered to that level, as it is an noteworthy debate.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/04/2016 15:51:16    1849280

Memo to all HS Dubs. Ignore this thread. Do not feed the troll.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/04/2016 16:09:03    1849294

Master, are you Ewan McKenna perchance?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/04/2016 16:09:05    1849295

Master I think you are being very unfair on Dublin and indeed you do seem to have an issue with them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 25/04/2016 16:14:46    1849301

Themaster

I have seen you state that it's impossible to match up teams / players from different era's and call them or him the greatest ever

Yet you're doing it here... taking a period 50 years ago when the demand's were far less and Ireland was a completely different country.

You are even matching up hurling v football above.. two very different sets of variable's that you cant put side by side

You are entitled to ask the question and it should be debated properly but you appear to be contradicting yourself straight away, and I'm just using your own logic above.

Not an ideal start for worthy debate.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 16:15:11    1849302

Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering.

It's going to be ok mate. Hang in there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/04/2016 16:19:25    1849307

Ah here Master, you're just inviting ridicule on to us at this stage. Dublin are the best team in the country and deserve their success, irrespective of some the advantages they may hold over other counties. Football is and always has been about ball in net and ball over the bar, and no amount of money, favourable travelling arrangements etc. will help you do that if you're not good enough on the big day.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/04/2016 16:20:39    1849309

Ah Master, are you trolling at this stage? For what it's worth, I think Dublin are a great team but on the other hand the chasing pack are weaker than ever. And while Dublin have the upper hand over other counties, they are not unbeatable. Time for other counties to get their house in order and while I agree the money available to Dublin makes it easier, they are not breeding footballers, they are providing superb coaching from an early age, that can be replicated, maybe not in the same numbers but other counties will come again.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7895 - 25/04/2016 16:20:54    1849310

Dublin's successes are as valid an anyone elses because you have to win them on the pitch and they did that. Your other points about unfairness and inequality are right. The GAA are creating a hierarchy and elitist Association with their special treatment of Dublin. This is ALL about economics. So long as the Dublin cash cow keeps producing golden milk Croke Park don't give a monkey's about the rest. It's George Orwell's ANIMAL FARM where ALL counties are equal.......but some are MORE equal than others.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 25/04/2016 16:21:34    1849313

Ah here Master, you're just inviting ridicule on to us at this stage.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts:686 - 25/04/2016 16:20:39

Don't worry Gleebo, we won't tar all Mayo fans with the same brush! He's nothing but a troll.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 25/04/2016 16:26:00    1849319

Themaster

I have seen you state that it's impossible to match up teams / players from different era's and call them or him the greatest ever

Yet you're doing it here... taking a period 50 years ago when the demand's were far less and Ireland was a completely different country.

You are even matching up hurling v football above.. two very different sets of variable's that you cant put side by side

You are entitled to ask the question and it should be debated properly but you appear to be contradicting yourself straight away, and I'm just using your own logic above.

Not an ideal start for worthy debate.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 16:30:32    1849322

I don't think there's going to be much notable debate on this thread themaster...

As I said above

You are entitled to ask the question, but your motives as have already been stated by your fellow county men I might add... unfortunately look very disingenuous and really you only have yourself to blame for that

Dublin def have advantages - advantages they always had, and will always have.

The GAA isn't fair. It has never been fair.

Ireland isn't fair, rural migration isn't fair, lack of adequate infrastructure in rural Ireland isn't fair, and this problem leads directly to the imbalance seen in the GAA and those issues are only going to get worse.

The GAA is looking at how to redistribute central coffer funding but don't expect any miracles

The GAA is basically setup as a mirror image to how Ireland operates...

As such... well, that's not a level playing field and it never has been.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 16:42:51    1849341

Really Master, I'm shocked you'd feel this way!

I can't believe you haven't said anything about this before.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/04/2016 17:08:51    1849364

Memo to all HS Dubs. Ignore this thread. Do not feed the troll.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6602 - 25/04/2016 16:09:03 1849294

________

Liam

You have a point but it's also possible to debate the issue and not have to go OTT

You are more than capable of picking holes in this but I totally get your point

I would echo your sentiments

Fellow Dubs... don't rise to the bait and use your head

I mean we have themaster looking to compare teams from different era's.. when I have seen him debate that you cant compare teams or players from different era's because of various reasons that he himself discussed

He then uses there achievements to denounce Dublin's own modern achievements...

Bringing up a Galway team nearly 60 years ago - just straight away contradicts his own sentiments

I mean... straight away... Blatantly Contradicting himself and then having a pre-emptive pop at posters who themaster feels will not properly "Debate" this issue is quite laughable...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 17:14:08    1849368

Begone begrudger
Lavish praise on us or go a

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 25/04/2016 17:58:45    1849387

As I was about to say
Lavish praise on us or go into the bitter box where you came from :)

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 25/04/2016 18:01:02    1849388

Mayos provincial titles mustnt could for much either so!

Classic TheMaster........

To quote Liam Brady from an Apres Match sketch "He's talking through his hoop Bill"

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 25/04/2016 18:06:15    1849390

Master I think you are being very unfair on Dublin and indeed you do seem to have an issue with them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - 25/04/2016 16:14:46

I'm glad it's not just me that sees it.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/04/2016 18:18:52    1849399

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:15440 - 25/04/2016 15:51:16
With the well documented list of advantages Dublin have over everyone else, do people place as much value their recent domination of football as say Kerry of the 80s or 00s? Or Kilkenny? etc etc
I have to admit, I don't. Fair play to them, they are winning games and titles and whatever else is put in front of them, but for me anyway, because of the laughable advantages they have over everyone else, their achievements simply don't measure up to those I have mentioned above, or indeed galway in the 60s, etc etc. In fact, short of winning ten times what others have won, I don't think they ever can measure up, which is probably tough on the actual players involved, many of which are exceptional talents, but then Id argue, far less tough than what the raft of exceptional talents up and down the country who don't get everything loaded in their favour all the time, have to face into.
That is just the way I feel on it, and I think it is justified. Im curious as to what others think on the topic, and not really bothered about the raft of guys who will undoubtedly peddle this waffle that I think this way because I don't like the county itself. Hopefully the genuine point of the thread wont be lowered to that level, as it is an noteworthy debate.
They have a bigger population. Their county is predominantly urban based. That alone significantly helps them. Their domination should be valued as highly as the Kerrys of 80s/Kilkenny of 00s etc. The "laughable advantages" they have are due to their population primarily. How do you propose to solve that?
I don't think you can measure their success that much against Kerry as it was a completely different era in every way. How teams trained/prepared. competition format etc. And comparing it to Kilkenny is difficult considering how different competition is to win hurling and gaelic.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2016 18:27:27    1849402

:D Ah Master nice attempt at the wind up chiefbox

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/04/2016 18:32:14    1849406