Paul Galvin "The Last Year"

What the hell was Paul Galvin coming out of retirement for a year all about???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/01/2016 11:37:32    1818447

Really dont know, have to agree with Dick Clerkin on the coming out of retirement thing

222 (UK) - Posts: 692 - 22/01/2016 13:29:56    1818492

Jaysus, Clondalkin you're mad for all things Kerry!

Sure throw off that dirty auld blue rag and pull on the proud Green and Gold. Were only delighted down here to see another convert to the true faith...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/01/2016 13:43:30    1818496

As I have said many times before Paul Galvin retired as a kerry legend in 2014.
Coming back blotted his copybook in my eyes and getting game time before established youngsters and especially Tommy Walsh in the final (more Fitzmaurice's fault) was a disgrace.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/01/2016 13:45:47    1818497

A bit harsh to call it a disgrace woops.

It didn't work out in the final but I don't see how that takes away from all he did for Kerry over the years.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/01/2016 14:47:06    1818524

Hindsight is the foresight of a gobshite.Didn't work out but who are we to argue with Eamonn Fitz & Galvin.Was worth a shot.Nothing ventured,nothing gained.No regrets.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2016 15:10:48    1818533

Yes it was a poor decision to bring him back especially considering the lack of football Galvin played in 2014.

Maybe fitzmaurice hoped he would bring more of a leadership role to the younger members of the squad for the year.

It was crazy decision to bring him on at that stage in the final when other options were available.

One of the rare bad calls I've seen made by fitzy but he has been very well thought of since taking over in 2013 and IMO has done a great job.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 22/01/2016 15:10:54    1818534

It really depends on what level you count success.
Rory Kavanagh has recently joined back up with the Donegal squad and whether he plays or not his presence on the training pitch and in the dressing room will benefit the younger players trying to emulate his success. Who is to say he didn't teach a few things to the young Kerry players last year.

Now in saying that I wouldnt have played him in a pivitol moment given how he didnt play much leading up to that. If it had worked everyone would say it was a stroke of genius.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 22/01/2016 15:26:11    1818541

It back fired, but so what ? who knew ? had it worked out genius , very harsh calling it a disgrace , reminded of what Paudi said re Kerry followers ,
Ive said it a million times on here how Fitz has flip flopped between genius and clown in some eyes , when truth is hes neither

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/01/2016 15:58:47    1818547

Spot on cuederocket. In fact I would argue the fact that he came on in the final shows it wasnt a mistake at all. He fought his way back and earned it. Fitzmaurice dropped marc o'se don't forget - he isn't a man to be swayed by sentiment.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2016 16:31:53    1818559

Dstuction big difference Kavanagh legs aren't gone and his team where hammered in the quarter finals , Galvin came back to an all Ireland winning team and after not winning this year he walks away again , for me he came back for The good of Paul Galvin and not Kerry football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/01/2016 17:07:27    1818573

Someone tell your man that Marc O Se was injured for the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/01/2016 17:08:15    1818574

I've said a good few times, people, many of them from Kerry which disappoints me greatly, are making Galvin the scapegoat for the All Ireland performance.

All I ask those people to do is actually look at how he played when he came on. He sent some excellent balls into Donaghy in the forward line that cause panic in the Dublin FB line. Had something come off one of those delivers, he would have been a hero and Fitzy a genius.

Galvin was the heart of that great Kerry side, he was my favourite Kerry player - a warrior who left everything on the field. He stuck his head into places on the pitch no sane man would go near, he was beaten up and down and still came back looking for more. I've never seen a better player to get the 'dirty' ball. He deserved everything he won, deserved a lot better than a lot of things he got too.

Last year didn't come off. As he said himself in interviews he had a few injuries which set him back and he wasn't overall impressed with Cian O'Neils training programme which, he felt, contributed to them.

We on the outside can't know what impact a man like that would have had on that group of young men inside the walls of the dressing room.

He had done nothing to sully his reputation or that Kerry jersey by coming back last year. He gave it all he had, of that I'm sure. It didn't end in the fairytale, but such is life.

He will always be talked of as a GREAT Kerry player. And that's not a bad career by any estimation.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/01/2016 17:30:01    1818577

Fitzmautice got a free call on galvin after winning AI. Grand having fellas with loads of experience and medals but no good if they can't make an impact.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 22/01/2016 17:37:38    1818579

If a player has made the decision to hang up his boots it's obviously something they have thought long and hard about and should be one that stick to. Fair play to the Kerry lads who are calling a spade a spade and are not just playing the aul we have to back every decision made by a kerryman just because he's from Kerry.
Imo he would have been politely told thanks but no thanks if he was anyone else.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 22/01/2016 19:06:37    1818589

Galvin was a fine player who I think couldn't resist the call of another chance to bow out on a winning note and on his terms.
Alan Brogan got to do that but very few do.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/01/2016 20:39:33    1818602

Someone tell your man that Marc O Se was injured for the final.

Someone tell clondalkindub there are other games in the all ireland series besides the ones involving dublin...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/01/2016 09:30:16    1818615

This is a nonsense thread . What is the problem ? It's pretty black and white : if a players wants to retire , let him retire . If he wants to come back and the gaffer is happy - let him come back . Who really knows why certain players retire ? It could be personal issues etc. Even if Galvin didn't kick one ball , I'm sure he was an inspiring voice in the dressing room. It wasn't his fault Eamonn Fitz used him in the final . Actually didn't think he played that bad when he came on .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 23/01/2016 12:32:47    1818624