Who is the most skilful Footballer playing now?

Simple Question.

In your opinion who is the most skilful Gaelic Footballer in Ireland?

(I'm not necessarily asking who is the best. Like Aidan O'Shea would be one of the best in the country but not necessarily the most skilful)

My vote goes to the Gooch. Still skill wise a good bit a head

Niall McNamee in Ofally and Karl Lacey in Donegal worth a shout but Gooch still skill-wise out on his own

manonthemoon (USA) - Posts: 43 - 18/12/2015 09:28:22    1813412

Diarmuid Connolly would get my vote

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/12/2015 09:43:51    1813413

From Donegal I would say Odhran MacNiallais - a very languid style of play with a wand of a left peg.

From other counties I would say Colm O'Neill, James O'Donoghue, Gooch, Connolly and the young Kelly fella for Kildare.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 18/12/2015 09:49:48    1813416

Diarmuid Connolly-Dublin
James O'Donoghue-Kerry
Shane Walsh-Galway

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/12/2015 09:49:56    1813417

I suppose it's difficult to define skill. Defenders often get over looked in terms of their ability to dispossess a man which is a great skill in itself.

In the traditional sense, from a Dublin point of view, Diarmuid Connolly is probably our most skilful player at the moment.

Maurice Fitzgerald probably the most skilful player I've ever seen, followed closely by Ciarán McDonald.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/12/2015 10:04:24    1813419

Diarmuid Connolly, by a long way

Quigley from Fermanagh would also be a contender, but Connolly is out on his own

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/12/2015 10:09:28    1813422

I'd go with Connelly. Pure quality.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/12/2015 10:26:42    1813424

Diarmuid Connolly, by a long way

Quigley from Fermanagh would also be a contender, but Connolly is out on his own

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6392 - 18/12/2015 10:09:28

oh look what a surprise...

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 10:51:07    1813431

Connolly then McManus

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 18/12/2015 10:57:44    1813432

It's not even up for debate since the Gooch isn't the same player he use to be its dermot Connolly by a long distance

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/12/2015 11:16:24    1813434

Shane Walsh from Galway is also definitely up there but we are yet to fully see his talent due to injury

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/12/2015 11:24:14    1813436

t's not even up for debate since the Gooch isn't the same player he use to be its dermot Connolly by a long distance

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:6941 - 18/12/2015 11:16:24 1

This must be the first time i've seen you mention a Dublin player on a thread like this.....

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 18/12/2015 11:30:26    1813437

Michael Murphy. Skilful and versatile.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 18/12/2015 12:06:52    1813443

I suppose what "skill" are we talking about, point scoring from hands, off the ground, speed, block downs defending reading of the game, different players have different attributes that make them the best at what they do, different players are good in certain aspects of the game, if one was to pick an all rounder of a players from skill level to leadership or contribution both on and off the ball from the past I would pick Maurice Fitzgerlad or Seamus Moynihan from Kerry, outside of Kerry, and at the moment the player I think is pound for pound the most skilful it would be Michael Murphy… his ability his versatility but even the way he conducts and carries himself… class.. pure class, I have an admiration for Aidan O'Shea but he has never contributed on the big day… Murphy ah a joy to watch

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/12/2015 12:09:12    1813445

Murphy is class alright. If only we had two of him! One to do what he currently does and the other to operate strictly at full forward.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 18/12/2015 12:34:21    1813453

Two of him Lockjaw ??????. Aw Jaysus . We'd be glad to have a pair of Murphy's boots !!!!!

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 18/12/2015 13:30:59    1813471

Given the choice of one player to pick it would have to Michael Murphy. He has all the real skills, not just the fancy frills that a teenager would consider as being skillful - leadership, fielding, finishing, temperament, work rate, strength, free-taking all important skills in the complete player with nothing missing from his arsenal, in a transfer market he would be priceless.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/12/2015 13:45:14    1813474

Appear a lot of ye agree with me... he is the only player if there was a transfer market I would bust the bank to get over anyone else... just has it in spades..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/12/2015 14:12:37    1813479

Agree that Shane Walsh is definitely up there, a joy to watch him. Murphy and JOD would be my other two picks.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 18/12/2015 14:20:58    1813481

u know whats gas is that, honestly, all the talk about Michael Murphy, I dont see it. I dont think he is anywhere near the player some say he is. There are 5/6 forwards if not more I would have ahead of him.
Now b4 my Donegal friends have spasms, i would have walked over hot coals in recent years to have had Karl Lacey in a Dubs shirt. Its nothing personal, I just dont really think he is the player some say he is.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/12/2015 14:25:43    1813485