Should Sledging be a Red Card offence

After reading the article about a young Cork camogie player getting sledged by opponents because of her partner's death, I was wondering, if was overheard by officials should the players or club involved be reported or even banned from competitions. just asking as I have heard some horrible things being said by players to others about parents or loved ones dying. I personally think its disgusting and everything possible should be done as someone dying is nobodies fault. if someone does something out of order and they get some stick about it then so be it.

exref (Antrim) - Posts: 63 - 12/12/2015 17:00:45    1812762

Absolutely it should be. Its a disgusting act and reflects dreadfully on the players involved, their managers, and the GAA.
All sledging is nasty but bringing peoples personal tragedies. Shame on those involved, and shame on the supporters who are happy to tolerate this inherent behaviour from their players.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 12/12/2015 17:36:41    1812766

Make that "abhorrent" behaviour.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 12/12/2015 17:47:03    1812767

It should but it would be very hard to enforce. I do think though if the referee hears something himself that he deems as completely inappropriate he should have the power to send them off. But sledging usually takes place out of earshot of the ref and he can't be expected to take someones word over anothers. I did read the cork camogie players interview. I was shocked that anyone could say something so vile but more so that it was at club level and not county because she is obviously going to run into these women occasionally how can they look her in the face. I hope she has named and shamed them locally. Brave woman speaking out about her loss and depression. The behaviour of these other players is why some GAA players can't speak out about depression for fear of ridicule

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 12/12/2015 17:57:23    1812773

Only a Coward would try to seek an advantage in a game by Sledging someone over a personal tragedy. Management have huge responsibilities on this and need to be brave in stamping it out, although i wouldn't hold my breathe.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/12/2015 18:07:43    1812774

Well thats a shame if thats the case because acknowledging you have a problem and seeking help in dealing with it is a sign of courage, not cowardice.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 12/12/2015 18:17:31    1812775

Only scumbags would do something like that so I don't have a problem with serious sledging being a red card offence.However it would be almost impossible to prove so it could only be dealt with if the official hears it clearly and therefore it will be impossible to stamp out as there is nothing that can be done about whispering in someones ear a (broken jaw probably being the best solution to that problem).

It doesn't reflect badly on the GAA it reflects badly on the people who are doing it.The GAA are fairly powerless to prevent it.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 12/12/2015 19:21:22    1812782

It is difficult but that is not an excuse for not trying. If the ref or his/her assistants clearly hear a player sledging, that player should be red carded. However, the refs need to have the full support of the GAA authorities so that they are not hung out to dry. The GAA need to be open and transparent in dealing with reported incidents. The manner in which the complaint by Donegal about the sledging of their Minor captain left a bad taste in the mouth.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 12/12/2015 19:46:20    1812786

Desperate stuff to be reading but I'm not one bit surprised that it went on either. Sledging has always gone on in GAA , yet they'd lead you to believe it's only a me phenomenon. What can go on at club level at times is absolutely disgusting and should most definitely be a punishable offence. As someone most correctly pointed out in an earlier post it is indeed a cowards act.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 12/12/2015 20:36:31    1812792

The worst sledging I ever heard was at a club match, and not only were management not stopping it they were involved and were targeting one player on the opposing team who had the cheek to play well. The only members of the team who didnt abuse him were a former and current county players (the only ones with talent). In that case you could hear management from the stand so the ref could obviously hear too, on the rare occasion the ref does hear he should be able to red card him. The player in particular did suffer a death of a loved one and though it was a disgrace what was shouted at him and showed the management as nothing but bullies they never brought up his loss. To be honest though they'd have needed a garda escort leaving if they had tried it.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 12/12/2015 21:19:27    1812797

I think one of the main reasons is that many GAA people adhere to the bizarre notion that remaining silent in the face of an injustice is a sign of manliness.
Stiff upper lip/I'm a hard man nonsense.
Like the Kick it out campaign in the premier league, players who suffer should be encouraged to come forward and speak out. It wouldnt get rid of the problem over night but it would hopefully begin a change of attitude among younger players who will be representing their clubs, counties (and the GAA) in the future.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 12/12/2015 21:29:33    1812799

A simple way of knocking this out of the game at the highest level - randomly mic up some of the players and review it afterwards.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/12/2015 12:55:47    1813136

No it shouldn't ,
The camogie girl instance absolutely with a serious ban to follow , but that's the extreme as the girl said herself it never happened at county level , there are things that get said in every contact game to rile a player , there is also a line that cant be crossed and most decent human beings even in the height of it on a pitch wouldn't cross , who defines what sledging is ???
Murky water that unfortunately falls at the poor auld ref again to police

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/12/2015 13:44:18    1813157

Its a difficult one, whilst absolutely reprehensible where is the line drawn, does shouting and screaming in someones face whilst they take frees constitute sledging. Does celebrating like a lunatic in front of the opposition, or fans constitute sledging or incitement. Whilst it would be fantastic to see all unsavoury behaviors stamped out I do think enforcing it would prove difficult especially with the appeals culture as it is now. Unless as the master says players were mic'ed up and a fourth official type character listening to the stream then it wouldn't work and would be he said she said types of arguments.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 16/12/2015 14:12:21    1813162

I don't think there's anything wrong with letting a player know your roasting them or celebrating a score in someones face. That's all fine, you'd usually know about it next time you go for the ball and the victim will get over it.

Wouldn't agree with personal attacks on a persons family, or mocking the death of a loved one. Instances like that should be reported and dealt with severely.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 16/12/2015 15:28:59    1813174