Cork Footballers 2016

Genuinely want to wish the best of luck to them for 2016.
Football needs a strong Cork team. With the players at their disposal, if they sort out the obvious mental frailties, they could really step up. I honestly believe a Pat Gilroy type of man could get this group to the heights they should be at. I do wonder tho, have they enough quality scoring forwards and a second top class MF'r? Their half back line is pure clas.

I have a soft spot for Cork football, genuinely hope to see them back in 2016.

They remind me a lot of Dublin in 2009.

Hon you Rebels !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/11/2015 11:06:34    1806701

is Aidan Walsh playing football next year?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 12/11/2015 12:14:48    1806740

Ciaran Sheehan in the AFL killed their attack, himself and Colm O'Neill together alone on their day could have beaten any team.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 12/11/2015 12:24:51    1806745

They've a decent side but always seem to underachieve. Tend to look very good in the league but flatter to deceive in the Championship.

Had Kerry almost beaten in Killarney and then get beaten off the field by Kildare a few weeks later. That kinda sums them up really.

I'm happy enough with them at present to be honest.

2010 was a tough time in the MesAmis household ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/11/2015 13:54:31    1806788

Cork are a shambles and for anyone wondering why, just look in the direction of their County Board.

As much as it pains me to say anything good about Cork football!!, I would agree with Liam above, the GAA in Munster and nationally need Cork to be where they were between 2002 - 2011, genuine All Ireland contenders.

Kerry have always benefited from having a strong Cork side testing them every year.

No one in Kerry wants to see Kerry v Cork reduced to what the Dublin/Meath rivalry is today: a turkey shoot.

But its up to Cork football people to sort this out for themselves, they have a County Board which has presided over their demise in both codes at all levels in the past decade.

I've been talking to lads I know down there since Healy got the job, and most of them know nothing about him.

Clearly was the stand out candidate and the Co. Board told him his services aren't required.

Unless and until Murphy is got rid of in the Cork GAA, I can't see the Cork footballers being genuine contenders anytime soon.

If

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/11/2015 14:01:02    1806790

Aidan Walsh and Damien Cahalane have both been named on the Cork hurling training panel this year so they won't be involved with the footballers again this year. In my opinion, last years football team simply wasn't good enough to compete with the big guns. Midfield is a big issue, and only for Alan O Connor coming back to help the cause, they would have had serious problems in that department. Hopefully he will be available again this year, and the new management will search through every club in the county for new blood because it is badly needed if we are serious about competing for Sam in 2016! Roll on the championship !!

rebelfi (Cork) - Posts: 76 - 12/11/2015 14:12:51    1806796

Aidan Walsh will play hurling. That is a pity as football really is his game.

I genuinely thought when Brian Cuthbert took over that we might win the All-Ireland. The raw talent is there. Brian Hurley and Fintan Goold have ability to be the best full-forward/half forward in the country. Unfortunately we don't see the best of them for several reasons. In fact they look ordinary.

Looking at the Kildare game, it is only an excuse using the 7 day turnaround. It is obvious looking at that game, some players have decided that they are above trying. If some players play well and others don't try, that is what happens. Something went rotten in the squad.

The process to appoint a new coach has not exactly inspired people with confidence either. Once again we go for the inexperienced over somebody that has a more established track record. Not saying that Peadar Healy lacks ambition (I am sure he doesn't and he is a very congenial chap) but our county board are sometimes afraid of ambition as it costs too much. Having Paudie Kissane involved as a coach is a good move at least.

Pat Gilroy, Jim McGuiness, James Horan et al would be great to have in Cork. Hell will freeze over before that would ever happen. First of all they are foreigners. Second of all they are winners with ambition and they will cost too much.

All in all, 2016 is just another year. Ambition gets raised and then you have it flattened quickly with the Cork footballers. I just hope we don't get embarrassed for the third year in a row. A quarter final loss with dignity after a Munster final loss with dignity will do as a start.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 12/11/2015 14:27:34    1806798

A Dublin man hoping for the best for Cork!Ha you must be joking.Sorry benny boy,but i quite enjoy when the rebels go through a drought.Even better a famine.The rebels and us Dubs have a Love/Hate relationship.Seriously though,i wouldn't put counterfeit money on Cork getting near an All Ireland victory.Average group of players with a losing mentality.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/11/2015 14:37:30    1806803

It really makes you wonder what the bell there county board heads are at.While I don't know enough about Cork GAA it seems Cleary would have been most peoples choice.
Is it that he was asking too much or something or is it a pure ego trip with these power brokers.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/11/2015 14:37:56    1806805

Likewise Cuederocket ;) Thankfully we always seem to get the better of ye in the hurling! Everyone in Cork, bar the county board wanted John Cleary to be appointed. Supposedly they made it tough for him, digging into personal issues and demanding specific selectors to be brought on board if he were to be appointed so I think he told them stick it. Hopefully Peadar Healy will stand up to them, and I wish he all the best.

rebelfi (Cork) - Posts: 76 - 12/11/2015 15:08:52    1806820

Aidan Walsh staying with the hurlers, excelelnt footballer who would have been the main man for the footballers. There is more glamour playing wityh the hurlers but he is has no settles position as to be honest he is a good hurler but not a great hurler.
Damien Cahalne is no loss to the Cork footballers.

Cork wont be too far away in 2016, they will give any of the top teams a good game and liekly beat any team on their day but probably still lack the consistency to win an AI next year.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 12/11/2015 15:23:06    1806827

woops

Damien Cahalne is no loss to the Cork footballers.

100% right. Hopefully Kieran Kingston will drop him off the hurling squad as well and that sentence will hold true for both sports. Feel sorry for him living in the footsteps of his father. Honest player but doesn't even stand out in club games.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 12/11/2015 18:36:13    1806889

No midfield and no fullback line will hold them back. Lost some series height/power/physicality over the years with Sheehan, Murphy, Pearse O'Neill, Canty, O'Leary gone. Talent isn't coming through either. Underachieved big time between 07-13 in my opinion ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 12/11/2015 19:32:24    1806901

Sad day for cork football hopefully they come back up soon

JimmyFloyd (Wexford) - Posts: 50 - 03/04/2016 20:45:03    1841175

Cork have no backbone,they could find it hard to get back to dv1.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 21:11:25    1841218

may find it difficult in dv2,they are a side thats very flakey,but I have a feeling they will think they will stroll dv2,if thats the case,they will struggle.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 21:22:20    1841235

You'd swear Cork lost every game...they finished on the same number of points as the Donegal who are in the semi finals...

It's never good to be relegated, but they will only spend one year in Division 2 as they will walk it next year. One year in division 2 won't do any damage long term.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 03/04/2016 21:28:23    1841244

You are right there county man. i dont think a stint in Div2 will do Cork any harm next year.
But I wouldnt right them off this year either, may not win the AI but there is a strong possibility they will be in the 1/4s and from there anything can happen

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/04/2016 12:18:05    1841481

True Whoops, I've never taken meeting Cork for granted. When they are up for it they can do serious damage no matter how poor their form is.

I'll be as wary of them as ever if we meet in the Munster final again this year.

This bunch are not All Ireland winners but they are always capable of beating any team in Ireland on a given day.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/04/2016 12:48:11    1841515

Since Cork won the all ireland in 2010, I only saw them play anywhere near that level and that was in 2012 when they beat kildare. That was the only game they have won in croke park since then (in the championship).

Something is not in order down there. There are comments about them being on 6 points as are monaghan, donegal and mayo, but the manner in which they got beaten in a few of their league games is very odd. They are the most under achieving team I remember.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/04/2016 16:27:35    1841667