Cian O'Neill in Kildare

Who is he posters ?what clubs is he with ? How did he end up with Kerry? Like what's his story I've never heard of him until recently so was just interested to know more about him?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/10/2015 13:27:47    1798957

Put it this way he is an uncalculatable loss to us

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 15/10/2015 13:59:32    1798969

Strength and conditioning coach with Tipp hurlers, then a coach / selector with Mayo before joining the Kerry setup. So a couple of years involvement with some top teams at least.

Working in Cork IT and was in UL before that.

Good appointment from a Kildare point of view anyways.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 15/10/2015 14:00:12    1798971

This is from 2009

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/kfauaukfauid/rss2/

He was with Tipp in 2010, has a great reputation in both codes.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/10/2015 14:16:04    1798979

He wasn't a selector in mayo, he was an S&C coach. Moved to Kerry then where he became more involved in selections etc.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/10/2015 14:31:59    1798986

Been around a while with Tipp, Mayo and Kerry when these teams have all been successful and from talking to Kerry and Tipp lads they have nothing but good things to say about him (don't no any Mayo county footballers to ask their opinion) His club is Moorefield in Newbridge and by all accounts in around Kildare he was the first choice of the Kildare county board.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 15/10/2015 15:48:35    1799031

He was with Limerick footballers before his stint with Tipp.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 15/10/2015 16:12:37    1799043

Was absolutely first choice despite the "dream team" of Ryan, Rainbow and Doyle putting themselves forward. He probably would've been first-choice last time around if he hadn't of ruled himself out.

He is exactly what we need. Watching the top teams this year and the sophistication of defensive play you'd be looking at Kildare and saying we are a million miles off that. Like I doubt we've ever even had a conversation about zonal marking. Lads are just being left to fend for themselves and that's when you start getting the trimmings we did. O'Neill will hopefully bring in those smarts. He has young players with a decent pedigree of underage success all eager, bright-eyed and bushy tailed and ready to be molded into a decent senior side. Bringing in Murphy with him who has done so much good work at underage is a good statement in that regard. It will be a slow process, we'll need to be patient. But I'm a lot more optimistic about football than I was a few months ago.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/10/2015 16:53:07    1799059

I think Kildare people are getting a little carried away,how good of a manager is he? We don't know,he may end up been a great appointment,but he has managed a team..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/10/2015 18:19:53    1799092

He's coming in with a damn good cv and references. More than happy to see Cian in charge. Nobody has said he's going to bring Leinsters or all Irelands so can't see how we're getting carried away. We likd to be positive in Kildare.

.....and watch out Clondalkin...CIan's coming...

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 15/10/2015 20:36:23    1799133

Cian is a class act big loss to Kerry he will make
Kildare competitive again get them back playing at
the top table

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 15/10/2015 21:07:12    1799157

I don't think anyone is getting carried away. Kildare are well aware of their standing at the moment and that was reinforced by the two championship hammerings. The Cork performance did highlight some potential so there is scope for a bit of upward progress in the next few years.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 15/10/2015 21:44:13    1799194

Cian appears to have done a good job in certain aspects of the game,but as a manager he is untested.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/10/2015 22:00:29    1799209

Jim McGuinness was untested at senior level as was Jim Gavin as was Eamon Fitzmaurice so that wouldn't put me off. He's a really good appointment with good credentials and good top level experience from the set ups he's been in. I don't think anyone in Kildare is getting carried away, every one of us knows exactly where we are at right now but I think Cian has the county behind him. That's a pretty good starting point.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 16/10/2015 08:58:38    1799226

ziggy32001

1799209 Cian appears to have done a good job in certain aspects of the game,but as a manager he is untested.

Dont worry Ziggy, we'll test him!

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 16/10/2015 10:09:27    1799276

Kildare 73

But those managers were successful at under-age? Cian O'Neill may end up been a great appointment,my point is that he is untested as a manager.Leinster needs a few teams to challenge Dublin,so I hope he is a good appointment.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/10/2015 10:13:49    1799280

murof

haha :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/10/2015 10:14:31    1799281

Fair point ziggy, I won't argue against what you are saying. But if he makes us successful given where we are now he'll be regarded as a feckin genius! :):)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 16/10/2015 10:34:38    1799291

Every managerial appointment is a risk Ziggy regardless of whether the manager in question has managed before.

Kildare have appointed a highly sought after, and well regarded coach, who has been involved with a number of top teams over the last couple of years.

He knows what it takes for a team to reach the top, and knows what needs to be done behind the scenes to set up a good backroom team. He hasn't done that himself in the past but he's been involved in that process at least.

It might work out, it might not. But a lot of people in Kildare will see it as a good appointment. It's something to give us a bit of hope over the winter months before the O'Byrne Cup and Division 3 get underway.

Much happier we're taking a chance on Cian than falling into the trap of picking up a journeyman like Evans or O'Flatharta.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 16/10/2015 10:42:37    1799297

Would agree with most posters on here.
Everyone (that i have talked to) is in support of Cian's appointment.
We know where we are but believe we have the ability to be playing at a higher level.
True, Cian hasn't managed an intercounty team before but he certainly has a good background in being involved with a lot of successful teams over the last number of years.
Could prove a master stroke - could prove otherwise but its def the right appointment at this moment in time.
He has full support from me anyway!!!

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 16/10/2015 10:46:37    1799301