Jimmy's not winning holidays

What you's reckon about McGuinness latest attack on the county board for not receiving any money in return for not attending the team holiday last year? If Croke Park did give 80k towards the team holiday, then I'd imagine the county board had to make up the difference - as a team holiday would be well in excess of 80k.

Still and all it would be nice for the players and management who didn't travel to receive something in return for not traveling.

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 29/09/2015 11:55:07    1793508

One article i read said the following: 'Funded by a €80,000 Croke Park grant and the county's own €110,000 team holiday kitty'

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/09/2015 12:11:12    1793523

Yes but if the county board said that anyone who doesn't travel doesn't get holiday money then I guess that is it (like it or not).
Jimmy boy has always had a bone to pick with the GAA suits. He is a brilliant manager but I'm not sure if the irish times was the place to be venting your anger here. Especially if he was told before the holiday that he wouldn't receive any compensation for missing the holiday.

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 29/09/2015 13:50:27    1793632

A guy I work with from Meath tells me Dublin have a 4 million euro holiday package

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 29/09/2015 13:53:19    1793636

I'm sorry I don't agree with him.

The holiday money is for .... a holiday. If you cannot travel, tough.

Jim is going to make a hell of a lot of money out of the 2012 All-Ireland final win.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/09/2015 14:04:35    1793642

HenryHill16

A guy I work with from Meath tells me Dublin have a 4 million euro holiday package
Ah,the old guy from Meath in work who knows Barrack Obama and holidays with Sheik Mohammed in Sandals resort before Kayaking down the Yangtze river with Enda. Yeh! he'd probably know alright.
Sorry if I sound sceptical HenryHill, but you can't trust those Meath lads.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/09/2015 14:27:45    1793662

A week in Bundoran should do him grand

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 29/09/2015 14:31:56    1793668

Id say He'd get a good deal on a year n mayo ☺

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 29/09/2015 14:45:27    1793677

I think it is fairly stingy that they haven't given the 7 or so lads a voucher.
I reckon Jim is fairly desperate at this stage as he has an Irish Times piece about it.
Not just for himself but more to get the other lads sorted is probably why he has made it national.

He has obviously gone to great lengths in dealing with Croke Park and the county board already so it has gotten to the stage he has to make it public to put the pressure on.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 29/09/2015 14:50:13    1793687

Donegal GAA have released a statement in response to the team holiday: http://donegalgaa.ie/2015/09/donegal-press-release/

.... so that's it.

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 29/09/2015 15:26:08    1793724

HenryHill16

Just have a think about that for minute, and how realistic you think it could possibly be...

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 29/09/2015 15:31:45    1793732

I don't see anything wrong with Jim making this public. He has written about it in a sincere and heartfelt way.
The issues are clear:
1. He feels the holiday is deserved & I do not honestly think any of us to whom the teams have given so much pleasure can dispute their right to a holiday in lieu of having been unable to travel along with the team;
2. He feels he has a duty of care to the team he coached to give voice to their grievance.
3. He has spoken to others in the know & has established that it is the done thing elsewhere that where a player cannot attend at the time, they are provided with a voucher so in the interests of parity, his team should receive equitable treatment.
Surely these people have earned a holiday. I am 100% behind Jim on this one & hope it gets resolved to their satisfaction.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 29/09/2015 15:47:21    1793748

HenryHill16

I heard they bought a holiday complex in Barbados off Nama with help off some diehard unionist politician. Going to use it as as training base. Dublin GAA has it all. How can we compete????

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 29/09/2015 16:23:32    1793788

I have an uneasy feeling about this. I see the board have more or less dug their heels in. I don't think Donegal GAA should be burning any bridges with regard to Jim McGuinness.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/09/2015 16:45:17    1793802

Jim is not looking money for not being able to go on the holiday. He is looking a holiday voucher for him and the others who missed out. They are entitled to this voucher and the county board are purposely blocking them getting it. Jim was just right to make the issue public and maybe it will embarrass an apparently inactive county board into treating their past players, management and back room team as they deserve to be...with respect and common decency!

mmdtc2011 (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 29/09/2015 17:12:24    1793820

I agree slayer. It is a team holiday. If you cant go then you have missed out on the team holiday. It is a bit like someone asking if you want a drink and asking for the money instead.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 17:22:18    1793829

Breffni, what would he spend a grand on in Bundoran?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/09/2015 17:54:36    1793842

That county board statement isn't exactly illuminating, is it? After all McGuinness has done for Donegal football, it seems a little bit cheap that the county board wouldn't sort him out with a holiday voucher.

I agree with Lockjaw, seems like cutting your nose off to spite your face.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2015 18:43:10    1793868

BUT I WOULD NOT BE ADRESSING THIS IF THIS JUST CONCERNED ME

Have people on here not read what he said. I think they have not the way they are posting on the matter ?
If it was just himself he would not have raised the issue but because some players /selectors plus the doctor were involved he raised the issue
Now according to Jim he consulted CP and was told that if anyone from the panel could not go on the holiday , then they were entitled to a voucher in lieu.
Seeming the county board thought or thinks different. So somebody is telling lies.
JMCG is right in what he says about the commitment of the players , putting their lives on hold to commit to the county team and I'm sure everybody here would say they deserve a holiday.
How much money did the GAA not make out of Donegal over the last five years? Every game I was at massive Donegal support. So I think the people who missed out should get something off the county board.
I appulade JMCG FOR WRITING THIS IN HIS COLUMN TODAY.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/09/2015 19:19:41    1793878

Wonder did Kevin cassia get a voucher for the holiday he wasn't allowed on folks ??
This is a local grievance between him and done gal cb iris times not the forum for ranting about it I've enjoyed his column all year but do ye not get the feeling he's trying to keep his name in lights till the old book launch for the Christmas market.....

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 29/09/2015 19:53:38    1793895