Begrudgers

I am getting sick of the begrudgery and people trying to taint another teams victory. We had it in the Munster Final. All the talk of the penalty. We had it in Mayo-Dublin semi final - Diarmuid Connolly, Lee Keegan, Cillian O'Connor incidents and again we had it in the final - Cluxton timewasting, Philly McMahon.

Last year Kerry were undeserving winners as they were not "good enough" and were too cynical etc. This year Dublin got it mostly due to Connolly and McMahon. It is starting to ruin the game. Also it seems like the ones who are doing most of the giving out are those from counties who have not on an All Ireland in many years. The top 3 teams targetted are Kerry, Dublin and Tyrone. In fairness the media give it mostly to Tyrone out of these 3.

This crap of trying to pin point McMahon from the final this year makes me laugh. Is McMahon a great player? Yes he is. Is he a bully. Most definitely. Is he a dirty cynical player? No he is not. Would I like him to be playing for Kerry? You bet I would.

Finally well done to Dublin this year. The better team on the day won. You will get no sour grapes from me.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 25/09/2015 10:52:33    1792216

This country - Was at the beginning, is now, and ever shall be.... A country of begrudgers. So it shouldnt surprise you..

Thanks for the congratulations though. Much obliged.

Commiserations to yourselves also.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/09/2015 11:04:18    1792222

Fair dues

Good man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/09/2015 11:05:54    1792223

Tyrone won 3 All- Irelands ; were branded puke and never got the respect they deserved . We won an almost impossible one in 2012 and also got slated .

I'd agree to an extent but unfortunately posters on here have been berating Ulster sides for so long : you won't get any sympathy from me .

You only noticing begrudging now ??

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 25/09/2015 11:07:08    1792226

Begrudgery is nothing new. Dublin have never won an All Ireland fairly as far as I can remember. The Dirty Dubs in 83, Charlie Redmond shouldn't have been on the pitch/Canavan's point should have stood in 95, McQuillan blah blah blah in 11, McQuillan blah again in13, now McMahon etc.

It's all nonsense, and it's nonsense born from envy. You don't fluke an All Ireland. Any team that wins an All Ireland deserves it.

Apart from Meath.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 25/09/2015 11:24:55    1792233

Its a joke alright. But every team more or less gets it even if they dont win sam. haters will be haters

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 25/09/2015 11:32:43    1792241

I blame the media. They are the ones who hound certain teams/players and then the public at large either get on the bandwagon or get on the defensive. Then what you have is every game and team being put under the microscope especially by those who already have their backs up at the treatment of their own and looking for an even handed analysis, punishments etc.

As a result we end up in a downward spiral where the focus is more on the darker arts than the actual art. There have always been dark arts in the game but now we are reaching a point where many get sucked into believing that these are the key ingredients for winning anything. Of course they are an ingredient but as a previous poster has already pointed out it takes a good bit more than that to win an All Ireland.

I said it on another thread last week but it is appropriate here also - well done the Dubs on their All Ireland Victory - always bring good colour and atmosphere to the competition - enjoy it lads.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 25/09/2015 11:35:31    1792245

It's all nonsense, and it's nonsense born from envy.

Not sure that is the case. A lot depends on who you watch the games with, especially if you watch them as a child. My ould fella was shouting 'dirty b*$^%&$s' at the TV in 83. In 95 Paddy Russell was from a town not too far away & let's call a spade a spade he made a balls of it. Not Dublin's fault, but Charlie was a chancer and as Tyrone had never won the All-Ireland until that point, I wanted them to win.

In 2011, Dublin were the better side as they have been in 2013 & 2015.

So no bedgrudgery as such, but any wanting the other side to win had nothing to do with envy.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/09/2015 11:37:12    1792248

Aidan64,
You're dead right about begrudges on here they are what take away from this site overall and have essentially nothing worthwhile to offer as they will always fall back to the negativity and sniping. We will always get it and so will Kerry and yes Tyrone and each of those counties has that element on here aswell. It's just part of what you get when you give a platform to every Tom, DICK and Harry who has their own axe to grind. Just look at the latest one re charity match. Pathetic.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/09/2015 11:38:41    1792250

Gavvygavgav

Begrudgery is nothing new. Dublin have never won an All Ireland fairly as far as I can remember. The Dirty Dubs in 83, Charlie Redmond shouldn't have been on the pitch/Canavan's point should have stood in 95, McQuillan blah blah blah in 11, McQuillan blah again in13, now McMahon etc.

It's all nonsense, and it's nonsense born from envy. You don't fluke an All Ireland. Any team that wins an All Ireland deserves it.

Apart from Meath.

Amen brother!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/09/2015 11:38:46    1792251

Mes / Gavvy

You wont have to worry about Meath winning anything for quite a while

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/09/2015 11:44:09    1792255

All well and good but we've all begrudged a team at some stage so no point whining about it. I'll probably always begrudge Kerry an AI win purely because they've won so many.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 25/09/2015 11:52:39    1792264

Let's begrudge the begrudgers! Ignore them lads. They only get a kick from it when we react.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 25/09/2015 11:59:41    1792268

Mes / Gavvy

Hopefully man!

Isn't that glorious?!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/09/2015 12:03:47    1792272

MesAmis

1792272 jimbodub

Mes / Gavvy

Hopefully man!

Isn't that glorious?!!!

____

YEP...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/09/2015 12:09:42    1792277

I have to agree with

GreenandRed

Ignoring them is the best way since it is obviously the better side that won the game. Truly deserved victory.

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 25/09/2015 12:30:21    1792289

Ah yes, The decline of Meath football.

Bliss.

Truely bliss.

Could you have imagined back in 2009 when Kerry trounced us, A Meath man in 2014 starting a "take Dublin out of Leinster" thread to give the rest of us a chance :(

How Meath teams of the past must cringe.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/09/2015 12:32:24    1792290

Wayno it must be great crack bein a true blue living in Meath these days ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 25/09/2015 12:34:12    1792292

After Pat Spillane who begrudged that great Tyrone team of the 00's? I honestly don't remember anyone saying a bad word about them apart from there corner back who could be very bold at times but it was a great team that with the players they had should have won more than 3 SAMs imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/09/2015 12:37:24    1792293

I must say clondalkindub that Tyrone team were a serious serious team. One of the best ever.

Theres actually alot of striking similarties between this Dublin team and Tyrone team of the 00's.

Both:

Team of the Decade

3 Time All Ireland Winners

A Corner Back that every one loves to hate AND

Unbeatable when playing Kerry ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 25/09/2015 12:43:08    1792297