Philly McMahon appreciation thread

(If the Hoganstand Censors allow such a Thread!)

The bold Philly won't know where the the line is, and threats the game like a 'war'!! In Dublin we have had some 'tough' corner-backs from the days of Robbie Kelleher through to Philly, my favourite been Ray Kennedy.

But Philly is turning himself into a Dublin cult hero for all the wrong reasons and all the right reasons. The rest of the country will go berserk on Philly but there is a real gra for the guy in Dublin. He is the type of guy you want on the inside of the tent doing his business outside rather than the reverse.

Has become a cornerstone for us, needed that bit of hardness with Ger Brennan missing.

So the rest of you rail against him as much as you want, and I am not even going to say you are wrong, but we Dubs will keep our Philly just as he is.

And I leave you with two points:

1. You have never heard of Dublin or a player complain of any foul play against them, or run to a ref complaining of such, is this because all other counties threat us with kid gloves? or maybe something else?

2. Philly marked the best player in Ireland (to that point) in ALL-Ireland semi-final. Then in the Final a player people claim is one of the best players ever....and not only did our corner-back keep them scoreless....he outscored both of them!!!!!!

Philly 'I couldn't give a s"é&' McMahon I salute you!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/09/2015 09:26:02    1790481

He had a good game on the gooch to be fair, but he wasn't marking o'shea, he was one of 3 men marking o'shea.

McMahon is a capable footballer, but the truth is sooner or later his poor temperament is going to let his team down. He has now been caught twice doing unsavoury things when a guy was on the ground, if people think refs aren't going to be watching for this in the future they are very naïve. You have to accept the good with the bad with a player like that. You have got the good and are celebrating, but the bad is in the post.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 10:30:39    1790513

By all means salute him if you are a Dub, he is a very good player, but that shouldn't make him or any other player exempt from due disciplinary process. If the alleged incident on Sunday had been Rugby Union or League the player in question would probably have been cited and received a disciplinary date already. However there smacks a tone of "We are Dublin, we don't care and we'll do what we want knowing we'll probably get away with it". If the GAA don't act on this, or even investigate it, an awful negative message will be sent to young players and the other 31 counties that "we tolerate this sort of stuff".

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 22/09/2015 10:35:07    1790522

Aye he's definitely the type of buck you want in your team rather than against. In fairness he has had a super year and will undoubtedly get his All-Star.
He does cross the line at times and has so far escaped reprimand. I just think he might have been better holding his tongue and letting the dust settle because he will be closely watched next year.

But that's a long way away now, so well done Philly and the Dubs for 2015. Enjoy the celebrations.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 22/09/2015 10:42:27    1790529

Has had a great year with a couple of controversial moments too but a real cornerstone of the defence all year and marked O Shea really well along with Donaghy and left gooch for dead.Like Galvin in Kerry and maybe one or two of the Tyrone lads in the noughties team he will always attract attention.Glad to have him though.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/09/2015 10:43:37    1790531

I was just about to start a thread like this myself. I think he is brilliant. I love that he doesn't pander to the media or pretend he is whiter than white when he clearly is not. He trains me in one of his gyms. He has a real black or white personality. He makes no apology for the type of player he is. We take the good with the bad and deal with both as they come along. Looking forward to him kicking me around the gym tomorrow. Should i bring my goggles?:p

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2015 10:44:07    1790532

Think you are wrong about Robbie Kelleher witnof. A real footballer. Gay O Driscoll in the other corner was a notorious hard man. So also but to a lesser degree Mick Kennedy who was more sticky as they say rather than hard,.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 22/09/2015 10:46:12    1790534

"1. You have never heard of Dublin or a player complain of any foul play against them, or run to a ref complaining of such, is this because all other counties threat us with kid gloves? or maybe something else?"

Are you for real? The aforementioned Philly McMahon goes down easy and regularly runs to the ref/linesman/umpire complaining. He is also a gouger.
Get a grip

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/09/2015 10:46:36    1790535

he's right about not caring anyway, why would he let anyone spoil his moment, but sounds like he's listening to too much conor McGregor/MMA pseudomacho bullsh*t. If these lads really went to war they might stop comparing it to throwing shapes in the safety of a sports arena

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/09/2015 10:51:15    1790536

Administrator

1790534 Think you are wrong about Robbie Kelleher witnof. A real footballer. Gay O Driscoll in the other corner was a notorious hard man. So also but to a lesser degree Mick Kennedy who was more sticky as they say rather than hard,.

U wot m8?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 22/09/2015 10:58:41    1790544

His "I don't give a sh*t" comments are really rubbing peoples noses in it now and sticking two fingers up to the GAA. You think he would be better keeping quiet and his head down at the minute. It's over to Croke Park to now act.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 22/09/2015 11:00:39    1790549

Absolute hero of a man, Plays his heart how and no bull with him at all. No of this been politically correct Sh*** with him. He tells it like it is and like most people play the game. Hes a credit to Dublin Gaa and I would love nothing more than have him in Roscommon if there was a transfer system. Should be a shoe in for player of the year

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 22/09/2015 11:01:55    1790550

The I don't give a sh!t/win at all cost attitude can hardly be a surprise as GAA players align themselves more towards a professional way of thinking along with the training lifestyle. McMahon isn't much different to alot of other current players. Only difference is he'll admit he doesn't give a sh!t.
Tis all well and good talking about going to war and leaving it on the pitch but you won't get your sign back at the final whistle if it goes that far.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/09/2015 11:06:25    1790552

Don't like him that much to be honest.

The whole 'Philly' thing seems to be a play on the Phil Leotardo character from the Sopranos. I don't have much time for players with a hard man attitude. However he is a good solid footballer and having heard him being discussed on Newstalk last Sunday, I admire where he is in life, where he came from and it makes me understand his attitude a bit more.

He crosses the line, but he wants to win for his team. Wouldn't like to be marking him.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/09/2015 11:09:56    1790556

He's had a great year no doubt but in the wake of what he did on Sunday I'm a bit disappointed at the hero-like status some want to bestow upon him. Its without doubt the worst thing I have ever seen on a football pitch.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/09/2015 11:09:57    1790557

I don't feel comfortable with appreciation threads,so i wont be signing my name to this or any other one.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/09/2015 11:13:39    1790563

I can't agree with the sentiment of this thread. He's a terrific player and a leader of men. Eye gouging however is absolutely disgusting unsporting and dangerous. It's a pity some Dublin fans believe in nothing but win at all costs.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 22/09/2015 11:14:49    1790564

'We go man to man and go to war' - is Aidan O'Shea 3 men then?
To say there was no intention in the gouge, not only makes him look dishonest, but completely undermines his earlier musings on the headbutt incident. He'd have been much better off keeping his mouth shut.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 11:15:38    1790566

Admin, congrats on your jonny1951/flaker moment.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 11:16:43    1790567

I don't see him as a hero at all. I see him as one of very few in the GAA that embraces the type of player he is. Star, Keegan, Galvin, Ricey all have the same hard man tag about them. He just doesn't make apologies for wanting to win.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2015 11:17:15    1790568