Dubs to appeal Connolly red

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=243520

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 01/09/2015 11:32:19    1779705

this is exactly whats wrong with the gaa, they are only enabling something like this happen again,
if it was his reputation that got him send off(wasn't, was a clear punch), he only has himself to blame

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 01/09/2015 11:51:18    1779733

I'm not sure what they are thinking appealing this. The one match ban was given as a carrot IMO. I think the CCCC are saying : Look you are guilty of striking and should receive a month. Take the 1 match ban and if your team go through to the next game your will be allowed to play. Is it not a risk to appeal and risk a longer suspension? If the ban was a month, for sure it is worth a throw of the dice.), but not sure in this instance

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 01/09/2015 11:52:30    1779738

They have nothing to loose by appealing so you can't blame the Dublin CB for trying. The CCCC has been a bit of a joke this summer so who knows what they will do.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11243 - 01/09/2015 12:11:25    1779766

Why wouldnt they appeal. Exactly the same as.the reason mayo appealed keanes red. Can of worms well and truly opened.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/09/2015 12:20:19    1779773

If Kevin Keane got off then so can Connolly. Keane punched after provocation, as did Connolly.

They never should have let Keane off as it gives Connolly a chance to get off too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13719 - 01/09/2015 12:31:36    1779789

Do you risk having the ban increased by appealing it?

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 01/09/2015 12:34:02    1779792

Tiernan McCann almost got 8 weeks for taking a dive (completely inexcusable) and Connolly receives a 1 match ban for punching/striking. I think those in charge need to focus on what really deserves punishment! Dublin would need to catch themselves on with this appeal, in my opinion he should be looking at missing the final if Dublin make it.

mmdtc2011 (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 01/09/2015 12:39:32    1779800

And rightly so.

Not because it wasn't a red card offence, But because the GAA in letting incidents like this go before, have set a precedent. By letting Connolly play the final in 2011 and Keane (Mayo) off his red v Donegal, The GAA have opened a can of worms.

It really is as simple as that. Now Connolly, whether people like it or not, Is one of the top ballers in Ireland. Dublin need him.

Everyone knows it. They will try get him off based on the fact Keane got off only a few weeks ago for a strike.

The rules dont suggest a strike on the floor is any worse than a strike when a guy is standing up, It also doesnt suggest how "hard" the strike must be. So simple logic dictates that Connolly should get off.

I actually dont think he will, But based on other CCC hearings recently, he absolutely should.

Here's hoping :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2015 12:44:28    1779804

how can he not get off when Keane got off for the same thing??????? Honestly if Keane didn't get off I would have no problem with Connolly being suspended.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2015 12:49:14    1779809

Just for the record most mayo supporters i talked too didnt even see why we appealed Keanes card apart from the fact we had nothing to lose. While he did slap murphy he barely connected with him but a slap is a slap. Obvious from the video that Murphy was mouthing to him and pushed him first but Keane should not have reacted. I dont understand what grounds Keane got off on. Keane should have been suspended for one match which was the game against Dublin in which he did not feature. I think all mayo supporters who understand the rules felt he should not have got off but naturally enough were delighted that he did.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 01/09/2015 13:09:58    1779843

So just that I understand ,when the association make a complete balls of it, like they did with Keane we now want and encourage this as the way forward .
I view it like this Dublin are right to appeal , as Mayo were right , you must stand by your player . The association were 100% wrong in over turning Keane appeal and will be 100% wrong in overturning DC appeal .
We will be seriously weakened by the loss of Dermo but you just cant do what he did , Ive played Ive seen the red mist descend and paid the price that's sport .
Whats truly sickening is not Dublin fans getting behind DC , its others pretending they would do any different .
Im truly galled with the supporters on here , when we play so called champagne football the comments are belittling snide and disrespectful , attacking football is scorned , when we do as we did on Sunday get ratty , play with a bit of an evil streak same lads are on complaing , lets face facts Dublin will never do anything that pleases most on here .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/09/2015 13:10:35    1779844

likewise ClonD

Dublin will try and get their man off.

You can't blame them.

I also reckon they'd just have accepted it had Kevin Keane not got off.

But if one can get off, So should the other.

I hear TheMaster on another thread saying you cant compare the strikes.

You can absolutely.

Nothing in the rule book states how hard a player had to be hit, Kevin Keave only tapped Murphy so its grand.

Thats not how the rule book views it. It doesnt matter if it was a tap or a full throttled dig in the jaw.

A strike is a strike. An attempted strike is an attempted strike. Both are red card offences. Both got reds.

Kevin Keane got off, So should Diarmuid Connolly.

End of discussion

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2015 13:16:13    1779853

But they didn't just let keane off. That is ridiculously simplistic. Obviously there was something we haven't heard about, an admin error of some sort is the usual one.

On the topic of an appeal, could the CCCC decide to upgrade the ban as well as downgrade it? Guys are talking about keane being a precedent, well there are also precedents of guys being banned for more than one match for a strike.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/09/2015 13:19:21    1779856

How can he get off when there's clear evidence of striking? Clutching at straws if their basis for the appeal is the Keane incident

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 01/09/2015 13:27:06    1779862

The hearing process is not based on precedence. Its case by case.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 01/09/2015 13:42:09    1779881

He should be allowed to play, a bit of handbags and wrestling on the ground and he was provoked. It is just his reputation and conviction for breaking a lads eye socket that is behind this.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 01/09/2015 13:50:56    1779885

As already flagged by other posters the can of worms was opened when Keane got off for his punch, therefore I would expect Connolly to get off as well, otherwaise it is double standards. It does beg the question as to what a player has to do get a ban these days.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 01/09/2015 14:14:10    1779907

Keane struck Michael Murphy - he was let play .

Connolly struck Keegan - now he should be let play .

The authorities that preside over this made a balls of it with the Keane affair .
How oh how Keane was let off was a joke .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/09/2015 14:26:23    1779920

So the logic that most of you are applying now would see every player cited for striking have their bans over turned on appeal.Whats the point of the bans in the first place then lads?
Personally I think Connolly should play because it takes two to get tangled up like they did,there is a difference in something like that and walking up to a lad and giving him a dirty dig out of nowhere.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 14:30:35    1779924