Will dubs have a team for replay?

Looking at the dubs indiscipline today. Looks like Cluxton,McMahon,Cooper,OSullivan,Flynn and Connolly cited by Ccc will they have bench to replace these guys?

Stato32 (Clare) - Posts: 73 - 30/08/2015 21:57:02    1778452

Could pick a few Mayo players also. Aidan O Shea and Diarmuid O Connor Should be cited too if they are going down that avenue.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 31/08/2015 08:45:22    1778472

Cillian O'Connor too.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 08:51:09    1778480

What about the great bench Dublin have , I thought they had another team on the bench or so all the talk was of all the talent they had
Have been listing to that for quite a while now, same as 2005 with Kerry and their bench , yet Tyrone won the Sam.
Look , lots of nonsense talked and wrote about teams while the truth is there was nothing between Cork , Kerry , Donegal Mayo and Dublin at different times over the last six years as one was as good as the other.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/08/2015 08:56:30    1778484

Nope, No point in even turning up

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/08/2015 08:59:41    1778486

What did Aidan O'Shea do wrong?

All game he was marshalled by two and often three Dublin lads. The Dubs lads were determined to stop him. It was fascinating stuff.

O'Shea did go in hard on Cluxton in the first half - then Cluxton had a go back. Not a lot in it all really.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 31/08/2015 09:03:31    1778493

Personally i think Connolly should serve his ban for his straight red and leave it at that.

Then again there should have been no more made out of the Mc Cann incident and i said at the time that the GAA were opening up a huge can of worms here in their actions.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 31/08/2015 09:05:39    1778495

At it hasn't took much to change things. Everybody happy to see dublin play the open and expansive football but now they have become the most cynical team that ever played at inter-county level. Give us a break, I am not saying we were innocent yesterday but it takes two to tango. Mayo of course will continue to the get the general public and GAA's sympathy vote until such a time as they go and win an all-ireland. You can see the desperation and hurt in their fans. Years of trying and not getting their hands on SAM has seen them become so caught up in themselves that nobody can tackle their players, nobody is entitled to foul them, every opposition player has an agenda that they play over the edge and quite frankly they are the innocent bystanders in a game that is dirty and cynical. They are now in a position that they couldn't envisage with ten minutes to go so if they have any balls whatsover they should win next saturday night and win the final because otherwise it is another wasted year of ifs and buts.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 31/08/2015 09:07:00    1778498

Mayo and Dublin are not physical and dirty teams.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 31/08/2015 09:17:30    1778509

Was at the game and have to say although only the last 10 mins were really exciting it was an enthralling spectical. The off the ball stuff from both sides was shuddering at times. I watched a few specific battles and both teams were to blame. Firstly Cillian O'Connor should have got red for swinging at Rory O'Carroll, Johnny Cooper could have got red for the yellow card he got, Aidan O'Shea seemed to pull Cluxton to the ground could have been black, The trip on Paul Flynn for Dublins penalty should have been black(never a penalty as it was outside the box) Cian O'Sullivan should have got yellow for pulling Diarmuid O'Connor's jersey(don't think its black because he didn't go to ground) if he had have got that yellow he would have been sent off later in the game as he picked up another(although maybe if he was on a yellow he wouldn't have committed the second one).Both Aidan O'Shea and Diarmuid Connolly got extra special treatment. McAuley's black card was never a black, Bastick's was a marginal call as the rule states it must be deliberate but I'll give the referee the benefit of the doubt. Phily McMahon(who's battle with Aidan O'Shea would have done a heavyweight title fight justice) looked as if he head butted Aidan and should have got red. Diarmuid Connolly did throw a punch and as reported had to go . Keegan should have got black as he pulled him to the ground. Mayo seemed to get frees easier than Dublin but Dublin's indiscipline getting frees moved closer made Cillian O'Connor's job easy(in fairness to him he never looked like missing all day). Finally Mayo's penalty looked like a free out for charging as Boyles 2 feet where off the ground. It was impossible for the referee as both teams were intent on winning the physical battle .
It will be interesting to see what happens to Connolly as its only 3 weeks ago that Kevin Keane clearly punched Michael Murphy and got what looked like a straight forward red card however on appeal he got it rescinded so I presume there's some difficulty with implementing the rule.

cuchulainn1 (Louth) - Posts: 246 - 31/08/2015 09:47:58    1778566

Superb post cuchulain!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2015 09:59:35    1778587

I thought yesterdays game was a serious battle between two of the most physical sides in the game. Naturally there was going to be heavy hits and a bit of off the ball antics. It will be interesting to see what the CCC do in relation to some of the video footage. I think Dublin will be sweating big time on Philly McMahon after he clearly head-butted O'Shea. Connolly's red has to stand. Can't imagine there will be any other retrospective action taken.

Gilly89 (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 31/08/2015 10:14:31    1778617

Personally I think Aidan O'Shea could of had a black card right at the start when he went in and dragged down Cluxton, it's about time the black card went as the inconsistency in applying it. Is it the case that the refs do not actually understand it?

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 31/08/2015 10:22:38    1778635

Interested to see why you think connollys red should stand gilly given that keane got off for a clear cut red only 3 weeks ago for mayo. In this instance keegan was the aggressor. I think he will get off and hope he does. Whats good for the goose etc.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2015 10:24:53    1778637

Dont think we will be sweating over Philly Mc.

If he misses out Darren Daly or someone else will come in.

Missing Diarmo is massive though.

And potentially Rory too.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/08/2015 10:28:10    1778644

Gilly89

1778617 I thought yesterdays game was a serious battle between two of the most physical sides in the game. Naturally there was going to be heavy hits and a bit of off the ball antics. It will be interesting to see what the CCC do in relation to some of the video footage. I think Dublin will be sweating big time on Philly McMahon after he clearly head-butted O'Shea. Connolly's red has to stand. Can't imagine there will be any other retrospective action taken.

Connollys red card has to stand? I bet you were delighted that Keanes red card for punching was recinded,will you not be sweating over oconner?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/08/2015 10:30:04    1778650

As a Mayo man, I would have to agree with the Dubs case for getting Connolly off. We should never have appealed Keane's red - he didn't even play in the game he would have missed FFS. If the rule is applied equally to Connolly, then he should get off.

Neither is right, both struck their opponent so both were rightly sent off and should rightly have been banned. GAA really messed up with the Keane one, left themselves open to all sorts there and I'd even go as far as saying there will need to be a new rule brought in for striking on the back of letting Keane off as every single player that gets the line for striking between now and congress will have a case for their suspension to be lifted.

Farcical really, and will probably come back to haunt us. Should have taken the Keane suspension on the chin.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 31/08/2015 10:35:38    1778665

Cluxton,
Fitzimmons,
R O Carroll- cant see him missing game,protocol or not,
Cooper,
McCarthy,
O Sullivan,
McCaffrey,
Bastick,- MDMA for second half,
Fenton,
Brady- big strong man,id give him a start,
Kilkenny,
Flynn,
Andrews,
Rock,
B Brogan.

Subs - J Small,MDMA,A Brogan,Kev Mc,C Costelloe etc - we've more than enough quality to win replay.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/08/2015 10:36:29    1778667

Jackeen

Interested to see why you think connollys red should stand gilly given that keane got off for a clear cut red only 3 weeks ago for mayo. In this instance keegan was the aggressor. I think he will get off and hope he does. Whats good for the goose etc.

Let me say from the start i dont agree with people missing matches because of red cards. Get your red miss the rest of the game and move on. These are amature players that play a handful of games a year so no more bans for red cards.

That being said connolly threw a punch on a man unprotected on the ground. Thats cowardly at the best of times. So can we please not go down the route of trying to defend his actions or lookinng for a loop hole. I dont agree with the ban but i certainly dont agree with dublin appealing what he did. He knew the rule he knew the consequence ad should be a man about it. If he doesnt whats the point of the ccc in the first place it seems more are recinded than enforced now adays.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 31/08/2015 10:43:25    1778680

Why would Cluxton, O'Sullivan, Flynn and Cooper (who got a yellow) be cited??? There's fair criticism to be made of Dublin (and to a lesser extent Mayo) for yesterday's game but some of the culchies on here are behaving like a pack of ravenous hyenas.

LeopoldBloom (UK) - Posts: 90 - 31/08/2015 10:45:54    1778686