Defending champions making the final

The last 6 champions failed to make the All-Ireland final in the following year. Fair play to Kerry for making the final against all the odds. Back-to-back titles are incredibly difficult to achieve in the football championship as everyone knows and accepts. We'll have to accept that Dublin or Mayo will be favourites in the final. We cannot have any qualms about that. Sure we'll hope for the best. It's great for the minors to be there on All-Ireland final day again as well. Ciarraí abú!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7844 - 23/08/2015 20:54:24    1774842

If Mayo make the final

Kerry will be favs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/08/2015 21:01:16    1774850

Hopefully nobody entertains this cute kerry hoorism

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/08/2015 21:04:24    1774855

If Mayo make the final

But they wont so that is a moot point.

I have been critical all year about our porous defence and was once again proven right with the numerous chances given up.

Make no mistake the Blue Juggernaut will pass those chances up and we will be in smithereens. Not the 30th ranked defence for nothing and as the yanks say defence wins championships.

With our two best players being severely hampered by injury it only further reduces our already slim chances of winning the final. But we're not worried what happens, we are very proud of their accomplishments to get to an AI Final against all the odds both times speaks volumes for their attitude and character. We'll travel in hope of a good performance but certainly not strong expectations of a victory. Although we were massive outsiders last year between the final 4 teams and came out on top so you never know,

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/08/2015 15:58:17    1775407

Lads, absolutely nobody is buying this rubbish. Jog on.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 24/08/2015 16:05:26    1775415

I think Mayo will beat Dublin and if/when they do, Kerry will be forced to re-think their defence. With a big full forward and willing runners out the field Mayo could flood through to take advantage more than Tyrone.

That said, if Dublin make it there I fancy the Dubs to get goals also.

Whatever happens from now on, the three best teams in the land have made it this far.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/08/2015 16:06:32    1775419

I fancy Mayo to come out on top on Sunday.
It's the first time they've added something serious to their approach.
That along with Dub's midfield and Flynn not firing gives them a serious chance.
The dubs not tested line won't be a factor. They are too good for that to affect them.
Don't know who I'll be shouting for.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/08/2015 16:21:20    1775427

Breffni, are you blind, biased or what?

ON HS and other forums I have been inundated with people whinging about ref favouritism, Morgan's poor kick-ots and missed goal chances with no positive reference to Kerry football anywhere bar the Kerry forum and you have the audacity to insult me. I was proven 100% regarding our poor defence and if you think the Blue Juggernaut wont take those chances you are greatly deluded.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/08/2015 16:29:39    1775433

Listen

All silliness aside for a minute Kerry lads

It's a very impressive achievement to date

No AI Champ for quite a while have made it to back to back finals

That was the most difficult thing...

Just getting there

Kerry have overcome that now and are just one good performance away

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/08/2015 16:32:54    1775435

The 'Blue Juggernaut' have to try get past Mayo first KYTitletown before we can even begin to worry about Kerry.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 24/08/2015 16:36:12    1775440

CroiGorm

1775440 The 'Blue Juggernaut' have to try get past Mayo first KYTitletown before we can even begin to worry about Kerry.

____

Yes

Dublin have by far the tougher route

Tyrone for me very much over achieved this year and then lucked out with the weather yesterday

Kerry were comfortable before the peno yesterday and proved that by finishing 4 points ahead even after conceding 1-1 in about 80 secs

IMO If it wasn't for the weather - I reckon Kerry would have had 8+ on Tyrone

Tyrone have no forwards - for a team with such a handicap - I would give them huge credit but again - def think they overachieved

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/08/2015 16:40:25    1775447

reaching the final against the odds? beat Kildare relegated to div 3 in the quarter final and beat Tyrone relegated to div 2. Not convinced by Kerry a lucky side more than a great side and whoever wins the semi final this weekend should win the All Ireland.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 24/08/2015 17:40:42    1775503

Ha ha.....good man pundit....Kerry as always have the best footballers in the country, there the cleverest footballers in the country and yes like every champ have gotten a slice of luck but too say luck is the main reason is ridiculous and plain wrong...and also ur theory on the weakness of there opposition would write Dublin totally out so and must mean they are beyond lucky to be where they are

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 24/08/2015 18:09:29    1775519

Tyrone for me very much over achieved this year and then lucked out with the weather yesterday

Eh I'm not sure, Tyrone play a running game that's very reliant on accurate passing and the weather probably had an effect on Morgan's kick-outs. Probably would've lost either way but this stuff about rain being a great leveler is just a cliche.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/08/2015 18:23:23    1775529

Should have been us looking forward to the final. With Tyrone robbing us it deprived monaghan the chance to prove our worth and win Sam. Always next year after we steamroller all in ulster for the third time.

farneyforsam (Monaghan) - Posts: 35 - 24/08/2015 19:09:29    1775546

southmeathgael the OP reckons Kerry have reached the final against the odds? how so when beating Kildare,Tyrone?? Dublin to the reach the final will have to beat Mayo a top 3 or 4 side Mayo themselves had beat Donegal last year AI finalists and Dublin just to reach this years final.

Kerry have been lucky against Mayo twice last year,Donegal in the All Ireland final,luck yesterday and lucky against Cork in the Munster final. Most top sides do have luck along the way but that luck eventually runs out which is why i think Dublin or Mayo will win this years All Ireland.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 24/08/2015 19:32:28    1775555

Good man Mr Pundit you've just proved my point. A poor side reaching the AI Final 2 years in a row is definitely winning against the grain as I have stated albeit not as bluntly as you.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/08/2015 21:36:30    1775632

A nice piece of "spin" from our Kerry posters. Kerry are hot favourites to win the All Ireland now regardless of who is in the final. The word is out from the Kingdom, talk up Dublin and Mayo. Talk down Kerry- I mean they only have 37 All Ireland titles, to Mayo's 3!!!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 25/08/2015 09:45:06    1775688

Galwayford you have been scathing of Kerry for a long time. 'We're lucky' 'We're cynical' 'We have the refs paid off' and other such rhetoric so your guff isn't being bought by a single Kerry soul.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2015 15:51:27    1776022

The last 6 champions failed to make the All-Ireland final in the following year. Dublin and Donegal can vouch for how difficult it is to do.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7844 - 26/08/2015 22:01:19    1776875