Fine Dining

All was going well on Sunday until the second half of senior game.With about fifteen minutes to go my stomach started to groan like thunder,flatulence became a problem and i broke out in convulsive sweats.Now i know the game was on a knife edge,but something was not right.Id say the poor priest sitting beside me thought i had the house on the game.Post game,the walk back to the bus was a struggle.Although space was at a premium,due to me sweating buckets like that pilot out of film "Airplane"i conveniently had a double seat to myself.I didnt look,or feel very well at all.When i reached my stop,i nearly burst through front door,to reach the Holy Grail.Never was i so pleased to see Kitten Soft.And Kitchen Roll,tea towels etc.Lets just say things got a little out of hand.By Sunday Game time,i was grateful that my core body temperature had gotten below 200 degrees centigrade.At last i was on the home straight.It got me thinking what had me in such a delicate state.And then i remembered.At 1pm i had what i believed to be a chicken burger.On further reflection,im sure it said "chernobyll burger".Funny thing was it tasted great.Next time ill opt for the hotdog.Have any other Croke Park patrons suffered the seismic aftershocks of indulging in HQs culinary delights?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/08/2015 09:45:32    1771811

I had a chicken burger on Sunday too Cued and actually said to my son it was the best chicken burger I'd ever tasted. In saying that though, I'd used my bosses tickets and was in Premium so maybe the grub is different up there ;)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/08/2015 09:52:39    1771816

ha ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!

brilliant post, honest and funny. It could have been worse (that scene from Bridesmaids or the other one from Dumb & Dumber).

To date, nothing that bad but it would make you wonder if the auld Tipperary tradition of bring yer own ham sambos is the answer.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/08/2015 09:59:41    1771823

Chicken is very susceptible to these sorts of viruses; I've had food poisoning twice due to badly-cooked chicken. No need to tell you that it's decidedly unpleasant. Ever since I've tended to plump for red meat if I'm getting a takeaway.

Tend to avoid eating and drinking in Croker as I remember it being fairly pricey anyway.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2015 10:10:07    1771834

Your post reminds me of a time.....
I once brought a good friend to Croke Park for his first ever GAA Match. It was 2010 and he was a wide eyed Louth man who had only ever been at Croker Park to see U2 and Ireland v Cyprus. The game itself was the ill fated Leinster Final where Joe Sheridan crossed the white wash to bring the Delaney Cup back to Meath.
When I had initially invited this Virgin GAA fan to the game he had no interest but I urged him to go as he might never get the chance to see his native county win a cup in the hallowed grounds of Croke Park. Eventually he agreed to attend and we met at Quinns Pub for 1pm that day. Over the following hours he must have met every man, woman and child he knew from Drogheda and her hinterland. He began to really enjoy the banter with the Meath fans, many of which he also knew and ventured down to buy a jersey and hat to show his new found devotion to the cause. On arriving into the ground and finding a good vantage point on Hill 16, my learned friend was a bundle of excitement. When both teams passed the Hill during the parade I actually saw a tear in his eye. At last he began to understand the power of the GAA and how the Parish/County make up can make fanatics of us all.
At half time we had a burger and a coke and then resettled back into our spot on Hill 16. With 5 minutes to my friend turned to me in his red eyed state and thanked me for bringing him. He then proceeded to invite me down to Drogheda for the next couple of days because he predicted a massive carnival.......but then, well as they say "the rest is history"
5 minutes after full time my poor Louth friend started complaining of a stomach upset and asked was I also suffering. I felt fine and as it transpired his ill feeling was not food related but came from a deep psychological blow that to this day still leaves an element of scar tissue. I suppose it was then I first really understood the expression "Gutted"

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 18/08/2015 10:15:34    1771837

Sorry to hear that man not a pleasant experience at all.
You were unfortunate I guess but it's the risk you take with all those stands and burger vans etc.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2015 10:17:48    1771838

At one stage i thought of asking that Tipp priest for my last rites.Stick to hotdog fellow posters.Dont come cryin on here if ye suffer the same fate.Ye have been warned(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/08/2015 10:31:35    1771848

Haha, good post cuederocket, although sorry to hear about your bad experience, we've all been there and it's not very pleasant. Never had a bad experience in Croker although to be honest apart from the very occasional hotdog I rarely ever eat there, prefer just to drink.

The day of the Westmeath game this year I felt the tummy rumbling that morning and things took a turn for the worst before I even left for the bus. I'd had a BBQ the day before you see and devoured as much prawns, chicken skewers, hotdogs, burgers, crisps, sweets and drink as my ever growing belly could handle so it was hardly surprising that I wasn't 100%. Without trying to sound crude I spent a large part of that sunday sitting on the throne but to be fair I was drinking Guinness all day as well, thought it might help settle the stomach, it didn't!

Still though, even with a bad stomach and a bad result for Meath, I wasn't feeling too bad overall and managed to stay out for the night with few repercussions the next day.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/08/2015 10:44:55    1771858

Last Saturday week I paid €6:50 for a bottle of Coke and a small tray of chips taken out of, what I thought was, a shelf with a hotlamp. Say down in the Hogan and my chips were barely warm. I, like an eejit, ate a few and then went back out and put the rest in the bin. Horrible! Worst thing is it never dawned on me to complain and try and get my money back.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 18/08/2015 11:15:09    1771889

All jokes aside I don't think the catering is good at all there and at the Limerick v Kilkenny game in 2014, when rain was causing havoc and with two young lads Under 10 in tow, trying to get warm food was a disaster given the queues and poor quality food.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/08/2015 12:28:12    1771958

Lads its a stadium! Name one in the world with good food. It is manned a few times a year and doesnt have a fully functional kitchen. Give your money to the many bars around croker instead of more to HQ and get some good grub, a pint and a bit of craic before or after a game

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 18/08/2015 12:59:41    1771988

I usually feel sick looking at the price of food in Croke Park!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/08/2015 12:59:56    1771989

Lads its a stadium! Name one in the world with good food.

Thurles

Not great mind you but not food you'd see in front of you again....

But there it is vans whereas Croker has its own neat little shops.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/08/2015 13:10:05    1771995

If cavan people can sneak oranges in (and the gaurds are on high alert for them) surely we can sneak a wee burger in

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 18/08/2015 13:25:42    1772018

When Limerick played Cavan in 2002, I saw a fella in a track suit with his arms awful limp. Turned out he withdrew his hands from the arms of the top so he could break up a golden crisp bar and not have to offer it to anyone. He kept pretending to cough but he was feeding himself out the top of the track suit.

Bar finished, arms started working again.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/08/2015 14:03:55    1772059

Got a 'mega burger' (Not sure why it was called Mega) from a van after the Fermanagh game.. The arse or stomach wasn't right till Wednesday! Defo wasn't the 15 pints of porter!!

to be fair, the cavery up the back of cusack around 303/304 is decent enough - bout €15 but worth the extra money as it fills you and you are less likely to be gluing your arse cheeks together till you make it home!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 14:32:46    1772073

slayer
County: Limerick

hahahaha Slayer, sure those Cavan lads would peel an Orange in their pocket!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 14:33:40    1772074

Bahaha cue

Mind you, lot of verbal diarrhoea on this site :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 18/08/2015 15:12:07    1772102