AI Semi-Final Dublin V Mayo

Let's get it going lads, the big time has arrived, Mayo looking very good, I'm worried anyway :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 08/08/2015 19:37:15    1766131

Would be worried myself... Mayo favourites?

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 08/08/2015 19:42:56    1766138

dub by 8

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 08/08/2015 19:51:36    1766147

Very worried Mayo look awesome , honestly this is going to be very hard for Dublin to win.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2015 19:58:45    1766152

Mayo's to lose cluxton will do well to keep the ball kicked out

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 08/08/2015 20:06:24    1766161

Good Lord Dubs i like it better when ye are raggin on us At least i know then what ye are up to But any way it should be 1 hell of a game Maigh Eo Abu

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/08/2015 20:12:10    1766166

I'm not playing any silly games I'm being honest it's going to be very hard for us to beat this Mayo team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2015 20:28:04    1766178

Without a shadow of a doubt , easily 2 of the top 3 teams ! Really looking forward to this one . Hope Mayo can do it and finally end their drought in final . Dubs will be very happy going into this game and will also be expecting to win . You can talk all you want about form or what previous performances mean - they mean absolutely nothing . It will be just 2 top teams going in with a clean slate and going at it hammer and tongs . Toss of a coin . I have had a sneaky feeling for Mayo all year so wont change now but I do fear for them a bit in that they don't always press home their superiority . Dubs only hitting their stride now so it has the makings of an epic !

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/08/2015 20:49:26    1766193

Two intriguing semi-finals to look forward to. Despite Kerry being hot favourites their recent history with Tyrone makes this quite an occasion while Mayo and Dublin has all the ingredients to be the game of the Championship so far.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 08/08/2015 21:05:26    1766212

Dublin to win.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/08/2015 21:56:56    1766259

Really looking forward to this one-should be game of the year. Expect Mayo to dominate round the middle an win it from there. Both Kerry and Mayo seem to have progressed from last year but not so sure Dublin have. At least their supporters have learned to start talking down their team I guess-don't overdo it now lads!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 09/08/2015 08:16:26    1766263

The intensity and quality of the Mayo challenge will be light years ahead of anything Dublin have faced so far and I think they will have difficulty adapting. They have not had to break a sweat in any of their previous games but this one is going to be fiercely contested. Dublin's procession to this stage leaves them seriously unprepared for battle and I expect Mayo to win.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 09/08/2015 08:48:51    1766269

Blacknamber you've just said yourself your not sure if we've progressed then say "good to see we're playing it down" hahaha jaysus.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/08/2015 09:20:33    1766272

Mayo hadnt before yesterday either Galwayabu I honestly don't think that matters too much if we're not good enough we're not good enough no excuses.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/08/2015 09:22:27    1766275

For the record dubLin are my favourite team to watch. They plaY football the right way.
I'd be interested to hear what Dublin people think...it might be a bit strange to say but I don't think ye have been playing aswell going into the semi final as last year. Not creating near as many goal chances. Having said that o'suillivan has shored up the centre of that defence.
I do give mayo a right chance in this but I'll be keeping my money in my pocket!
Championship is finally about to start!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/08/2015 09:26:26    1766276

Dublin have scored a huge amount of goals in the championship to date, albeit against porous defenses. The key for Dublin is to at least come away with a point from every goal attempt. Within that lies an element of correct decision making from the players but we have seen an improvement this year in the amount of fisted goals. A few big selection decisions for Gavin in this game that he must get right. Mayo were unable to contest the Dublin kickout to any degree in the 2013 final but you would think they will address that. But if Mayo push up on Dublin we need a viable long ball strategy to expose the space left in behind. The key for Dublin in the game is to keep the area in front of goal tight and do enough around the middle to get the forwards into it. If we do that i think we will win but Mayo will equally fancy their chances of getting a goal or two and dominating the centre 8.

Its a 50/50 game that has all the ingredients of being a classic.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 09/08/2015 10:14:02    1766310

How Dublin handle Aidan O'Se will be the key to this game.

The Dublin management will be burning the midnight oil over the next couple of weeks

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/08/2015 10:22:13    1766315

Will Mayo do a Fitz on it by using A O'Shea as a decoy? Can that Mayo defence keep the slate clean and the green flag down again? Should Dublin adapt partially or overwhelmingly to overcome this challenge OR trust, for the most part, in the attacking prowess? Fascinating.

May it go to a replay and a few shtars wreck themselves &/or get a red card. Cute hoorism? Very lahst year, ha?!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 09/08/2015 10:35:09    1766332

The last two times Dublin have played Mayo in Championship football the referee played too big a part in the game.

The free count against Dublin both days was horrific. Dublin couldnt buy a free.

The ref will be a huge factor. In fairness, Mayo fans learned this last year when the Mayo team were robbed in Limerick against Kerry. That was up there as one of the most one sided reffing performances in recent memory.

Hopefully the ref isnt an influence. Look theres a general mood in the country that does feel for this Mayo bunch, and they probably deserve an AI medal.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/08/2015 11:53:31    1766406

Look theres a general mood in the country that does feel for this Mayo bunch, and they probably deserve an AI medal.

I dont feel a bit sorry for them personally

Sport is sport. It's a game.

And like most sport, You get what you deserve. Mayo have had teams good enough to get to finals in the last 10 years or so.

Unfortunately for them, They havent been good enough to get over the line....yet!

That may well change this year.

It may not.

But whoever wins the all ireland will be worthy winners.

I expect Dublin to beat Mayo.

If they dont, And Mayo go on to win the final, Then fair play.

If they dont, its another chance thats come, and another that they will have wasted.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/08/2015 12:14:51    1766433