James O'Donoghue the best forward since Mikey Sheehy...

Very mature performance from James yesterday. Can play the scorer role or playmaker role. Sacrifices himself for the team. Will be better than Gooch and Maurice Fitz. The question is will he be better than Mikey Sheehy?

TeasyCliff (Kerry) - Posts: 13 - 19/07/2015 19:59:22    1755950

Overrated, I think. Did nothing in the All Ireland final when properly marked and and by James Loughrey of Cork this year. A good penalty winner by whatever means are necessary and good penalty taker, well able to feign injury and knows all the tricks as only those coached in Kerry would know. Good for a laugh on twitter as well. I wouldn't swop Cillian O'Connor for him that's for sure.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 19/07/2015 20:16:13    1755970

Outstanding player I love watching him play up there with the Kerry greats but just a bit behind Gooch who is the greatest forward I've ever seen.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2015 20:47:33    1755994

You've a short memory considering the damage he did against Mayo last year !
He's class, but even class acts are well marshalled on occasion . In this age of blanket defence it's harder than ever for class forwards to shine . O Donaghue contributed in the AI final last year by going out hunting ball rather than staying inside being smothered . Give credit were it's due, Cillian O Connor is a special talent too

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 19/07/2015 20:48:33    1755997

A bit harsh JamesH. He is a great player, very unselfish, a great worker & finisher. Better than Gooch, Sheehy or Fitzgerald? Hard to know yet but he could be.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 19/07/2015 20:52:46    1756005

No.

But he's the best from Kerry (along with the Gooch & Maurice Fitzgerald) since John Egan (RIP) who IMO was well ahead of Sheehy.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 19/07/2015 20:53:04    1756007

JamesH
Ye already have 2 Kerrymen in Aidan and Seamie O'Shea so we won't be giving ye the footballer of the year as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2015 20:54:40    1756008

He's so talented but the amount of diving the boy does doesnt reflect well. Not up with the likes of Diarmuid Connolly or the Gooch yet. He can still get marked out of games.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 19/07/2015 21:04:56    1756022

JamesH

Overrated, I think. Did nothing in the All Ireland final when properly marked and and by James Loughrey of Cork this year. A good penalty winner by whatever means are necessary and good penalty taker, well able to feign injury and knows all the tricks as only those coached in Kerry would know. Good for a laugh on twitter as well. I wouldn't swop Cillian O'Connor for him that's for sure.

-----
Agree with all of this. Didn't even know he was playing yesterday until I read the OP. How many scores did he get?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4701 - 19/07/2015 21:16:44    1756035

Oh dear , not even the best forward in Kerry , McManus in Cavan and D Connolly in Dublin are ahead of your boy IMO , but you need to feel you you have the best so no doubt you will disagree .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/07/2015 21:16:53    1756036

Serious player with tons of potential, would have him before O'Connor but not Connolly. Definitely one of the best forwards in the game though!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 19/07/2015 21:28:13    1756047

In fairness connoly and McManus are great players and never get injured where James missed 6 months with a shoulder problem that he had to have an operation on and he's not long back from it, I think if we can manage to beat Fermanagh or Westmeath we'll start to see the best of him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2015 21:33:44    1756053

Damothedub
McManus in Cavan? you obviously don't see too far outside the big smoke

Watch_The_Post (Australia) - Posts: 14 - 19/07/2015 21:40:21    1756060

Damothedub

McManus in Cavan

Oh dear...

bob_dolphin (Limerick) - Posts: 694 - 19/07/2015 21:46:47    1756063

I'd put Gooch and Maurice Fitz ahead of Sheehy for a start. JOD has great potential, interesting to see how he progresses

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 338 - 20/07/2015 10:48:40    1756172

KingdomBoy1

JamesH
Ye already have 2 Kerrymen in Aidan and Seamie O'Shea so we won't be giving ye the footballer of the year as well.

This again.

I went to school with one of the O'Sheas for years in Castlebar; they're about as much Kerrymen as Kieran Donaghy is a Tyrone man, or Michael Murphy is a Mayo man. Anyone who saw AOS's commitment in last year's semi-final replay could hardly make the argument that he's secretly a Yerra Yerra man.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/07/2015 10:56:38    1756185

Very subjective. Don't think he has done a whole lot in the championship to date. Let's be honest how he got MOTM in the replay was unbelieveable.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 20/07/2015 11:00:28    1756192

Good player but play acting a good bit lately ruins his talent for me

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/07/2015 11:02:54    1756196

The problem is people feel they have to put a label on players. Best forward ever, in last 10 years etc
O Donoghue is a class act and he showed it in the AI Final and last weekend that when conditions dont suit he is willing to put in the hard yards ansd work his socks off for the team.
His role the last day was even more important than the 10 points he kicked in last years Munster Final. he did some amount of off the ball running and gaining hard possession.

I am still adamant he wasnt man of the match the last day though!

Just as a FYI TeasyCliffy I personally I have no problem defending Kerry and Kerry players if getting undue criticism but I am not one to lose the run of myself boasting about Kerry. You are new but what I have seen so far is that nearly every post is something along the lines of Kerry being the greatest bla bla bla
A bit of unbiased analysis is what is needed and you wont last if every post is written with rose tinted glasses!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 20/07/2015 11:07:49    1756203

Very good player,but the statement is silly,you have many forwards in the country as good as him,look what McManus does for Monaghan,imagine he was in the Kerry team for example..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/07/2015 11:10:09    1756206