Cork Double Talk

Cork are in the AI hurling QF and should have been in the AI football QF if the Munster final had been refed fairly

It is now time to ask the question can Cork do the football and hurling double ? will cork do the football and hurling double ? YES /NO

My guess is probably NO but possibly YES

Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 700 - 13/07/2015 12:05:20    1752416

I think there is more chance of a Dubs double than a Cork one?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/07/2015 12:09:49    1752422

NO.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 13/07/2015 12:10:57    1752426

Tipp have a better chance fella ;)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 13/07/2015 12:11:21    1752427

25 Years since Cork done the double this could be a 25th aniversary celebration for the REBELS

Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 700 - 13/07/2015 12:25:29    1752438

Only if you're talking about a ladies' double ;) Can't see the men winning either.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2015 12:37:33    1752446

NO NO NO NO

cork wont win either all ireland much less both.
In the last two weeks we had displays of heart and fight which had long been missing from cork teams but lets not be studpid we are a good bit behind in both codes simple as that

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 13/07/2015 15:21:34    1752621

I think we have great chance of double but need Collie O'Neill and Brian Hurley to return to form for footballers

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 21/07/2015 20:59:51    1757268

I'd probably bet on the Dubs or Galway before Cork.
Cork have only ever won 7 football AIs is it ? However ye have lost like 18 or 19 I'd say.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/07/2015 11:49:04    1757434

Well this is embarrassing.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/07/2015 10:28:59    1759510

Heh heh heh......

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/07/2015 10:43:48    1759524

No harm sticking your neck our for a prediction and get a bit of chat going...

I say fair play!

Some lads on here just like to play it far too safe...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/07/2015 10:47:03    1759527

I think we have great chance of double but need Collie O'Neill and Brian Hurley to return to form for footballers

HughHunt24 (Cork) - 21/07/2015 20:59:51

You'd do we'll to listen to you're Countyman ritchie. Seems to have a better idea of where ye are at present. JBM will be back alright next year but ye will need to improve like ourselves to have any chance.
As for footballers , well I think there are more serious issues there and can't see a football AI happening too soon. Cork have fine players but confidence and leadership is gone.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 27/07/2015 10:55:46    1759533

Id say theres not a chance that JBM will be back.His post game interview said as much.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2015 11:13:58    1759553

SLLY

HughHunt24 (Cork) - 21/07/2015 20:59:51

You'd do we'll to listen to you're Countyman ritchie. Seems to have a better idea of where ye are at present. JBM will be back alright next year but ye will need to improve like ourselves to have any chance.
As for footballers , well I think there are more serious issues there and can't see a football AI happening too soon. Cork have fine players but confidence and leadership is gone.

Iv been watching and playing the game for last 30 years.. Maybe my county men should listen to me.
Over the weekend we have exited both codes with limp displays.
In the football we got hammered by a team who will be plying the fortunes in div 3 league. We showed up for one game this year and while it was unfair to loose it would have masked the issues in the camp. It is widely known the issues cuthbert has with his charges and to say he lost the dressing room is an understatement. In house fighting with players who have given years of service to cork and are looked up to by the younger generation was always going to cause problems. Couple that with the fact that he cant seem to get a team who have had success at underage level to a point of consistancy is extremely worrying.

Regarding the hurlers how is it possible that we cant get 20 players in a county with such a rich tradition of hurling who can at least compete.JBM has tried but the game has changed .. what we need is someone who has the tactical awareness so that he can get the most out of these players. We have a selection of players who would walk on to any team but we cant seem to get a functioning strategy. For galways first goal yesterday the galway player past 4/5 cork players who didnt lay a finger on him ..

Iv stated before that cork have lost the biggest thing that made cork cork . We always had heart and fight. Where did our heart and fight go. On my face book page today there is an intercounty star who has had his phone "frapped" . Posting some strange messages. These messages in them selves are not the issue. THE ISSUE IS THAT IT IS QUITE OBVIOUS THAT THEY ARE IN THE PUB. After yesterdays performance im surprised the would go out at all given the heartless gutless performance.

In cork we as supporters have always been behind our men, Cause we knew no matter what we would get 100% and we would loose with honour. But now we have a bunch of pre-madonnas who think once they make the panel they are something special.. Where as the reality is they become special when they give us a performance and only then. We beat a bad wexford team and a poor clare team and they get notions about themselves.

I set up a tread a few weeks ago calling for a complete overhaul from club level up
and i got slated in some quarters for not supporting my team. Iv supported cork since 1985.. Iv seen great days and awful days but let me tell you cork GAA is at its lowest ebb in my life time. The loss to galway in 2002 pales in comparisson to this weekend . We dont have the players with the skill level to compete at senior standard and anyone saying different is looking at a different team..

And it comes from club all the way to the top

And everyone is wrong the board the management to players and those who never go to their local club to help out with the under age training

its awful at the moment

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 27/07/2015 14:14:32    1759712

Iv been watching and playing the game for last 30 years.. Maybe my county men should listen to me.
Over the weekend we have exited both codes with limp displays.
In the football we got hammered by a team who will be plying the fortunes in div 3 league. We showed up for one game this year and while it was unfair to loose it would have masked the issues in the camp.

Regarding the hurlers how is it possible that we cant get 20 players in a county with such a rich tradition of hurling who can at least compete.JBM has tried but the game has changed .. what we need is someone who has the tactical awareness so that he can get the most out of these players. We have a selection of players who would walk on to any team but we cant seem to get a functioning strategy. For galways first goal yesterday the galway player past 4/5 cork players who didnt lay a finger on him ..

Iv stated before that cork have lost the biggest thing that made cork cork . We always had heart and fight. Where did our heart and fight go.

In cork we as supporters have always been behind our men, Cause we knew no matter what we would get 100% and we would loose with honour. But now we have a bunch of pre-madonnas who think once they make the panel they are something special.. Where as the reality is they become special when they give us a performance and only then. We beat a bad wexford team and a poor clare team and they get notions about themselves.

I set up a tread a few weeks ago calling for a complete overhaul from club level up
and i got slated in some quarters for not supporting my team. Iv supported cork since 1985.. Iv seen great days and awful days but let me tell you cork GAA is at its lowest ebb in my life time. The loss to galway in 2002 pales in comparisson to this weekend . We dont have the players with the skill level to compete at senior standard and anyone saying different is looking at a different team..

And it comes from club all the way to the top

And everyone is wrong the board the management to players and those who never go to their local club to help out with the under age training

its awful at the moment

You're obviously hurting pretty bad at the moment and I can't blame you. We went out in the hurling this weekend but to loose both codes in the one weekend is gutting and especially in the manner you mention. I find JBM an honest and decent punter and feel sorry for him to go out to Galway without much of a fight. He did get ye to an AI final only a couple of years ago so I would say ye can't be too far away in the small ball stakes anyway and I won't pretend to know as much as yourself in relation to Cork GAA matters but the footballers were really disappointing against Kildare and were probably deflated after being robbed in Killarney.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 27/07/2015 14:45:26    1759742

Galway its over to you for the double!

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 27/07/2015 16:09:58    1759828

Illusionist- We'll get right on that. Honest. :)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 27/07/2015 19:16:14    1759975

Iv stated before that cork have lost the biggest thing that made cork cork . We always had heart and fight. Where did our heart and fight go.

Three strikes in a decade and the heart & fight was put into civil war, not the opposition. Focusing on things like GPA issues and trying to get Kilkenny to wear their socks down for a parade when KLilkenny were just worried about beating Cork.

At least Limerick's strike brought about some change for the better, going from a 24 point All-Ireland semi final defeat in 2009 to two NHL 1B finals, two Munster Finals and two All-Ireland semi finals where we lost to the eventual champions.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 28/07/2015 11:27:51    1760149

Absolutely slayer.Ive said as much on quite a few occassions.The strikes have left their legacy.A lot of damage was done.Damage which can be felt to this day.Even listening to Donal Og lambast F Murphy on the Sunday Game,it is plainly obvious that all in Cork are not pulling in the same direction.Donal Og played his part in this fiasco also.Maybe somebody should remind him of this when he goes off on a rant the next time.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/07/2015 11:51:06    1760163