What happened here?

Generally speaking any challenge games i have been to are tepid affairs. Sounds like this one was nasty. Anyone know what actually happened?I just hope this doesn't descend into a dirty ulster so and so thread.

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=240609

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/07/2015 13:08:13    1749177

Posted from similar thread on Dublin County page

I would imagine you will not get too many comments passed the mods on this lads.
Seems to be a possible legal case if followed up so they will not risk anything getting out on here that may leave them vulnerable from a legal stand point.
That is most likely why no Armagh players were mentioned in the herald/balls.ie

My suggestion is leave it alone as all of these situations come out in the wash eventually.

Disgusting behavior from what I have heard.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 07/07/2015 13:26:52    1749193

I started a thread this morning on this. Now I know why it wasn't posted. Unbelievable behavior. Won't be long coming out who the culprit is I imagine although I will wait to hear it from the proper channels unlike a similar issue that was done to death here on HS a number of years ago AND the wrong person shamed!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/07/2015 13:57:12    1749223

Jaysus ..

Typical Ulster though Wha!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/07/2015 14:13:48    1749245

And not even a pre match parade to get Armagh angry.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/07/2015 14:19:17    1749254

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

gilly2308
Galway

Davey Byrne

Just reading in today's Indo that Dublin footballer Davey Byrne has been released from hospital after sustaining a number of serious facial injuries in a recent challenge match with Armagh. The Ballymun Kickhams player is understood to have suffered a fractured eye socket and a broken nose, amongst other injuries. with The incident occurring PRIOR to throw-in at a behind-closed-doors match between Dublin and Kieran McGeeney's Armagh. This is absolutely outrageous, and it's incredible the non existent coverage that this incident has received. If this occurred on the street, it would be treated more serious, but of course this being the GAA, it will be brushed under the carpet. http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=240609

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 07/07/2015 14:24:59    1749264

Sounds very serious. Most importantly lets hope the injured guy recovers that was mentioned and any other potential players injured. I agree with earlier post these forums are not the place to discuss these kind of incidents, how it started and whatever happened I am sure will come out. I am shocked though like it was only meant to a challenge match. If these two teams do end up meeting later in the year it may need 3 refs after this.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 07/07/2015 14:30:18    1749271

Hold on lads, nobody has confirmed that he was actually struck. It was pre-match. Is it possible that he collided with a team mate during a high intensity drill etc. If he was struck then the culprit should get the book at him but lets wait first to see.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/07/2015 14:38:36    1749278

Once again its clear to see that the public hav sentenced the northern footballer to death without knowing any facts. Wise up people, while what happened does appear to be disgusting, id imagine 2 parties were involved and it wasnt a random act. Lets not jump the gun and blame the 'nordie' straight away again. Dubs well fit to look after themselves.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 07/07/2015 14:40:52    1749282

I completly agree Tir Connail. These forums can be dangerous and label a whole county or team very quickly. At the minute lets hope the serious injuries clear up. In the meantime lets wait and see what happened, we do not need sensational media headlines that have happened in the past and actually been proven to be incorrect later. Of course if assaults have happened they need to be dealt with.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 07/07/2015 14:59:19    1749303

07/07/2015 14:38:36
Tir Conaill Abu

1749278 Hold on lads, nobody has confirmed that he was actually struck. It was pre-match. Is it possible that he collided with a team mate during a high intensity drill etc. If he was struck then the culprit should get the book at him but lets wait first to see.

so he could of fractured his jaw and broken eye socket from tripping over his laces?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 07/07/2015 15:09:21    1749316

I'm as intrigued as anyone on this guys, but lets hold fire on the dirty north stuff to we hear!!

If their is another player involved then i would say a lengthy lengthy ban in needed.... The fact the game went ahead leads me to think that maybe possibly it is separate to both teams on the field!!

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 07/07/2015 15:54:43    1749348

Without wanting to condone this incident, before any high horses are mounted it is worth remembering a few years back something similar in a challenge game between the same teams occurred where an Armagh player was on the receiving end of a pretty brutal "tackle".

Whatever action, if necessary, should be taken if what is being insinuated is true.

northarmaghgael (Armagh) - Posts: 40 - 07/07/2015 15:55:28    1749350

Tir Conaill Abu

Hold on lads, nobody has confirmed that he was actually struck. It was pre-match. Is it possible that he collided with a team mate during a high intensity drill etc. If he was struck then the culprit should get the book at him but lets wait first to see.

I've just been told by a current Dublin footballer who drops in to my job and was there at the time that he was 'struck', repeatedly.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/07/2015 16:37:23    1749383

northarmaghgael
County: Armagh

Without wanting to condone this incident, before any high horses are mounted it is worth remembering a few years back something similar in a challenge game between the same teams occurred where an Armagh player was on the receiving end of a pretty brutal "tackle".

2 wrongs don't make a right.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/07/2015 16:39:57    1749386

This is the type of incident that welcomes hysteria

I don't see the point in posters making any comment until more is known

Seemingly there was an incident where a Dublin player got severely injured and had to be hospitalised

There's official guidelines to follow here and I'm sure that both CB's will follow them

Sad to hear either way...

Pointless stuff. It's not war...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 16:40:16    1749387

If it was an innocous/accidental incident that I don't see why it wouldn't be reported as such. There's clearly a bit more to it

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 07/07/2015 16:58:06    1749401

Well said jimbob.. Yes it will and should be dealt with. Two adult men involved (I pressume) I'd imagine neither was innocent but something must have been done / said for this to come about - mad to think there would be sledging or off the ball antics during a challenge game! Wish the dub player a speedy recovery all the same.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 07/07/2015 16:58:25    1749402

Hopefully Davey recovers quickly. Best to leave it at that until the full story comes out.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/07/2015 17:52:55    1749446

John Finn anyone?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 07/07/2015 19:13:31    1749487