The Sunday Game without Lyster

Jst a wee thread to say what a great job Dara Maloney is doing. I can't put my finger on it but he's a breath of fresh air.

Donegal_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 06/07/2015 14:04:13    1748434

I love Lyster and wish him a speedy recovery and can't wait to have him back on TV soon, Maloney is class and in a league of his own wether it's soccer football hurling commentary or anchor he's outstanding at his job.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/07/2015 14:40:17    1748502

Moloney at least trying to put manners on Brolly who has become a loose cannon

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 06/07/2015 14:59:00    1748530

Agreed with OP. Dara Maloney is great.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/07/2015 15:14:00    1748557

Yea hes doing well for himself after hosting Jerry Springer for years(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 15:17:14    1748564

dara maloaney best man in rte by a distance at the minute..both a good commentator as well as studio host

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 06/07/2015 15:23:51    1748577

Fair play to him. He is showing that brolly can be kept in check in you actually try to do it. Lyster for me, took too much of the 'ah sure it is only the lads - that is just the way they are' attitude. We are now seeing that removing brolly's constant grandstanding is such a big challenge after all.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/07/2015 15:53:21    1748630

Brolly is highly intelligent but losing the plot amongst what is the obvious misunderstanding of the modern game by Spillane and O'Rourke.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 06/07/2015 17:07:13    1748722

In fairness to Lyster he did pull Brolly up when he made his remarks about Marty Morrisey. Maloney doing a good job alright.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/07/2015 18:07:59    1748771

I wish lyster well but he had run his course. Maloney is great.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/07/2015 18:39:32    1748792

Looks as if the sub has taken the place of the main man, will be hard to get it back.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 06/07/2015 19:02:14    1748802

Holy Maloney,how eaten bread is soon forgotten.Michael Lyster may have a job on his hands to get back in.Id rather Lyster back.To be fair,hes a decent host and hes done nothing wrong.Maloney will take over in due course.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 19:07:54    1748806

all theyv to do now is remove the likes of brolly spillane and o rourke and replace them with the likes of o se and whealan

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 06/07/2015 19:22:56    1748818

Maloney is top class. He's a great commentator also. A million miles better than Ger Canning.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 06/07/2015 19:31:07    1748824

He is a quality commentator no doubt.Better than Marty and Canning.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 19:36:40    1748827

While I agree that Moloney is the better host, Lyster does a good job. Don't think he will have any trouble getting his gig back and rightly so. With regard to Maloney, RTE have many other uses for his talents. By far and away the best commentator of all ball sports on the channel. They are doing well to hang on to him.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 06/07/2015 21:07:47    1748881

yes. Agree that Maloney is going a great job. I like the way he controlled Brolley on Sunday when he tried to create more publicity for himself with some stupid remarks about Paudie Hughes. Get well soon Michael Lyster but Maloney is doing a fine job.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/07/2015 21:23:03    1748895

Maloney is doin a very good job but to me Lyster IS the Sunday Game...end of....hope hes back on the box soon....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 07/07/2015 08:50:10    1748941

Id hardly call those remarks stupid. He said what we were all thinking at the time of the incident

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 09:05:23    1748953

Big fan of Moloney on the Sunday game, Champions League etc. He is defintely a breath of fresh air and a more than adequate replacement for Lyster, who I hope, makes a speedy recovery.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/07/2015 09:13:13    1748955