James O'Donoghue - Number One

Lads is James O'Donoghue the best forward around at the moment? I personally think he is. Goal is always on his mind. Think he will surpass the likes of Gouch, Bernard Brogan and Stephen O'Neill and become greatest forward of all time

My Top 5 forwards at the moment

1.James O'Donoghue
2.Michael Murphy
3.Colm O'Neill
4.Diarmuid Connolly
5.Cillian O'Connor

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 04/07/2015 20:47:39    1747514

We havnt seen enough of him, one game isnt a yardstick to whether he is top of the pops. Wait until after tomorrow and we will have a better idea about whos who.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/07/2015 21:03:29    1747527

I would take Murphy off that list.

It is an insult of the highest order to infer that the Glenswiley Goliath can be categorised in any area of the field as he lays waste to all around him in defence, midfield & up front.

I fully expect to see him standing between the posts soon as Durkan solos up the field, opponents bouncing off his ample frame.

Be afraid folks, be very afraid.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/07/2015 21:47:10    1747559

He is class, one of my favorite players but there is always going to be these class forwards coming up or even just as good so we'll probably never know who is the greatest haha

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 04/07/2015 21:48:21    1747561

Its Colm O'Neill I'm most looking forward to seeing this year. If he's on song then Cork could be in for a very good championship.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/07/2015 08:57:31    1747574

All five forwards named above are class acts. If I was to pick one to play for Down it would definitely be Michael Murphy or Diarmuid Connolly, for their shear size, power and accuracy. Everything that Down are missing in the forward line at present. Michael Murphy is the best player Ulster has produced since Peter Canavan.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 05/07/2015 10:00:47    1747585

MuckrossHead

I would take Murphy off that list.

It is an insult of the highest order to infer that the Glenswiley Goliath can be categorised in any area of the field as he lays waste to all around him in defence, midfield & up front.

I fully expect to see him standing between the posts soon as Durkan solos up the field, opponents bouncing off his ample frame.

Be afraid folks, be very afraid.

Indeed Muckross i'd agree,
Murphy with all his heroic deeds would more be in the Fionn mac Cumhaill , Cuchulainn category.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/07/2015 10:22:17    1747597

I want to see J o Donohue play more against top teams before I'd class him as no one. At the moment the best forward in Ireland is C McManus and I'm talking about scoring
M Murphy might be the best footballer at present( could o Donohue win dirty ball in midfield/ defence like Murphy , think MM tackle on F Doherty last Sat night) and I doubt if JOD could point some of the frees that our man has done Don't forget MM is the most marked player in the game alough CMcM is also well marked

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 05/07/2015 10:41:28    1747609

I wouldn't swap connolly for any of them. Best of em all

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/07/2015 11:03:23    1747621

Mournearmy
Ye northern boys are obsessed with size :-0
Samonerigal
JOD can win plenty of dirty ball, he played last season with a bad shoulder injury and as for Conor McManus and Michael Murphy being the most marked men in the country that's because both mon and Donegal aren't blessed in the forward division and that's not an insult but if you only have one good forward it's easy for teams to mark them where as Dublin and cork would have 6 deadly forwards so how can you double mark them all and keep a scoring threat your self. I'm not expecting nd awful lot from JOD today but we'll take what we get.
An Ríocht Abu .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2015 11:05:23    1747622

Liamwalkinstown

I wouldn't swap connolly for any of them. Best of em all
-----
Agree. Dermo is in the Rolls Royce category, powerful, extremely skilful and deadly off both feet, for club and county.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/07/2015 11:52:08    1747638

Michael Murphy and Diarmuid Connolly are by a mile the best players in Ireland . What can Murphy not do ?? Will go down as one of the greatest to ever play the game .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/07/2015 12:22:32    1747652

JOD is without doubt the best inside forward in the game Murphy and Connolly are the best footballers in the game right now IMO.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2015 13:04:32    1747674

Connolly is a great player but I'd ask Dublin lads would he have had the discipline that M Murphyhad against Justin McMahon in the recent Tyrone /Donegal game
MM was dragged and pulled all day long and yet held his discipline , if D Connolly had to put up with the same attention would he have kept his cool , I doubt it but in saying that he is IMO better than JOD and himself Murphy and McManus are my three with very little between them.
As regards Kingdomboy I think we have more than one forward , what about an on song CMcFadden or even P mcBrearty ? Do you not rate them
And as regards Corks forwards the jury is out No doubt about their talent or even ability but can they cope with a properly organised blanket defence ? I doubt it
Last year's AI first half and Kerry got two points in the opening 37 minutes Not a big score from classy forwards so that can tell you how tough it is against a well organised defence

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 05/07/2015 13:23:03    1747684

It's hard and probably virtually impossible to compare the likes of James O'Donoghue with Diarmuid Connolly, Michael Murphy etc. because they are different types of players..

In my opinion IF Michael Murphy was deployed at 14 he would be the best out and out scoring machine in the country but this is not how Donegal utilise him. He would also be regarded as the best all round forward if he played at center half forward but he makes Donegal tick when he roams from box to box so if would be false to say he is the best forward as he doesn't actually play there!

James O'Donoghue has unreal qualities but for me the best scorer in the game is currently Conor McManus. Monaghan aren't near as good as Kerry all over the pitch and on the bench yet McManus still produces the goods and in some games does most of Monaghan's scoring.

McManus followed by Bernard Brogan for scoring and then maybe Cillian O'Connor, James O'Donoghue and Colm O'Neill but one could argue that Jamie Clarke could also be up there.. imagine if he was playing with Kerry or Dublin (he has Gooch qualities but in a far inferior Armagh team!!

Diarmuid Connolly is the best all round forward in the country at present.. the man is unreal off both feet, gets on some amount of ball even from Cluxtons kick outs and even does his fair share of defensive duties.. Paul Flynn is not far behind him as the top all round forward!

Imagine having this forward line:

Flynn; Sean Cavanagh; Connolly;
Brogan; Murphy; McManus

Joe Kernan has some attacking options at his disposal to take on the Aussies for the next International Rules!!

howareya (Louth) - Posts: 55 - 05/07/2015 13:27:39    1747690