O'Sé Article

What do we think of this lads? Is this the Kerry way or is this how all teams will behave towards the top players?
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=239875

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2015 20:02:07    1742785

well said Mr Carr.

Let's hear what Pat Spillane has to say about this. will he trot out the line that Kerry play football the way it's meant to be played. basically what O'Se is doing is advocating Sledging. I mean what hope has Gaelic Football got when the likes of that is going on.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/06/2015 20:16:03    1742796

O'Se isn't your typical pundit, he speaks like he played, straight up in your face. He's not said anything nobody else hasn't thought.

Nonsense story in my opinion, everyone knows Connolly has a short fuse the same way everyone knows if he has the ball in his hands 40 metre from goal its going over the bar.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 25/06/2015 20:25:02    1742802

Non-story, most U14s know if you wind someone up (verbally or not), often they're put off their game if not the pitch.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 25/06/2015 20:58:39    1742823

I suppose it comes with the territory of being the best player on the best team in the country.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 25/06/2015 21:01:13    1742825

Who knows what they are talking about ..... a man with many All Ireland medals or a man with a keyboard who has maybe never kicked a ball in his life?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 25/06/2015 21:16:20    1742832

Utter rubbish.

To say that O Se's article will encourage players to give Conolly grief is drivel & pays little respect to the intelligence of defenders & managers rounf the country.

Of course people are going to have a go at winding Connolly up, just as they will have a go at top players from other counties.

To fondly imagine that this doesn't happen week in week out at all levels is naive in the extreme.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2015 21:19:00    1742836

it certainly does insult both the intelligence of players and also the readers

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 25/06/2015 21:20:39    1742838

Ya jackeen no other inter county manager would have tought of winding Connolly up to put him off his game :-) you haven't played much football I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2015 21:23:12    1742840

To be fare to Connolly,he has played the game the right way the last few years.Hopefully his temper and nasty streak has been neutered.I used to be almost waiting for him to react and do something stupid.No doubt management have been getting into his head and hes maturing into a clean player.Lets hope it stays that way,because if were to win back the big prize,it wont happen with Connolly sitting on the bench.I dont really see anything wrong with O Se's article.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/06/2015 21:35:40    1742848

Nope you're right. Camoige was my game more than the football. How has that a bearing on what your fellow county man wrote? Hes saying you have to resort to off the ball antics or fouling to beat a guy like connolly. To me this is ns especially from the home of purist football.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2015 21:53:18    1742855

Eamonn Carr would be better advised to look after himself rather than going after O Sé.

While I accept that the Evening Herald is never going to be the last word in good writing, the cliched & badly written rant put out by Carr is not the sort of thing that anyone with an IQ over 70 will pay much attention to.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2015 21:56:30    1742861

Stand down folks, theres nothing to see here.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/06/2015 08:17:15    1742868

O Se is basically advocating sledging and intimidation. Remember the furore a few weeks back about the alleged antics of the Tyrone minors against Donegal? Well, O Se is justifying the same treatment for Connolly. I'm amazed by the support O Se's comments have got here: imagine the outrage there'd] be if someone like Canavan or McGeeney wrote an article like this explaining how to take out the Gooch: we'd hear some amount of pontificating about the death of football!

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 26/06/2015 08:18:44    1742869

Sure wasn't / isn't Galvin the ultimate hothead and target for a wind up. I'd imagine the Cork lads were well aware of this over the years along with Paddy Russell. This goes on all over the country every week and as long as you don't get the real dirt birds getting too personal it's par for the course. They are easily given their reply with a few nice scores.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 26/06/2015 08:20:44    1742870

Massive, frankly embarrassing, over-reaction from Eamonn Carr.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2015 08:36:48    1742874

He is Speaking from Experience. This is something that has went on for years on the field. Any defender is going to try and do everything they can to put the forward of their game.

Any one that thinks it doesn't, has clearly never played Championship football before. You think Ryan McMenamin wasn't in Gooch's ear everytime they played?

manowar (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 26/06/2015 08:47:47    1742876

Carrs reaction was embarrassing to be honest.

Of course people are going to try and wind up Connolly, everyone knows he has a short fuse but Carr is trying to make out that this may only happen now that O Se has pointed it out. What world is he living in?

If i was Connolly or a Dublin fan for that matter id be delighted to see lads in Kerry that worried that they are already thinking and talking about how are they going to stop Dublin and Connolly.

Plus there is always going to be sledging and players winding others up, its sport. What do we want, players fouling other players and saying "oh sorry there sir, it wont happen again". Winding up your opponent is part and parcel of the game but its the level of it that needs to be policed. Sport is like life, there are a-holes that you just need to deal with and your not going to remove it completely. Carr is talking as if no one would have thought to wind Connolly up only O Se said it

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 26/06/2015 09:04:47    1742889

I take it as a bit of a compliment that the Kerry boyos are worried about how to stop Connolly if we meet :) he is a player we will need on top of his game this summer if we are to wrestle Sam back from the Kingdom. Not a lot in O'Se's article to get overly worked up about.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/06/2015 09:25:47    1742899

I hope Diarmuid Connolly has a thicker skin than some of the Dubs getting wound up on here over a little comment.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2015 09:34:21    1742904