Is it a huge incentive for Cork or Kerry to win

If Kerry or Cork win Munster final , they will play winner of Meath/Westmeath v Pot A team (Cavan,Roscommon ,Kildare,Tipperary, Antrim ,Fermanagh ,offaly, Longford) in the quarter final.

Lose Munster final and if overcome Pot A team they will play Leinster final winners in the quarter final . Huge odds it will be Dublin.
Will this be in managers minds.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/06/2015 08:45:21    1741308

Given the skewed nature of the provincial series, it will always be a win win situation for the Munster runners up whatever happens.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/06/2015 10:11:31    1741351

brendtheredhand

Given the skewed nature of the provincial series, it will always be a win win situation for the Munster runners up whatever happens.

Maybe so but I doubt either Cork or Kerry would want to meet us in the QF.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 23/06/2015 10:25:31    1741362

Winning munster final provides easy q final and semi v Ulster champions/Sligo.
Losing means a q final v Dublin and Semi v Mayo/Ulster R Up
Easy decision there.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 23/06/2015 10:52:45    1741388

What makes you say that brend? Surely a quarter final against Dublin isn't something that can be viewed as a positive?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/06/2015 11:00:30    1741397

Clare are in pot A not tipp.

don't see how munster runners up are always a win win, it's the exact same as any province. Next year it'll be munster ulster I'm pretty certain.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 23/06/2015 11:01:56    1741398

Maybe so but I doubt either Cork or Kerry would want to meet us in the QF.

Eh, we're the All Ireland champions there Sepp, I think it would be more of a case of Dublin not wanting to meet us.....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2015 13:15:44    1741520

And your last years munster champions as well hermit but you wont have either of those titles for to long

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 23/06/2015 13:33:53    1741537

Don't think either will be overly concerned about Pot A. Tipp are not in it, the losers of Westmeath vs Meath won't really concern them, Kildare probably not either. The winners of Cavan vs Roscommon could be tricky for a while but would expect Cork/kerry to get on top in the end.

Kerry are All-Ireland champions but there is no way they want to meet Dublin in the quarters finals, but that works visa versa also.
Dublin would much rather face Cork, so they will be hoping Kerry win Munster.

Cork also obviously don't want to meet Dublin in the quarter final either, so for the first time in a while, the Munster final will mean alot to both teams, not the title itself but the route it will give them to the All-Ireland.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/06/2015 13:44:29    1741549

County Man, the Munster Final always means a hell of a lot to both Kerry and Cork regardless of back-doors or whatever.

Its the greatest rivalry in the GAA and if you think for a second either side of them goes into one of the biggest games in the GAA's calendar contemplating a defeat to the other or not giving everything they have you are in cloud cuckoo land.

As a Limerick man, I'm surprised you would not appreciate this...

Killarney will be rocking next Sunday week and it won't need the prospect of facing Dublin on the bank holiday in August to make it so. Both counties have an awful lot on the line.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2015 13:58:18    1741568

Of course there is an added incentive. For two sides who of late are generally in the mix up to face the possibility of avoiding another top side is an obvious incentive. Win you avoid them, lose you likely face them. It's not rocket science.

And it's not Dublin centric either, it could be said for any top side knowing the path ahead in terms of who they may meet. If it was Donegal or Mayo waiting for the loser of the Munster Final the same would apply.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 23/06/2015 14:16:13    1741581

The Hermit

It is not what it was though. Last year's final was a joke. Cork were pathetic. Killarney will be rocking because Cork people like going there so they can go on the lash for the weekend. If Cork don't make a fist of this match (and after the league final there is every chance they won't), then Cork might as well play next year's meeting down in Mallow (or even Knocknagree - practically Kerry and will save ye the bother of going too far). I think we could win if we got tactics right (and I don't mean pack the defense-I mean create space for Brian Hurley/Colm O'Neill), however, the fear is we once again will be found wanting and another haphazard inept performance awaits.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/06/2015 14:27:56    1741588

Hermit, I know you like talking things up a bit from time to time but the biggest rivalry in GAA is stretching things even for you. Perhaps there was some merit to it at one time but I think it's probably convenient for you to talk it up when you have the upper hand and are likely to win even though your own countyman gave some ammunition to Cork recently.Loose lips sink ships as they say as another of your countymen found out last weekend in Connaught.Maybe it's time to reconsider the cute hoor label and rename it the not so cute, cute hoors.

Enjoy Killarney now , I hear it's nice this time of year.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 23/06/2015 14:31:00    1741590

I would love it if Kerry ended up having to play Dublin in the quarters!
Corcaigh abú!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 23/06/2015 14:33:56    1741591

Huge incentive for Cork to win Munster as essentially you overcome your biggest challenge in the year before All Ireland Semi Finals. Lose it and you are almost certainly out to Dublin. Kerry win it and should be a simple path to semi final, lose it and they have a decent chance against Dublin.

But look this is all hypothetical nonsense as Kerry will win Munster handy and think about getting tuned up for late August for their two games to retain Sam.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 23/06/2015 14:36:22    1741593

Well benny, that's just a sad reflection on the state of Cork football if the Rebels can't come down here and throw everything they have into a performance.

They have to be humiliated and hurting badly after the beating given out to them by Kerry last year in their backyard, and if the memory of that doesn't inspire them to put in their best performance in the championship in the last couple of years then you are right, they should just pack it in and concentrate on the hurling.

However I think Cork are going to come down and give this one hell of a go. Their reputation as players is seriously on the line as is Cutbert's job in my opinion. There is no way Cork football people will tolerate another season under him if they lose badly to Kerry next Sunday.

I still think (hope) Kerry will have too much for Cork next Sunday but I'm expecting on almighty tussle...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2015 14:37:17    1741594

And what would you know S.L.L.Y about Munster football or Kerry v Cork games?? They have been battling each other for more than a 100 years at this stage and neither side has held the upper hand for too long. Have a look at the record books, 2014 was an aberration, its been pretty even pegging in Munster between the two these past 20 years.

What have Dublin to compare to it? The hazy memory of a few drawn games with Meath 24 years ago and nothing but an annual drubbing of the same poor craters now for the past decade.

Concentrate on the cakewalk that is the Leinster championship there like a good man and don't be getting jealous that Kerry benefit from having a county that can test their mettle before they get to August bank holiday...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2015 15:10:47    1741616

I'd rather meet the dubs in the quaterfinal as it is well known down this side of the country that if the dubs get to the allireland final they won't be aloud to be beat. So bring it on. Hopefully cork will get there act together for Sunday week.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/06/2015 15:27:48    1741627

Lockjaw

I would love it if Kerry ended up having to play Dublin in the quarters!
Corcaigh abú!

Well it would probably mean a Dublin/Kerry v Donegal Final then and considering Kerry beat youse at your own game last year and Dublin won't be caught cold this year I doubt you actually want that! :)

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 23/06/2015 15:31:16    1741632

Dont worry, we'll never be jealous of anything Kerryesk there lad .You don't have to be around too long, as has already been pointed out by others who as you would like to say would know better, to know that is not a rivalry of any substance anymore.Your fortunate enough to be in a handy enough province there yourself so I wouldn't be crowing too much when you get another handy run out next day.Another handy All Ireland beckons.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 23/06/2015 15:49:12    1741642