Why is everyone so mad to change the rules?

I just cant get my head around why everyone is so mad to change to rules of football. I cant think of any other sport worldwide with a history similar to the GAA that try's to change and introduce new rules every year. Every so called pundit has thrown their suggestion into the hat at this stage. The whole place seems to think Dublin should be split in two or abandon the provincial championships but why? Dublin have not put back to back all Irelands together they are not hammering teams in all Ireland semis or finals. fair enough there is a gap but that's up to other counties to improve there standards and stop crying about the gulf in class. I hear people saying their county needs financial backing to compete that's bull theres no transfer system yet although money does help in preparation and facilities it cant do anything about players you have at your disposal. People never stop giving out about cynical play and blanket defences ruining the game. Lads every sport in the world has cynical play and timewasting which we seem to make such a massive deal out of its not nice to watch but at end of day its all about winning. In soccer teams head to corner flag to waste time if they don't and concede every pundit and media will bash them saying they are clowns if gaa team wastes time its all anyone talks about in negative way. Same happens in rugby running down the clock and cynical play but only us gaa folk draw attention to it.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 19/06/2015 14:48:22    1739506

I played in a couple of Munster Hurling finals in school & lost. we were free flowing, scored lots but met teams but that bit better at scoring in the finals.

I played in a football one & won. Our manager dropped 5 'star' players from the panel for indiscipline. He devised a game plan where the slowest 6 backs in the country would go no further than the 40, foul on the 40 and take turns in fouling. We won a heap of low scoring games, we were ugly to watch but I got a Munster medal for it.

20 or so years on little has changed and you can achieve moderate success in gaelic football by playing pure muck. I don't think I'd want my kids playing Gaelic Football. It's like a game of time bomb. The easiest way to get yourself punched, kicked and elbowed is to call for a pass. As soon as you do you're just going to get a hammering. So yeah I'd like to see it change.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/06/2015 14:56:52    1739511

Good thread and well made point. The problem as I see it is that we are allowing the sporting media to set the agenda on this, and in particular certain sections of that media. One only needs to look through this forum and count the number of 'Joe Brolly is right' comments to get a flavour of what I mean. By virtue of their position and high visibility this small cabal are able to impose their views on the GAA, one or two comments will be carried by a host of outlets, yet who is actually asking the GAA's rank and file for their views on these changes or proposed changes. Continual tinkering with our national game can only lead to its eventual demise in my opinion, but then if Joe has proposed it must good for the game, or maybe its just good for Joe!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/06/2015 15:05:26    1739521

New ideas and suggestions should always be welcomed.
Attitudes and tactics change constantly, why not the rules?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/06/2015 15:12:46    1739526

If we're just talking about rule changes then no, I don't think football needs much changing, it's doing fine the way it is, now all suggestions are welcome of course but you don't really need to change something that is already widely popular. Now there are hysterical attention seekers out there in the media who are determined to convince people that gaelic football is in a terrible state but they're main concern is usually self promotion, that's why they can't be taken seriously.

Ps, if I could change something about football in the morning, I'd just make a minor change = I'd allow players to pick the ball off the ground, getting frees for players touching the ball on the ground is a pointless rule in my opinion, get rid of it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/06/2015 15:20:59    1739532

joncarter

1739526 New ideas and suggestions should always be welcomed.
Attitudes and tactics change constantly, why not the rules?

Because there is a history to our sport and if you keep changing the rules the game of football I played will be different sport that my grandkids and future generations plays. we may as well re re-name the sport

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 19/06/2015 15:25:45    1739533

Why is everyone so mad to change the rules?
19/06/2015 14:48:22 Pingcity
I just cant get my head around why everyone is so mad to change to rules of football. I cant think of any other sport worldwide with a history similar to the GAA that try's to change and introduce new rules every year. Every so called pundit has thrown their suggestion into the hat at this stage. The whole place seems to think Dublin should be split in two or abandon the provincial championships but why? Dublin have not put back to back all Irelands together they are not hammering teams in all Ireland semis or finals. fair enough there is a gap but that's up to other counties to improve there standards and stop crying about the gulf in class. I hear people saying their county needs financial backing to compete that's bull theres no transfer system yet although money does help in preparation and facilities it cant do anything about players you have at your disposal. People never stop giving out about cynical play and blanket defences ruining the game. Lads every sport in the world has cynical play and timewasting which we seem to make such a massive deal out of its not nice to watch but at end of day its all about winning. In soccer teams head to corner flag to waste time if they don't and concede every pundit and media will bash them saying they are clowns if gaa team wastes time its all anyone talks about in negative way. Same happens in rugby running down the clock and cynical play but only us gaa folk draw attention to it.
Because people clearly feel there is huge problems with gaelic..
In rugby there has been loads of law changes in recent years. There has been many changes following 2007 world cup about cynical play etc.
People feel provincial championships need to be changed as their role in all Ireland series has to be looked at as current system needs change due to unevenness, not helping club game etc
There may be no transfer system but you're very naïve if you think you don't need good strong financial backing to do well.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/06/2015 15:28:03    1739537

Pingcity
County: Longford

I just cant get my head around why everyone is so mad to change to rules of football. I cant think of any other sport worldwide with a history similar to the GAA that try's to change and introduce new rules every year

The rules of Rugby are perpetually changing...

(Cue the arrival of ormondbannerman)

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 19/06/2015 15:29:02    1739538

Pingcity, while people should respect tradition and history, they should never, ever allow them to get in the way of progress.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/06/2015 15:36:34    1739543

Pingcity

Because there is a history to our sport and if you keep changing the rules the game of football I played will be different sport that my grandkids and future generations plays.

That I disagree with, you can't refuse to change something just because it's historical, if it needs changing then change it, however at the minute though I don't see a huge problem with Gaelic football and I don't think there needs to be significant rule changes.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/06/2015 15:36:37    1739544

The reality is that football is not a easy on the eye as it was in the early 2000's.

All sports change rules to make the game more entertaining. It has to be entertaining for the game to prosper. If you don't change with the times you fall behind and go into decline.

Attendances are down and will continue to do so unless you can improve the game both competitively and promote more kick passing.

The biggest problems are the championship structure and club championship football fixtures.

The reality is the GAA's ability to promote sports leaves a lot to be desired.
Rounders is gone. Handball is almost non existant, Hurling is confined to counties with a border to Tipperary and small pockets elsewhere. Ladies football had to go it alone to grow the game.
The track record of games promotion is brutal, it makes the states promotion of the Irish language look good.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 19/06/2015 15:37:32    1739545

roundball

The rules of Rugby are perpetually changing...

(Cue the arrival of ormondbannerman)

He's already here :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/06/2015 15:38:54    1739546

Generally it is those who have more to lose in Gaelic football, that want change. While those who perhaps have gained most from modern era football, are happier to leave things alone.

There will always be minor changes to the rules from time to time, but I've never been an out and out fans of massive change. The game is strong all over the country, with all 4 provinces generally in good condition.

Hurling has been reduced to Two Provincial championships, with maybe 4 different All Ireland Champions in 20 years or so. That is terrible, hurling is in a terrible state, the term All Ireland should be applied loosely.

Football on the other hand has provided us with 8 different All Ireland winners during that same period, from all 4 Provinces in the last 20 years. And is still in a fairly healthy state.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/06/2015 15:48:40    1739548

tirawleybaron

1739545 The reality is that football is not a easy on the eye as it was in the early 2000's.

All sports change rules to make the game more entertaining. It has to be entertaining for the game to prosper. If you don't change with the times you fall behind and go into decline.

Attendances are down and will continue to do so unless you can improve the game both competitively and promote more kick passing.

The biggest problems are the championship structure and club championship football fixtures.

The reality is the GAA's ability to promote sports leaves a lot to be desired.
Rounders is gone. Handball is almost non existant, Hurling is confined to counties with a border to Tipperary and small pockets elsewhere. Ladies football had to go it alone to grow the game.
The track record of games promotion is brutal, it makes the states promotion of the Irish language look good.

Have you any figures to back that claim up?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/06/2015 15:52:29    1739550

Hurling has been reduced to Two Provincial championships, with maybe 4 different All Ireland Champions in 20 years or so. That is terrible, hurling is in a terrible state, the term All Ireland should be applied loosely.

In that time period, Clare, Wexford, Offaly, Kilkenny, Cork, Tipperary

Losing finalists include Limerick, Waterford, Galway

Since the McCarthy cup was re-structured there have been All-Ireland winners at Rackard, Ring & Meagher levels.

And football is in a better state?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/06/2015 15:59:17    1739555

brendtheredhand

Attendances may or may not actually be down, however I've never saw anyone who claimed they were down back that claim up with statistics but anyway even if they did there's a number of things to take into consideration.

There's far more variety for people these days for a start, it's not the 60s, 70s or 80s where there was only really one show in town and feck all else to do on a sunday anyway. Also this isn't the celtic tiger anymore, people aren't near as flush with money and sadly plenty of people have had to leave the island in search of work so of course it could be argued that attendances are down, but if they are down, the style of football isn't necessarily to blame.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/06/2015 16:19:01    1739569

Exactly Htaem, demographic factors aside I doubt very much if they are down, the Ulster championship games have been very well attended this year. The only real factor that could skew the averages are the qualifiers where certain counties drawn at the other end of the country might understandably decide against travelling in big numbers e.g Limerick at Tyrone and Down at Wexford, but other than that its all fine.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/06/2015 16:32:21    1739579

Knowing that youre county is going to be hammered by the likes of the dubs or kilkenny will dissuade people from attending a game far more than the style of play on offer imo.
Why make a few hunderd mile round trip and fork out good money just to see your boys getting whipped.
Only the die hards would want to see that.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/06/2015 16:35:01    1739581

Cynical play is interesting . Galway were shockingly cynical last weekend and not a word about this. Donegal gave away one free inside their own half and again : not a word. So called fans live in a world of hyprocicy : these are the same people crying for change all the time. There needs to be some adjustments but equally it doesnt need a toatal overhaul.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 19/06/2015 16:38:51    1739583

slayer
County: Limerick

In that time period, Clare, Wexford, Offaly, Kilkenny, Cork, Tipperary

Since the McCarthy cup was re-structured there have been All-Ireland winners at Rackard, Ring & Meagher levels.

And football is in a better state?

Football is definitely in far better state, than the two province Hurling championship. The simple fact that All Ireland football Champions come from all 4 provinces says it all.

If I list all the All Ireland Senior football champions and runners up since 1990, and did the same for hurling, I think we would see a massive tilt towards football.

Those lower tier hurling tournaments were created to address the massive gap, that was allowed to develop over many years of neglect. Those highlight the Imbalance in hurling, not the opposite.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/06/2015 17:11:46    1739600