Provincial final of choice outside of your own?

Of all the provincial finals outside of your own province, which is the most appealing for you to attend?

I heard of a man from Down last year who made a trip to Cork for the Munster football final. It was a final he always wanted to attend. I would have to say the Ulster final is the one that stands out for me. It is one hell of a tough championship. It's probably the only provincial championship of Division 1 quality. An advantage I'd have to imagine for these teams as they enter the All-Ireland series. It's crazy ye don't seed ye're semi-finalists to simply avoid the preliminary round but hey that's ye're own business and if that's the way ye rock, it's the way ye rock!

Be it this year or within a couple of years, the Ulster final is the one I will look to make. How about everyone else? What provincial final outside of ye're own province are ye most interested in going to see?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7846 - 30/05/2015 13:25:27    1730213

Ulster final definitely, a very competitive championship as we all know. However I think this year a potential Mayo vs Roscommon provincial final would be great to watch ! Roscommon are a young team certainly going in the right direction and they pushed Mayo close last year.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 30/05/2015 14:05:06    1730222

It would have to be the Munster hurling final for me.Ive been to quite a few over the years.Always a great occasion.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/05/2015 14:25:15    1730227

Would be a Munster final in the Hurling and either a Munster Kerry/Cork final or a Leinster Dublin/Meath final in the Football.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/05/2015 14:45:26    1730230

Munster hurling final, by a long way.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/05/2015 14:58:49    1730232

Cork v Kerry Munster football final in Killarney.

It's the best provincial final in my opinion and it's my favourite GAA rivalry.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 30/05/2015 15:07:50    1730235

Munster hurling final

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 30/05/2015 15:17:39    1730237

For me it's the Ulster final in football and the Munster hurling final. After that a Mayo v Roscommon or Galway final.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 30/05/2015 15:31:52    1730240

legendzxix

do try man - it won't be the football that Cork v Kerry typically produces, but the whole Ulster final day itself is a bit special.

For those that haven't been to Clones for a game - you'd swear the town was built solely for GAA games. Great day for the publicns as the places are heaving with people and the streets fill with both sets of fans.

Great day for any farmer with a field on the outskirts of the town too ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/05/2015 15:32:16    1730241

@ cavanman47 - I will make an Ulster final. No doubts. Ye'll have to excuse me that I have yet to set foot in Ulster. Most lads I know from the province are good craic in fairness. You never know unless you go as they say. There was good banter after last year's All-Ireland final. Even after the '08 final, my experiences were good. All in good spirits.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7846 - 30/05/2015 15:48:00    1730247

Leinster Hurling Final

mayo_hurler (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 30/05/2015 16:13:57    1730260

Ulster final was my day out for years but havent been for a few now, my first ulster was in 1963 down v donegal when a lad called Val Kane played both minor and senior for down, I have been at many munster finals also and a few leinster, I have attended our own Connacht final every year bar a couple regardless of who is playing, a great day out and always a friendly atmosphere, of the other porvincial finals Ulster would be my fav, I agree about the crack in Clones on the day,
provincial final day is probably my favourite day of the year and the provincial structure should not be tampered with.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 30/05/2015 16:25:24    1730271

You cant beat a Meath Dublin Leinster final, however a cork Kerry Munster final is one ive been to and it comes second.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2015 16:26:36    1730272

I have always enjoyed the Connacht final, especially like a few seasons back when there were 4 different winners in 4 years. For me it showed how balanced Connacht was as a footballing province. Quality sides, with

The Munster final would be electric, I would love to be in Pairc Ui Chaoimh for Cork v Kerry final. I also loved the Leinster final's between Dublin and Meath too, there is something special about those.

Outside of those, I always wanted to attend a match in Semple Stadium. It has always looked cool on the telly, and It's a ground I would really like to see on a big match day.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 30/05/2015 17:38:55    1730297

definitely the Munster hurling final - Tipp v Cork is hard to beat

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 30/05/2015 18:07:30    1730306

Have only been to Ulster but possibly Munster as I would have liked to go to Corks ground but it is closed for renovation now.
Maybe Connaught as I have some Mayo blood in me, I support Antrim in hurling as I like the tradition of hurling there and my grandmother was from Antrim, 5 mins down the road from Derry though.

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 30/05/2015 18:35:54    1730315

1 Munster Hurling Final
2 Ulster Football Final
3 Connacht Football Final
4 Munster Football Final

Ive been to 5/6 Munster hurling finals.I hope to be to many more.I have never attended a football game in Munster,Ulster or Connacht.Its something i want to rectify.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/05/2015 20:20:24    1730346

@ cuederocket South Dublin Rovers supporters called the LoI First Division the Discover Ireland League as it forced them out of the Dublin greater region for nearly all away games! You'll have to go on a Discover Ireland tour yourself!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7846 - 30/05/2015 20:50:12    1730357

Top of the list is the Munster Hurling Final and after that if I have to choose 1 outside of Connacht it would probably be the Ulster football final, I dunno there's something about every Ulster team wanting to win the Ulster Championship, with Munster it's hell for leather until midway into 2nd half then one team realises they still have the backdoor route, the same with Connacht, Leinster is a waste of a fixture just give it to Dublin

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 30/05/2015 21:03:08    1730362

Ulster Football Final and Munster Hurling Final .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/05/2015 21:43:52    1730385