Dublin Dominance under Jim Gavin

They have one 3/3 national leagues, 3/3 leinsters and 1 loss in 2 years to Donegal means 1/2 all Ireland's.

Will they make it 4/4 leinsters this year and 2/3 all Ireland's?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 27/04/2015 19:58:59    1718190

Jesus lads can we give the Dublin threads a break, even the Dubs as getting browned off at this stage, we know Dublin are good we know their going to be in the running to win the All Ireland but yesterday they beat a Cork team that was easier demolished than the crumbling concrete of Pairc Ui Chaoimh, the over reaction to yesterday's League final in Dublin's favour is truly amazing given the level of opposition

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/04/2015 20:55:24    1718218

Richieq

It's appalling. Dublin are great until the next ambush. Then we let 'the hype' get us. TBH I prefer the ones about the multitude of unfair advantages we have.

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 27/04/2015 21:08:42    1718224

The dubs are unstoppable , they should have given them the Sam yesterday and saved us all a load of bother.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/04/2015 21:17:51    1718231

Wasn't even going to post on this rubbish.Most of the hype is being generated by those outside Dublin. Jaysus ,ye must be worried.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/04/2015 21:25:44    1718240

We may or may not win the All Ireland but well have a lot of fun either way.This team is a great advert for our county and play the game in the right spirit.Positive,attacking,exciting and skillfull players with unquestionable character.Its going to take a good team to beat us.Great day yesterday for the diehards.Lads of my age well remember the barren years.National titles are not to be sniffed at.However,yesterdays done now.We will now set our eyes on the big prize.Ive full faith in these men flying the flag for us.Jimmy Gavin is fast becoming a Hill legend.Roll on September!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/04/2015 21:32:54    1718243

The Culchie Hype Machine in full flow!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/04/2015 08:14:26    1718267

Jack_Goff

1718190 They have one 3/3 national leagues, 3/3 leinsters and 1 loss in 2 years to Donegal means 1/2 all Ireland's.

Will they make it 4/4 leinsters this year and 2/3 all Ireland's?

And another rubbish thread about Dublin,yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/04/2015 10:03:48    1718298

At the end of the day the only stat that count is 1 out of 2 All irelands. plenty more managers has laid the road!
Jack O Connor had 2/3 out of his first spell in charge of Kerry - throw in 2 league titles too.
Mickey Harte 2/3 (not sure if he started in 03)

Winning a provincial championship these days (if you are an all ireland championship contender) is worthless if you dont win the all ireland.
A provincial losing finalist getting further in the championship than the provincial winner has had a better year...in my opinion

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 28/04/2015 10:20:23    1718308

main problem with your opening post jack goff is that jim gavin has only been there since 2013
so therefore has 2/2 leinster titles
not 3/3 haha
he has managed to win 6 out of 7 trophys since he took charge
great achievement

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2015 10:29:25    1718316

you were right to make this thread as gavin has broken a record alright
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-gavin-sets-a-record-in-dublins-title-surge-31176601.html

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2015 11:32:42    1718382

Dublin Dominance??? this is silly

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 28/04/2015 12:14:14    1718409

Gavin will be up there with Conor Counihan if he can land another league or two and he has the AI to match Conor already. Think he's tactically on a par with him too.
Dublin have not improved one jot from this time last year - if anything they're regressing I think - less danger now in their full forward line without O Gara/Mannion and still suspect at the back - Conor McManus had a field day against them and O'Neill would have done the same last Sun if Cork had any posession.
Take them on in a shoot out and the dubs will win every time but no team (incl Kerry) will take them on in a shoot out this summer - will be interesting see how well prepard Jim has his boys for August - being prepared in April doesnt count!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 28/04/2015 13:40:47    1718466

blacknamber

Gavin will be up there with Conor Counihan if he can land another league or two and he has the AI to match Conor already. Think he's tactically on a par with him too.
Dublin have not improved one jot from this time last year - if anything they're regressing I think - less danger now in their full forward line without O Gara/Mannion and still suspect at the back - Conor McManus had a field day against them and O'Neill would have done the same last Sun if Cork had any posession.

----
Couldn't disagree more on our regression. We had the tightest defence in the league. Probably the best full forward line in the country, Cork, were shackled last Sunday by an outstanding Dublin full-back line display. A half back got MOTM and a second Cian was a close contender. McManus had a good day in Croker a couple of weeks back but how did he do in Clones? Couple that with an unbeaten run against Ulster teams in 5 games in the league and i would say that we are looking better than last year. Dean Rock scored 10 points on Sunday at 14. Would O'Gara have done better than that? Dublin will be tested in August and at that stage anything can happen. You need to ride your luck from 1/4s onward. I would say that one of 4 or 5 teams could take Sam this year if they get the rub of the green.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/04/2015 15:02:39    1718538

Dublin have won 29, drawn three and lost six of 38 league and championship games under Gavin. That's precisely the number of games in one season in the English Premier League so, on a comparative rating, Dublin have taken 90 points under Gavin.
That would have been enough to win the last eight Premier League titles. It provides an interesting context for Gavin's stewardship so far which, as well as including the All-Ireland win and continued Leinster domination, has taken Dublin into historic territory with three successive Division 1 titles.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2015 16:28:29    1718590

Hill16man appreciate the serious reply. While I agree there are serious problems arising from Dublin Dominance mainly in leinster this thread was more a compliment to his record as manager. And if Dublin had this year's more defensive style last year instead of all out attack against the best counter attacking team in ireland he'd still be unbeaten.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/04/2015 17:14:09    1718627