The Top 6 football teams in the country now.

With the leagues nearly all done and now heading into championship time of year. Who do you think is the top 6 teams in the country at this present time.Here is mine in order

1. Dublin
2. Cork
3. Mayo
4. Kerry
5. Donegal
6. Monaghan

Best of the rest

Armagh and Galway.

avator (UK) - Posts: 1 - 13/04/2015 18:12:25    1713848

Its an interesting one. The top 6 I'd agree with, but the remaining 2 are less straightforward. Armagh are an interesting one because while they came straight back up from D3, they didn't exactly set the world alight doing so. Having said that, they had a couple of promising displays in last year's championship against Tyrone and Donegal. There's definitely a case for them.

I can't say I'd agree with Galway. Maybe top 10 and certainly top 12 but they were too inconsistent in the league. They've got the ability to blow teams away for 35 minutes (against Meath, Laois 1st half, against Roscommon 2nd half) and then the ability to completely collapse. They have some good forwards and O Curráin in particular is strong at midfield. I can't see them turning Mayo over just yet, but they could get a decent run to a QF through the back door depending on the draw.

FWIW I'd still have Derry in that top 8. People might think that's completely daft based on that league campaign, but I think Derry will peak later this year than they usually seem to, and might have a decent say in Ulster.

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 14/04/2015 11:45:23    1714017

Armagh?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 14/04/2015 12:03:12    1714027

Dublin
Cork
Kerry
Monaghan
Mayo
Donegal

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/04/2015 12:19:11    1714033

Pointless discussion...

Its Dublin and Kerry

Donegal, Cork, Mayo

Then the rest..... all of whom could beat each other on a given day

and it pains me to say that as a Meath man we're not even in the room for this discussion and if any Meath fan suggests we are the need to get some men in white coats with Jackets in..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/04/2015 12:23:19    1714037

Dublin
Dublin B team
Kerry
Donegal
Cork
Mayo

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 14/04/2015 12:23:34    1714038

1. Kerry - All Ireland Champs until someone says differently.
2. Donegal
3. Mayo
4. Dublin
5. Cork

Not sure if anyone else really matters (in terms of an All-Ireland)at this stage from what I've seen but maybe there'll be a bolter from the pack of Monaghan, Tyrone, Galway, Roscommon, Down or Derry etc.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/04/2015 12:30:10    1714040

Dublin
Cork

Kerry

Donegal
Mayo

Monaghan

The rest who could beat each other on any given day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2015 12:49:44    1714047

There is a top 5 at the moment Dublin, Cork, Mayo, Kerry, Donegal. After that it is hard to tell but the three I would pick to make up the the last eight of the All-Ireland Armagh, Monaghan and Tyrone.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 14/04/2015 13:00:40    1714052

MesAmis

1714040 1. Kerry - All Ireland Champs until someone says differently.
2. Donegal
3. Mayo
4. Dublin
5. Cork

Not sure if anyone else really matters (in terms of an All-Ireland)at this stage from what I've seen but maybe there'll be a bolter from the pack of Monaghan, Tyrone, Galway, Roscommon, Down or Derry etc.

===========================================================================
Mes Amis what about your closest rivals bolting from that pack?? Are we not worthy of inclusion!!! only kidding we could beat any of them on our day but that's the problem we couldn't beat two of them in successive matches and until we get that consistency we're not in the room (as said in my previous posts)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/04/2015 13:03:49    1714053

Probably more meaningful to post this thread after the provincials are done and qualifiers are over. Then you will really see who the best are....same as every year.

I have no idea who will win the anglo celt this year (anyone who does is a liar or crazy), connacht is a more open this year, munster no change to the status quo ( a fight between the big two). Leinster is the the only fairly certain bet.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 14/04/2015 13:14:58    1714058

brian

===========================================================================
Mes Amis what about your closest rivals bolting from that pack?? Are we not worthy of inclusion!!!

Meath??

Hard to know really. Are they really as bas as they were last summer? Genuinely never saw a Meath team with less heart, less fight, less ability and less decent players.

Have they turned it around from the shambles of team last summer in the last 9 months or so? If they have then fair play to all concerned.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/04/2015 13:54:49    1714073

While im not been disrespectful towards certain counties, i think its a certainty that Meath will be in the final 12, then it all depends on the draw, id also be fairly confident of one or both of Laois and Kildare making that stage too. Tyrone wont be involved at that stage i think due to a probable long campaign in qualifier . But who knows, i think this year could see the least amount of ulster counties in the championship at that stage, 3 or even 2 could be all that's left, id guarantee that Donegal and Monaghan are and i have a sneaky feeling for Down. Its just a feeling mind you and they could have 6.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2015 13:56:44    1714075

Mes wont know that until Leinster final, all of the injured players we were missing last year with the exception of osullivan are back, so that's a positive, a few new lads mcentee McGill Rooney in particular look very good, it really is hard to know, is it the fittest Meath team in long time? Without doubt, Dublin will not get the walkover they got last year, but could we win? Doubtful, bit at least this time yous will get a game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2015 14:20:22    1714085

Meath??

Hard to know really. Are they really as bas as they were last summer? Genuinely never saw a Meath team with less heart, less fight, less ability and less decent players.

Have they turned it around from the shambles of team last summer in the last 9 months or so? If they have then fair play to all concerned.
============================================================================================================================================================

Mes Amis
Thats where I am too.... its hard to know where we are. As RD says we'll be in the last 12 (been there for last 3 years) but i'd say thats a true reflection of our standing. Our failure to progress past the last 12 in the last 3 years shows that we're not progressing. We're claeraly the second best team in Leinster but that doesn't say muc.. I'd still have concerns re heart, fight and ability. We showed signs of improvement during the league but we also showed signs off less fight in some parts too. We're maddeningly inconsistent.
Microcosim of our current status is we lead Laois by 7 point after 35-40 minutes in Navan and trailed going into the last five minutes. Top teams don't let positions like that slip. Its what seprates your top counties (Dublin, Kerry, Donegal) in that they are ruthless from your other counties (mayo, galway monaghan tyrone etc) where you always feel there's a chance you could still win.
Until that absolute ruthless streak is found by our footballers we'll not be going further than the last 12/8

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/04/2015 14:30:45    1714089

Just a thought...Bar the Ulster final last year, when was the last time Donegal beat Monaghan?

anbhoth15 (Monaghan) - Posts: 103 - 14/04/2015 14:57:04    1714101

anbhoth15
County: Monaghan

1714101 Just a thought...Bar the Ulster final last year, when was the last time Donegal beat Monaghan?

Prior to the Ulster final last year, Donegal beat Monaghan in the National League last year in Letterkenny. Think they won by 7 points.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/04/2015 16:21:38    1714134

My top 3 teams in the country right now are Dublin, Kerry and Donegal. I consider these 3 sides to be the real deal, genuine contenders with the mental and physical strength to win SAM outright.

We then have Monaghan, Cork and Mayo quite close behind them, all with the potential to beat any of the top sides, but not likely to win an All Ireland outright.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/04/2015 16:28:20    1714141

At the moment all you can base your view on is the top teams in each division so you have to have Cork, Dublin, Monaghan, Down, Roscommon, Armagh etc but when championship comes around and the quarterfinals you have 3 teams guaranteed to be there Dublin, Cork and Kerry. It's a toss up between Mayo, Galway, Roscommon, Meath, Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone etc

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 14/04/2015 16:43:52    1714156

14/04/2015 16:21:38
GaryMc82
County: Derry

1714134 anbhoth15
County: Monaghan

1714101 Just a thought...Bar the Ulster final last year, when was the last time Donegal beat Monaghan?

Prior to the Ulster final last year, Donegal beat Monaghan in the National League last year in Letterkenny. Think they won by 7 points.

Yes in League. You have to go all the way back to 1983 for last Donegal Championship win over Monaghan prior to Ulster Final Last year.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 14/04/2015 16:56:37    1714169