Conor McManus - a class act

Cant let yesterdays game go without talking about McManus , I've been biging this fella up for ages now , I went as far as to say hes been unlucky not to pick up an all star , we all know you need at least a semi final of all Ireland for one of those .
Quite simply this fella was brilliant , I could watch his movement and his point taking all day , a class act and if his display yesterday had of been put on by either Gooch or Dermot Connolly I think you'd be hearing a lot more about it , don't know why but this fella should be a household name . My number one if I could have anyone from another county , glad we won , he was an unlucky loser .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2015 09:33:04    1713540

Well you said it.If he played for a side who was challenging for All-Irelands,he would get more credit.Monaghan are a very good side,but probably just short of contenders for the biggest price in the game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/04/2015 09:52:54    1713550

Class player,he should get all star if there's any justice this year.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/04/2015 09:56:31    1713554

Damothedub

Cant let yesterdays game go without talking about McManus , I've been biging this fella up for ages now , I went as far as to say hes been unlucky not to pick up an all star , we all know you need at least a semi final of all Ireland for one of those

??? McManus has an all star already Damo! WE ALL KNOW THAT! You're right though, he is a class act. Unfortunately we don't have another few forwards of that nature.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 13/04/2015 09:58:45    1713557

Agreed Damo love watching him.He's as classy a forward than anyone in the country but goes under the radar as he's not from one of the big hitters and that's the only reason he didn't get an All Star

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 13/04/2015 09:59:58    1713560

I agree he is a class forward who would grace any team in Ireland.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 13/04/2015 10:05:12    1713563

+1

Top player. excellent performance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/04/2015 10:06:15    1713566

Lads McManus is a great player but yesterday he was being Marked by an inexperienced kid he didn't have it that easy up in Clones when The Roc was up his ..... but he is a special talent no doubt about it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/04/2015 10:06:57    1713567

Damothedub

Cant let yesterdays game go without talking about McManus , I've been biging this fella up for ages now , I went as far as to say hes been unlucky not to pick up an all star , we all know you need at least a semi final of all Ireland for one of those

??? McManus has an all star already Damo! WE ALL KNOW THAT! You're right though, he is a class act. Unfortunately we don't have another few forwards of that nature.

Apologies , there was a year I saw him on fire and didn't get one , cheers

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2015 10:12:25    1713570

Easily the best player on the pitch yesterday

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/04/2015 10:16:42    1713572

Super player & has proved himself time & time again.

Won't have it as easy later in the year though.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/04/2015 10:30:33    1713580

Lads McManus is a great player but yesterday he was being Marked by an inexperienced kid he didn't have it that easy up in Clones when The Roc was up his ..... but he is a special talent no doubt about it.

Good point.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/04/2015 10:32:43    1713583

A joy to watch McManus yesterday. Himself and Murphy (when played there) have to be two of the best forwards in the country. Any decent ball sent in to them yesterday resulted in a point. McManus kicked some fabulous score's from tight angles and Murphy kicked over a 55m free from the ground at ease! Armagh are on the up and Tyrone & Derry will be wanting to bounce back from disappointing league campaigns- the Ulster championship is going to be very tight this year.

JD101 (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 13/04/2015 10:45:23    1713593

Ah lads yous have some bad memories, sure he only won an all-star about 18 months ago!

But yeah he was excellent yesterday and it's good to see him get more national recognition. He is quick, deceptively strong, wins his own ball and can kick over points off either feet and from most angles.

It's true he was on a more inexperienced defender than last week, but it has it be said that our all round performance and the supply of ball going into him was far better yesterday than it was in Clones, so that's also a factor.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 13/04/2015 11:10:58    1713611

1713567 Lads McManus is a great player but yesterday he was being Marked by an inexperienced kid he didn't have it that easy up in Clones when The Roc was up his ..... but he is a special talent no doubt about it.

If Dermot Connolly can be hailed as the greatest for scoring a wonder goal against club opposition , then who's marking who is irrelevant , when we applaud both Dermot or Bernard we don't pay too much attention as to who was marking them , nor should we ,
Sometimes you should sit back admire , and not dissect looking for flaws , unless of course if your Ulsterman

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2015 11:20:22    1713616

Mc Manus was doubled marked in his last two games for Monaghan v Dublin. The ones I was at anyway, marked out of it in Clones but they couldn't keep him quiet in Croke Park. Dublin adapting a similar game plan to 2011 when required

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 13/04/2015 11:23:43    1713620

Conor McManus already has won an all star in 2013, the year Monaghan won ulster. He has the same amount of all stars as Connolly!!!

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 168 - 13/04/2015 11:28:07    1713624

A fine display of wonderful point scoring.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 13/04/2015 11:30:17    1713625

A fantastic player who is good enough to get in any starting 15 in the country. He was a joy to watch yesterday, an exhibition of great point scoring

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 13/04/2015 11:33:31    1713626

Great player. Always plays his game without getting involved in any crap. Really talented forward who has been one of the main reasons Monaghan are now competing with the better teams in the league and championship.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 13/04/2015 11:34:14    1713627