NFL DIV 1 Semis

To be honest I'd have been happier for that point yesterday to leave us safe without a semi add it felt like a win and we would have finished on a high. Now unless we win the league we are finishing on a defeat!

With Tyrone only 5 weeks from this Sunday and the U21's playing in an Ulster Final on Wednesday I think Rory Gallagher should use the bench even though apparently we don't have one as some pundits like to say. Cork are a bit further away from championship so they probably want the games.I'll predict a Cork win.

Monaghan now realise that good and all that the Kerry result was, Dublin are a much better team and I hope they can put in a better shift on Sunday but the dubs in Croke Park are a dangerous side and I'd expect another loss for Monaghan.

Cork v Dublin final

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 06/04/2015 09:41:27    1711088

Its a national semi final.

Seen as we are there, We may aswell try and win it.

Also think the more games a team plays in a competitive enviroment before the championship can only be a good thing.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/04/2015 10:26:58    1711102

100% we want to win it out our next big game isn't til the August bank holiday weekend so we need these tough games.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2015 10:40:05    1711106

Correct Clondalkin.

Whats the point in getting to a semi final and thinking ... Ah we'd have been better off not being there atal.

If your in it, Go for it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/04/2015 10:45:50    1711109

Not much to disagree with there. Was contemplating on the way down to Castlebar what we wanted to glean from the League & had come to a similar conclusion: to stay up but we could do without the semis so close to the Tyrone game & considering the U-21s. Fair play to McHugh & McFadden after so many games on the trot but it cannot have been easy on them yesterday and signs were there.

Thought Lacey was great & Frank McGlynn too & both showed great leadership. It was exhilarating & unexpectedly so! Who knows what's to come. It looks like it will be Cork v Dublin as you say but if the bench to which you refer includes the likes of Stephen Griffin, then we are doin' alright I'd say!

I know what you're saying about defeat but I honestly don't see it that way: I think we know we are in bonus territory here & will not be expected to beat Cork & that will suit us grand. We are ticking away nicely & there is no pressure on us.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 06/04/2015 10:51:28    1711111

I can see the dubs point of view but we have a very tough draw in Ulster. Tyrone will be a really tough opener and the winner will just be in the first round AWAY to Armagh. I'd sacrifice a league title if it meant we have a better chance of retaining our ulster crown.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 06/04/2015 11:03:32    1711119

1711106 100% we want to win it out our next big game isn't til the August bank holiday weekend so we need these tough games

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/04/2015 11:58:31    1711146

Cork and Dublin will contest the league final !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/04/2015 12:02:46    1711151

As far as I'm concerned cork are the league champions end of. They topped the league it's called the league so therefor they are the champs. Now Dublin will probably win this Mickey Mouse semi final and final because they are a league team simple as that , plus they won't be seen outside Croker for the rest of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/04/2015 12:17:47    1711160

"plus they won't be seen outside Croker for the rest of the year"
--------------------------------------------------------------------
What the hell has that got to do with the topic of the forum???

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 06/04/2015 12:33:56    1711176

Really should be just top two in the final. End of.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 06/04/2015 12:45:02    1711185

KingdomBoy1

1711160 As far as I'm concerned cork are the league champions end of. They topped the league it's called the league so therefor they are the champs. Now Dublin will probably win this Mickey Mouse semi final and final because they are a league team simple as that , plus they won't be seen outside Croker for the rest of the year.

Considering Dublin have won 2 out of the last 4 All Ireland titles and 4 x Leinster titles, I would say calling them a "League team" is understating their credential's. Winning the past two league titles shows they perform strongly in the league, but that is still secondary to their Championship streak.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/04/2015 12:51:10    1711187

What a silly post by KingdomBoy 1. Should Dublin win the League three times in a row and win one more All-Ireland in the next couple of years they will go down as the most successfull team other than Kerry in the last fifty years. They would well deserve that accolade considering the excellent football that they play most of the time.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 06/04/2015 13:32:02    1711217

Should he lie Brend and say that we are in for a torrid time getting out of leinster when everybody knows thats bull. He should be applauded for calling it as he sees it imo. Yes dublin can be beaten in leinster its sport ffs but in all likelihood Dublins first tough test will be in august

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/04/2015 13:47:53    1711227

Kingdomboy hahaha love it pal you got a few to bite, Ah come on Bren lighten up Everyone on here from Leinster would have no problem with what I said.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2015 13:49:01    1711229

Chomp chomp chomp :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/04/2015 17:56:06    1711336

Well cant see Monaghan offering much in the line of a tough game going on yesterday, cork like down Armagh and Longford are league champions, i find these games nothing more than a distraction, and yes i would say the same if Meath were involved, i have before.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/04/2015 18:55:45    1711357

I'm inclined to agree with you on that on royaldunne!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/04/2015 19:29:53    1711371

I agree that these games are nothing more than a distraction & a contradiction in a league.

On the plus side, it will give a few of the new Donegal lads a chance to get some experience in Croke Park & if we win, well & good.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/04/2015 19:42:27    1711378

BS we all know the rules of the league at the start of the season the top 4 go into a semi and then final and ive said the same when Dublin were top of the last 3 league tables. It's a distraction for Ulster teams but for us it's great cause as ive said our championship doesn't start til August bank holiday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/04/2015 20:15:08    1711392