Mick Murphy black card

Commentator on rte seem to be implying mick murphy from donegal took a deliberate blackcard so he would a dead rubber league match against mayo and be available for championship against tyrone.did anyone see the incident?He had 2 black cards now and sent off for double yellow

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 30/03/2015 18:31:40    1708579

The only one who knows is Murphy himself, the RTE commentator hasn't a clue one way other the other.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/03/2015 18:45:58    1708586

I wouldnt blame him if that were the case.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/03/2015 18:46:41    1708587

I thought it was soft enough. Technically it probably was a black card but there were lots of other little niggly cynical fouls throughout the game that could have warranted blacks as well. The consistency in the application of the rules is probably what angers players most.

Whether he meant it or not you couldn't say. Unless he comes out and admits it himself there's no way of telling really.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 30/03/2015 18:47:12    1708589

Was barely a black card, McQuillan was not good on Sunday. A number of Tyrone tackles were dead cert black cards if you wanted to be technical about it, but nothing other than a foul was given.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/03/2015 19:31:09    1708607

Agree with Muck here ,

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 30/03/2015 20:42:53    1708659

But if there is reasonable doubt muckross, then action can be taken. Plenty of people have been found guilty without them admitting the charge. Id see that as unsporting behaviour, and the gaa should bring in a rule of adding a further match ban for cases like that.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/03/2015 09:56:38    1708735

Dangerous territory that though TheMaster. Certainly I'm sure that it does go on, but to start the "reasonable doubt" campaign you're calling into question the integrity of players. I think it would open up a can of unwanted worms and the CCCC would never be out of session!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 31/03/2015 10:48:20    1708760

Mick?

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 31/03/2015 13:13:38    1708860

Master
I take your point, but until the GAA invests in a mind reading machine it will be hard to prove that someone was trying to get themselves black carded.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/03/2015 14:32:58    1708925

According to Rory Gallagher Michael Murphy is now the victim despite his nuumerous black/red cards. What do ye think lads?
PS 3 cracking points my MM. A serious player.

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 19/05/2015 12:54:41    1725446

I can't agree with Gallagher.

Murphy is a big strong man who has hit hard in the past & needs to learn to control himself a bit like he did on Sunday.

He couldn't really complain about any of the cards he got & I'd say Tyrone were hoping to get a reaction out of him.

The fact that he didn't react is to his credit & might mean that he is learning

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/05/2015 13:29:33    1725476

HughHunt24

1725446 According to Rory Gallagher Michael Murphy is now the victim despite his nuumerous black/red cards. What do ye think lads?
PS 3 cracking points my MM. A serious player.

Yeah he is definitely being singled out by opposition hard men, I've seen that in a few Ulster matches I have attended. In saying that, he is big man, who is well capable of handling the physical aspects of it. And this isn't new for Murphy, with a lot of off-camera stuff always directed at him in a calculated way.

As for the mental aspects of the abuse, which often directed towards a players family or girlfriends, whether or not any player can handle that, really depends on each player. I listened to Mattie Forde saying it definitely affected him, and I also listened to Benny Coulter saying it really affected it him too.

As for Murphy being a victim of numerous black/red cards, I'm sure some of these were a possibly result of him lashing out at treatment. However as a big man, I think his tackles can sometimes look to be a lot worse due to his size/stature. When a player like Murphy tackles a much smaller player, these tackles can look high or the weight difference can add to the Impact.

At the end of the day, this was a Donegal v Tyrone Championship game, and the current rivalry is very bitter between the descendant's of brothers Eoghain and Conaill.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 19/05/2015 13:51:59    1725494