Dublin v Mayo

Clearly Dublin have learned from Tyrone game. Playing lots of men behind the ball and breaking at pace to open up Mayo defence. Mc Manamon double bounced before that goal,terrible officiating,should have been a free out.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/03/2015 19:31:21    1702590

Mayo are great oul traditionalists for sure.Dubs tearing them apart at the back from early in the game but no tactical changes have been implemented to try to counter the Dublin onslaught. But sure that's all grand as they're "playin the right way".I hope to god they make some changes at half time cos there's nothing entertaining in watching this purist train wreck. Seriously Mayo,make some changes for the second half.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/03/2015 19:47:47    1702592

By "tactical changes" you mean just telling 14 of your players to defend. Ingenious.
I do agree though that watching the dubs win games by double scores is less exciting than watching games like last Saturdays between the dubs and Tyrone. At least that was competitive.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 14/03/2015 19:53:07    1702594

Jon carter have you not noticed that the Dubs are using 11/12 + men behind the ball in this game? If they can surely Mayo can too. Problem for Mayo here is that they now need to take risks to get back on track and that can backfire.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/03/2015 19:59:24    1702596

tyrone counter attacked at speed on numerous occasions last week so it wasnt exactly 14 men behind the ball all the time..the problem was that tyrone were extremely wasteful..this is shocking from mayo here

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 14/03/2015 20:16:53    1702599

Dont blame them for being wasteful fabio8. itd be hard to make the most of your attacking chances when you spend almost all of your training sessions focusing on defence..
Wasnt slagging off tyrone there seanieboy. I just think that the word 'tactical" is a bit of a politicians word. . I dont think that blanket defence football requires any great tactical acumen to execute.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 14/03/2015 20:31:39    1702605

It may not be ingenious but clearly its beyond any mentality in the west. You boys just open up like moses parting the see.

Great to see a team bow down and let dublin roll over them. So niave. I wonder who is happier a tyrone fan last week or a mayo fan tonight???

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/03/2015 20:41:45    1702616

Would rather watch the dublin v tyrone game over and over again than that tonight! Dublin still just a GOOD team, Mayo are woeful. If that game had of been anyway close there would have been at least 10 yellow cards and a few reds! The tackling from both sides was borderline dangerous on many occasions! Equally as difficult a game to watch as a neutral as last week!

TYSAM14 (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 14/03/2015 20:43:22    1702618

Ah now Jon I think yourself and those in the so called "purist" camp only see what ye want to see. I'd say if ye went into the Mayo dressing room right now you'd be hearing a bunch of dejected lads bemoaning their inability to defend in that game. They were woeful. I'm sure you'd rather have these kinds of results though cos they played the right way and all that nonsense lol. Truth is last weeks game was a much more exciting game with a real tactical battle having played out over the 70 mins. Tyrone conceded 5 frees and put on a defensive master class which was a "joy to watch" over today's pathetic display by Mayo. The Mayo management completely failed their players there today.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/03/2015 20:44:09    1702619

Agree with you TYSAM. As I said earlier in the thread there's nothing enjoyable about watching Dublin steam roll teams. At least last weeks game was competitive.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 14/03/2015 20:47:06    1702621

Great win, 5 pts now...

Derry at home, Monaghan away

Beat Derry which I think we should do with the players now available

Depending on other games, may not even need to win up in Monaghan

Good chance for play-offs now

Happy to see Dubs defending a lot better this year, when required not leaving our defense overly exposed

We've played two defensive teams in CP and took 3 out of 4pts on offer

Overall promising team performance to give ourselves a good chance of making last 4

Big game now at home against Derry to move to 7pts

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 14/03/2015 20:58:46    1702629

well thats where we differ joncarter..you need to find the right balance between attack and defence..if it took no tactical accumen to do such a thing then there would be more teams than just tyrone and donegal that are good at it...the likes of galway have tried to implement it amongtst others in recent years and failed misreably..to find the right balance you need good footballers which tyrone happen to have..they lack a few clinical scorers though certainly

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 14/03/2015 21:04:45    1702633

Id still be concerned about last weeks performance jimbo. Ye were lucky to get the draw, and more blanket defences will await ye come summer. Would ye have won by 14 points if Mayo played the game a bit more, errr ,tactically? Im not so sure.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 14/03/2015 21:07:35    1702637

LOl fabio8. I think you and I differ on a lot of things.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 14/03/2015 21:08:20    1702639

Really don't see what the difference is in a masterclass in scoring or a masterclass in good defending . Tyrone came under serious scrutiny in the wake of last weekends game, but let's be honest at least it was exciting...if nothing else everyone stayed in their seats until the end of the 70mins...castlebar was half empty with more than 10mins to go

TYSAM14 (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 14/03/2015 21:09:22    1702642

seanie_boy

Clearly Dublin have learned from Tyrone game. Playing lots of men behind the ball and breaking at pace to open up Mayo defence. Mc Manamon double bounced before that goal,terrible officiating,should have been a free out.

----
Really? I've just come from the game. Great man to man contest. Neither team pulling 15 men into their own 45 from the first whistle. Dubs have sparked into life it seems. We were good all over the park tonight. A good football match all round. Derry and then the Monaghan duvet next. Top 4 slot a slight possibility now but need 4 points from last two games.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4701 - 14/03/2015 21:15:02    1702647

Well, I didn't see that one coming, but Mayo were surprisingly terrible, glad to see we're not ignoring our defensive duties, big players back and finding that balance for the summer is the goal now, in fairness to Gavin he is sticking by his guns and it looks like we're safe enough now.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 14/03/2015 21:16:28    1702648

Tonights home defeat for Mayo is just another example of how much James Horan was getting out of a average panel of players they were truly punching above their weight under him.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3358 - 14/03/2015 21:18:01    1702651

Joncarter.
Not worried. Last week was a poor day out and Tyrone are one of the stickiest teams out there.
Flynn Brogan blowing off some dirty diesel. Connelly back and a team that knows how to dig out a win.

Aido

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 14/03/2015 21:20:06    1702652

Tyrone posters, the ref was horrific last week. Forget "systems"

Tyrone played their best cards last week, a weak biased ref helped them. They should have won.

Last week was hard to watch, but if Dublin had the leniency Tir Eoghan had, they'd have won by ten points.

Can Dublin win an All Ireland? Yes

Can they be beaten? Yes

That's sport

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 14/03/2015 21:23:39    1702656