The Dubs have their water

Another six figure sum for the dubs already overflowing coffers, ballygowan are their new water suppliers, how uneven can this pitch get, what chance have the so called weaker/smaller counties,county team prep is finance driven, either its an amateur organisation or its not, the gaa will have to legislate to balance the situation, if not we are heading fast for a premier league situation if we are not already there.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 30/01/2015 19:10:05    1688177

Don't worry your little head too much about it, according to you Mayo are on the way out, Galway are no world beaters, so the door openx for little Roscommon, win Connacht and maybe you'll get Irish Water themselves to sponsor the Rossies :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 30/01/2015 19:26:45    1688183

And what exactly will that money buy them? It will surely free up money elsewhere to spent on the huge demands of GAA.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 30/01/2015 19:32:27    1688184

jealousy and begrudging is all this thread will be
get up off yer backsides and get sponsorship for yerselves
the gaa are already saying they are taking away funding from dublin
so why on earth shouldnt dublin market themselves properly and keep moving forward

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/01/2015 19:41:44    1688189

in fairness hill i do think the revenue for everybody should be spread evenly throughout the counties...the nfl in america do something similar and thats probably the best run sports league.....just talking about the county teams themselves..obviously bigger budget the further you go in the competition.... not grass roots or anything like that..certain county sides will be going over and back to london in a day this year to play a league match without staying over..quite embaressing how small the budget is for certain counties compared to the bigger sides

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 30/01/2015 20:28:57    1688207

and plus its easy to talk about getting sponsorship when you are in the capital of the country where all the big business is located plus the largest population and market by a considerable distance...dont think thats being a begrudger..just want each county to be treated equally up to a certain point

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 30/01/2015 20:30:38    1688209

Monaghan are near enough the smallest populated county(3rd lowest) and 5th smallest in size. But we have Investec for sponsor until end of 2017!!!! Great going for us to be alongside English rugby, one of the southern hemisphere rugby nations, the derby horse race inEngland, Tottenham hotspurs a year or two back, some of the big cricket competitions and more I can't remember. Hard work and punching above our weight brings the like of INVESTEC on board, we probably getting more money per capita of investec than Dublin are from theirs.

carcracker (Monaghan) - Posts: 186 - 30/01/2015 20:33:48    1688215

everything is relative lads, whatever Roscommon achieve if anything will be on the back of hard work with limited resources, I like the way dublin play proper football and I like the way they behave themselves both on and off the field, but if a balance is to be achieved and if our games are to return to an open contest then some way will have be found to level the pitch. it will be futile for small counties to even try, the all-ireland started as a club championship all those years ago maybe thats the way it will have to go back to, let those few counties with the big check books play off for sam, why should the counties with no chance and no sponsership spend their limited resourses putting out a team with no hope so the big guys can be seen on television and provide national promotion for the logos on their jerseys, like I said at the start lads everything is relative.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 30/01/2015 20:51:41    1688229

Don't worry your little head too much about it, according to you Mayo are on the way out, Galway are no world beaters, so the door openx for little Roscommon, win Connacht and maybe you'll get Irish Water themselves to sponsor the Rossies :D
Realdub. the only time I shout for ye is when ye are playing the Rossies!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 30/01/2015 20:55:39    1688232

Westmeath are sponsored by Renault. It doesnt mean they are getting a lot of money.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 30/01/2015 20:57:42    1688233

Miler

Realdub. the only time I shout for ye is when ye are playing the Rossies!

Ha ha, it's only banter and I'm sure giveballaghback knows it, what could you possibly have against the Dubs Miler? You mean you shout for the likes of Kerry who have already won 94 AIs when playing us? :(

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 30/01/2015 21:41:07    1688258

i do agree that some counties will enjoy better deals than others when it comes to sponsorship, and I am not sure there is an answer for this. If there is money to be made by a company through sponsorship, they will most obviously be looking at a team who will pay the best dividend in the long run. Its not just dublin either. Some other counties have very very good sponsors.

What can be done about this? One massive thing that can be done aside from sponsorship bans and the like (which is never going to happen) is a ceeding system that would involve harder draws for teams who advance to the later stages of the championship. automatic preliminary rounds for teams meeting in the provincial final the following year would be a start. It would allow at least one new team a chance to meet in a provincial final. I know that it wouldnt mean a lot in terms of who would eventually win sam, but it would make the provincial championships come alive again (bar ulster) and give smaller counties something very meaningful to play for and eventually develop as a result.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/01/2015 09:42:44    1688281

fabio

so your answer is to penalise one county who are doing their best to improve the sport in their area?
ok if you feel some counties arent getting enough funding
but should the dublin county board not continue to grow the games in dublin because of this?
should they turn down sponsorship ?
and let them go to other sports in the dublin area?
the gaa should focus on bringing other counties up
and not bringing dublin down to them
thats going backwards

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/01/2015 10:17:36    1688286

Easy answer , Stop the Dubs fielding so many juvenile and underage teams in football and Hurling and being so competitive in minor, u21 and Senior in Football and Hurling. Stop all the coaching schools run voluntarily by Parents on saturday mornings because they entice too many kids into the Gaaa in Dublin , It costs too much money to run all these teams , tell them not to promote Hurling or football in certain areas of Dublin and leave it to soccer and Rugby. We wont need to try and go out and get as much sponsorship money then and all the culchies can sleep well at night knowing that their county still wont win anything but at least the Dubs wont either.
Kerry can spend a fortune without a peep from anyone, Mayo can spend a fortune without even worrying about hurling.
But the big bad Dubs need to be kept in their box .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/01/2015 13:21:35    1688319

I hear Roscommon are not short of funding themselves..."Club Rossie" the new fundraising arm of the county board over there. Bad and poor;y managed counties will always find an excuse but those that pull their socks up and put a plan in place can do well. In fairness, Roscommon look to be improving.

By the way your usernmae "giveballaghback" makes no sense......when did Ballagh ever play in Roscommon? If anything it should be a mayo poster with a username like that as ballagh was originally in Mayo and stolen away to Roscommon.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 31/01/2015 13:46:43    1688325

and plus its easy to talk about getting sponsorship when you are in the capital of the country where all the big business is located plus the largest population and market by a considerable distance...dont think thats being a begrudger..just want each county to be treated equally up to a certain point

Quiet right too, every county should be treated equally, there are a couple of problems though. What exactly is regarded as 'equal'.
Is every county to be allocated funds per head of population in the county, or by the number of registered players in that County,or should central Council match their grants Euro for Euro with monies raised within each county, or should central funds only be paid to Counties that can show that it is being spent wisely on things like coaching for juveniles and games development, not to pay for managers for senior teams.
The only problem with any of the above systems is that Dublin would probably still be very near the top of the list and the whole point of threads like this isn't a fairer sharing of money but to begrudge any Funds Dublin are allocated.
Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, if everyone is to be treated as equals then ALLfunds in each county should be taken into account, this would include supporters clubs,kindly benefactors and 'life long supporters' of every county that seem to appear and sponsor training camps, helicopter rides and a myriad of other beneifts that never have to be accounted for by county boards because its not their money. Perhaps Dublins biggest problem is that they attempted to run the county board on an open and professional basis instead of joining in the nod, wink and backhand culture that is so loved in this country.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 31/01/2015 13:47:15    1688326

Investec is a great sponsor but what they contribute is very small compared to the likes of Tyrone,Meath,Cork,Kerry,Mayo never mind dublin

Newguy22 (Louth) - Posts: 8 - 31/01/2015 13:55:12    1688329

not on about penalising one county..again you take it as an agenda against 1 side..its about all the elite sides whos budgets dwarf the smaller counties...it isnt about the size of the sport in these counties as it is huge in these counties there simply isnt as large companies as there is in the bigger counties or cities...smaller counties should be provided with the basics...the money should be spread out throughout the country to ensure everybody is provided with the basic funding and treated fairly..never said anything about turning down sponsorship..i said the revenue should be evenly distributed as it is in other sports leagues to ensure a somewhat competitive balance which is quickly disappearing in gaa..again this isnt about dublin this is about the money around the country as a whole should be better distributed as its laughable some of the budgets some teams have when other teams have to travel to a difference country and back in 1 day?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 31/01/2015 19:55:43    1688453

fabio

your the one took issue with what i posted to begin with so its not me thinking you have an agenda against dublin.
i stated that this thread was simply a jealousy and begrudment
and anybody that starts a thread complaining that a county board where able to work on securing a good sponsorship deal
clearly is doing that.
you say money should be spread evenly are you suggesting dublins sponsorship should be shared with other counties ???
haha i hope not as i had you down for more forward thinking than that.
also you say most big companies are in dublin
ballygowen is actualy a limerick company which is based in newcastle west
so if the dublin county board are able to go outside dublin and negotiate
then there is no reason why other counties cannot secure good deals for them with hard work too

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/01/2015 20:07:32    1688465

giveballaghback
County: Roscommon

everything is relative lads, whatever Roscommon achieve if anything will be on the back of hard work with limited resources, I like the way dublin play proper football and I like the way they behave themselves both on and off the field, but if a balance is to be achieved and if our games are to return to an open contest then some way will have be found to level the pitch. it will be futile for small counties to even try, the all-ireland started as a club championship all those years ago maybe thats the way it will have to go back to, let those few counties with the big check books play off for sam, why should the counties with no chance and no sponsership spend their limited resourses putting out a team with no hope so the big guys can be seen on television and provide national promotion for the logos on their jerseys, like I said at the start lads everything is relative.

--------
But sure by your own admission you're a small county. The Dubs go to work to find more sponsors because their funding is bring cut and presumably that is going to these smaller counties. Are you complaining because you want some of Dublin's sponsorship money that they have worked to get? You're almost suggesting that Dublin are not hard working in your opening comment. Since Xmas players have been getting up at the crack of dawn every morning for a couple of hours training then straight into work then back for a session in the evening. Everything is relative like you say. Dublin is big so needs more money than Roscommon which is small. Similarly Dublin, which is big, generates a lot more revenue than Roscommon, which is small. What's the problem? Dublin, per head, receives a lot less money than most counties. The figures have been posted on here many times before. You cannot buy success.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/02/2015 12:31:38    1688625