Paul Galvin attacked

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=225066

Paul Galvin attacked by hurley-wielding spectator

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7846 - 28/09/2014 20:27:07    1657807

Their animals them Kilmoyley lads, but as a Crotta man can't bear seeing Lixnaw win!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/09/2014 21:19:52    1657848

I wonder was it the Mayo guy who came down to finish what he had started in Limerick ?

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 28/09/2014 21:53:33    1657878

Yep beware the "man with a hurley" - while 99.99% of the GAA membership is well behaved, its always that 00.01% that crops up, particularly at club finals. The silly season is back....

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 29/09/2014 08:37:21    1657895

It was the opposition vice-chairman......jasus. What are they on? Questions have to be asked why this man was not arrested. A serious incident will come along very soon where a player could be very badly injured.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 29/09/2014 08:50:23    1657899

If an attack like that happened out on the street seperate from a GAA match it would rightly be considered sheer thuggery.
its beyond belief that the fool that went for Galvin wasnt arrested.. FFS what has to happen before a lesson is learnt. brain damage due to connecting with the head in the right place!! Sorry for the rant on a monday morning but too often stuff like that happens on a pitch and there are little or no consequences. Hope that gobshite gets an enormous ban from all GAA activities but wont hold my breath.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 29/09/2014 09:33:09    1657911

It's all very funny and all until someone gets injured!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 29/09/2014 09:37:57    1657914

For me, this sort of idiot needs to be removed from the GAA. Every club has them, and no doubt there will be more now that county final season has arrived.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/09/2014 09:43:43    1657921

picture of him on the examiner this morn...a sad case all round

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 29/09/2014 09:47:01    1657924

Lads honestly its terrible stuff, but the Kerry hurling championship is like this. Real tribal stuff down here with the eight teams being so close to each other, you would not believe some of the scraps I've seen in my time at major matches. But the fella is well known from Kilmoyley and he should have at least been cautioned by the Gardai and he should have to step down from his role in the club at the very least.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/09/2014 10:25:50    1657943

The pictures are terrible.I havnt seen fashion like that since Leitrim invaded the capital in 94.Maybe Galvin slated the big mans jumper.The last i hear, Galvins brothers were seen cruising through Causeway after a blue Mossy Ferguson..

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/09/2014 11:51:10    1657991

skillet
County: Limerick

If an attack like that happened out on the street seperate from a GAA match it would rightly be considered sheer thuggery.
if someone was on the street togged out in hurling gear complete with hurl and helmet..maybe they'd deserve a skite!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 29/09/2014 12:21:27    1658017

dunno how to respond to that wishfulthinkin!!
If i met Paul Galvin togged out for a hurling match strolling down the road, probably best to cross it and say nuthin! attacking him wouldn't be by first response.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 29/09/2014 12:40:53    1658030

"Well Joe Duffy what you think of that" "Arrrggggghhhhhhhhh"

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 29/09/2014 12:49:11    1658036

Why are we constantly surprised by incidents like this? We tolerate varying levels of inappropriate violence at all levels of our games. When a national TV pundit can excuse clear strikes with the hurl in the senior inter-county championship as harmless because "nobody got badly injured", it it really surprising that idiots the length and breadth of the county think it is ok to take the law into their own hands? Until strict disciplinary procedures are applied consistently across the board, these attacks will continue. Life bans and severe sanctions for the clubs responsible for these kinds of actions is the only appropriate response.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 29/09/2014 13:02:04    1658048

cowardly!!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 29/09/2014 13:04:26    1658052

The GAA will as usual talk the talk re suspensions etc etc but wont walk the walk

there was a famous case in Limerick in the recent past where a spectator who was related to a player on the pitch, ran on during the game and attacked a member of the oppositions team. This man was given a "life time ban" amid a media furore.....
His team won the county title that day
They played again 2 weeks later in the provincial championship 1/4 final dowj in Cork and quel suprise....life time ban and all....there he was, in the crowd and only this year he has ran the line at an u16 match and still goes to all club games.

Kangaroo Court

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2014 15:50:31    1658164

Tyronetim

1658036 "Well Joe Duffy what you think of that" "Arrrggggghhhhhhhhh"

Nice 1, brilliant.

DanBreen (Kerry) - Posts: 73 - 29/09/2014 16:32:11    1658190

Another sketch for 'Callans Kicks'!......"Schtop!!!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/09/2014 16:45:15    1658199

liamwalkinstown. Please check your facts before posting incorrect information on here and this is not the first time.

That pitch invader was NOT given a lifetime ban.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 29/09/2014 16:50:46    1658205