Pat Spillane

The man is off his rocker! "The cream will rise to the top" me hoop! If the man can't call it like it is he shouldn't be a pundit. Kerry played as cynically if not more cynical than Donegal. They played to stop Donegal not to play football and it worked and fair play to them but ffs lets call a spade a spade....Kerry are no longer the purists of our beloved game and Spillane should be fired for not calling it as the rest of the country saw it. Disgraceful!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 09:47:02    1654997

Agree totally. He needs a lesson in how to be humble in victory too.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 22/09/2014 09:54:16    1655003

Had to laugh at him myself last night.

Thought he got off lightly from the other pundits, with some of his comments about this super Kerry team and management.

Not one mentioned the pure Kerry football of old, and how their take on puke football won the day for them yesterday.

Amusing to say the least.

Where was Joe Brolly when we needed him... :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/09/2014 09:54:47    1655005

Agree totally. He needs a lesson in how to be humble in victory too.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 22/09/2014 09:58:32    1655009

The man was a disgrace Jackeen, he was almost foaming at the mouth at one point, how for the love of god are these people allowed to pontificate on the biggest day in Irish from a supposedly neutral standpoint, it has gone beyond funny if you ask me.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/09/2014 10:00:38    1655012

Not exactly gracious from Mr. Spillane. When you win you can afford to be magnanimous.

I thought Martin McHugh ( a pundit I don't normally have much time for), was extremely gracious and showed huge humility. Fair play to him.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 22/09/2014 10:04:09    1655017

Totally agree , this from the man who slated Tyrone in '03 when they weren't half as bad as that puke football yesterday from both teams , going on like football won yesterday who are you trying to kid Pat Kerry were just as pukey as Donegal and fell over the line after a howler from Durkan.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/09/2014 10:15:18    1655031

The cream does seem to rise to the top fairly regularly though....;-)

Our shooting was atrocious yesterday.....appallingly bad throughout the game. But then, there was so little space and every kick was presuured. Fitzy said after the game they were aware this might happen and not to be disheartened - to have patience. I don't like this brand of football but if you play this defensive strategy and you know for a fact that the opposition will also play this way then you are guaranteed that scoring opportunities on both sides will be limited. In this environment if you feel you have the better footballers then you are almost guaranteed a win. Therefore it's not a bad way of preparing for an All ireland final. Jim's "system" got found out.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 22/09/2014 10:16:17    1655034

It was priceless stuff but what do you expect

The fella was a great player but as a pundit he's ultimately flawed and that couldn't have been made ant clearer with his attitude last night on National Television

Down right disingenuous rubbish

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/09/2014 10:19:16    1655039

Disgraceful from Spillane. He was given an easy ride by fellow pundits. Take nothing away from the Kerry team and management, they did what they had to do 2 win the All Ireland final (and semi final) but please be honest in their analysis. The other contributors were no better on the Sunday game. Again Kerry did what they had to do 2 win. Not a mention last night from Spillane about the woeful attempts at point taking from BOTH teams yesterday. Truly dreadful attempts including JOD who had a poor game if people are honest bar one or two lovely passes. Kerry have been the most defensive and cynical team in this years cship. Again I have no problem with that but please call it as it is Pat. Had to laugh when Spillane showed examples of Kerry's "passion" and quality in the tackle / defending. Ten plus years ago teams from the north pioneered these tactics and were promptly dismissed by Pat and labelled as puke football. Whatever shred of credibility Spillane had left as a pundit he lost it last night. Never let me hear of Kerry ever described again as the purists of football by Spillane or his ilk. Well done to Kerry. A win is a win is a...

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 22/09/2014 10:22:02    1655047

JackoDub

Not exactly gracious from Mr. Spillane. When you win you can afford to be magnanimous.

I thought Martin McHugh ( a pundit I don't normally have much time for), was extremely gracious and showed huge humility. Fair play to him.

I agree about McHugh, I didn't expect him to be like that but he was!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/09/2014 10:22:13    1655048

I think Pat was upset at being dropped to the line with wee M Mchugh, while the big boys were at the top table.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/09/2014 10:24:16    1655053

He might have been a good footballer back in the day but for years he has been gracing our television screens spouting his diatribe and even more strange is that we have had people hanging on his every word and almost proclaiming him as the second coming giving his sermon on the mount, unable to see through what he was all about. If he was a planet he would be Uranus.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/09/2014 10:40:50    1655073

I wasn't angry at Pat, that was just Pat being Pat. I was angry at the others for not pulling him up on the drivel he was coming out with. They just sat there and took it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/09/2014 11:01:52    1655097

Its the usual waffle from Spillane. He has never been able to properly analyse a match. He never enjoys a football match unless Kerry are winning it.

Most of the Kerry lads doing analysis and/or newspaper columnists will be singing about how great this team are. After the semi in Limerick they were all spouting how it was such a great sporting contest it was and never said a word about the refereeing performance. All Green and Gold tinted glasses.

The fact is this Kerry team had a good slice of luck and played defensively and cynically for most of the championship.
They did what they needed to do to win. They couldn't beat the northern teams so they joined them and SAM returns. Fair play to them.

But spare us the BS about playing lovely football.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/09/2014 11:26:50    1655132

I was disappointed not to see the younger lads on TSG.

Tomas is an excellent as is Dermot early.

Funny Jackeen when Dublin were playing defence football in 2011 particularly against Donegal I'm sure you were giving out then too :-)

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/09/2014 11:35:45    1655144

Deflect all you like Westkerry facts are facts. Kerry are as cynical and defensive a team as they come and Spillane should be sent back to the 70s where he clearly thinks Kerry are playing the way they did then.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 11:41:05    1655148

eleven years later and pat spillane is a fan of "puke football"

toe2hand (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 22/09/2014 11:53:53    1655161

He was just being himself. Well done to the Kerry minors on winning the All-Ireland. This was their first win in 20 years. You would think he would be happy with that rather than have to point out to us that Kerry are top of the pile. They are indeed but as everybody knows, the minor championship is much more even than the senior and it could conceivably be another 10 years before they win again (or they could win 5 in a row).

Players and managers get emotional after games and they say things out of the blue. Spillane is a pundit and should be able to remain calm. Terrible stuff. McHugh remained calm but he could not say anything-calling the Gooch a two trick pony has silenced him for life. As for Kevin McStay, his analysis on the Sunday Game after the Cork and Mayo game was extremely biased as well. Spillane was sickening last night but the others are equally as atrocious on their day. There are plenty of pundits out there, we should just have guys on that are from neutral counties given that many of the fellas on their are unable to hide their natural bias.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 22/09/2014 11:54:59    1655164

At times last night I wondered if the man was actually being serious. Had any team other than Kerry partaken in a travesty of a final like that, he would be slating the direction modern football has gone. He was exceptionally ungracious towards Donegal, sitting beside a man whose son had been on that losing team, and seemed to think that the victory was an illustration of Kerry's purist footballing credentials. Needed Brolly there to call it for what it was!

Gabriel. (Down) - Posts: 412 - 22/09/2014 12:01:34    1655175